Book Notification

Dork Diaries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dork Diaries Books

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop Star (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Smart Miss Know-It-All (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Happy Heartbreaker (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Glam TV Star (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After / Once Upon a Dork (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Dorky Drama Queen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Perfect Pet Sitter / Puppy Love (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Friendly Frenemy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Secret Crush Catastrophe (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Happy Birthday /Birthday Drama! (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Best Friend Forever (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from a Not-So-Posh Paris Adventure / I Love Paris! (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dork Diaries Non-Fiction Books

How to Dork Your Diary (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
OMG: All About Me Diary! (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dork Diaries Series is a book series written by Rachel Renee Russell and published by Aladdin paperbacks. This series comes under the humorous category and shows the personal life experiences of the main character Nikki Maxwell in a comic way. The writer is inspired by the experiences of her middle school life as well as of her daughters Erin and Nikki. Nikki illustrates all her experiences and Erin helps in writing them down. The book series has been translated in 28 different languages worldwide and published in 32 countries with a print of 5 million copies.

As of now, there are six books released in this series with the seventh one to be released in later this year. The whole book series revolves around the main character Nikki J. Maxwell. She is a fourteen year old brown haired girl with pigtails. She has newly joined the Westchester Country Day and feels herself as completely unwanted among all the wealthy and fashionable students of the school. Most of the time she is seen alone and busy writing her diary. She writes left-handed and has an enemy in the name of Mackenzie Hollister, who is also her locker neighbor. She joined school only because her father arranged a scholarship for her. Brandon Roberts is the one whom she admires and has a crush on and her best friends are Chloe and Zoey. She is very bad at math, but her art skills are very good. She has won the WCD’s art competition with the help of her friends. Nikki has a six year old sister, Brianna.

Mackenzie Hollister is the most unpopular girl at the Westchester Country Day. She always wears expensive outfits and has a crush on Brandon Roberts. She calls Nikki a dork. Cloe and Zoey are smart and avid readers and are also among the unpopular girls of the school. Brandon is kind of a shy boy and has feelings for Nikki. He lives with his grandparents and loves to play with pets. He is a photographer for the school’s newspaper. Theodore Swagmire III is in the list of unpopular boys of the school and is friends with Nikki. He likes Mackenzie and feel she would reject him if he asked her. In the later part of the series, Theodore is known to be a school nerd and he is depicted playing a guitar and hopes to go to Hogwart. Another character in the series is Marcy. Nikki and Marcy get to know each other through her post Miss-Know-It-All. She describes herself to be bullied by other girls and with no friends. Nikki finds about the girl to be Marcy and invites her to Brandon’s birthday party where she has a great time. Marcy is assistant to Mackenzie for the school newspaper. Mackenzie always bullies her and labels her unfashionable. The other characters include six year old Brianna who is afraid of tooth fairies, Violet Baker, who is the most popular out of the unpopular list people, along with a few other characters.

The first book of the Dork Diaries Series was released on June 2, 2009 with the title ‘Dork Diaries: Tales From a Not-So-Fabulous Life’. This part shows that as part of his bug extermination contract, Nikki’s father arranges a scholarship for Nikki to attend a private school named Westchester Country Day. She is not happy with her father for this. She does not like the school for its wealthy and designer clad students and is always seen writing her diary sitting alone, away from others. She gets her locker next to the most unpopular girl of the school, Mackenzie Hollister. This makes her even more angry as Mackenzie does not like her and calls her a dork. She does everything possible to make Nikki’s life miserable. But Nikki gets something to make her happy when she finds her two best friends, Chloe and Zoey. They too are dorky, but smart and avid readers. Nikki enters the school art competition and finds out that her main competition is Mackenzie, her enemy who, she believes, will do anything to win the competition. The next book of the series was titled ‘Dork Diaries: Tales From a Not-So-Popular Party Girl’ and was released on June8, 2010. This part of the series shows the Halloween dance party segment. Nikki hopes that Brandon would ask her to the Halloween dance as she has a crush on him. But she is left heartbroken when she overhears that Mackenzie is going with Brandon for the dance.

Nikki is very sad and has nothing better to do. So she agrees to serve for the dance cleanup committee along with her friends, reluctantly. She also agrees to help Brianna for a ballet class Halloween party. But is shocked to hear Brandon asking her for the dance show. She realizes that Mackenzie was probably lying and is tensed thinking of her prior commitments. However, she agrees to attend the Halloween dance party with Brandon and manages to juggle with three events at the sane time. This again was a miserable experience for her, but her friends help her out here too. This part was followed by other parts which were released in the following years. The Dork Diaries Series has been a huge hit among the children’s category and has spent 43 weeks on the Best Sellers list of the New York Times. The first book of the series was awarded the 2010 Children’s Choice Book of the Year Award and the Book of the Year by Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice Awards in February 2011.

The Books 1 and 2 of the series appeared for 17 weeks simultaneously on the New York Times Bestsellers list. Books 3 and 3 1/2 were also on the list for a few weeks. The Dork Diaries Series on the whole was a big hit and sold many copies worldwide. The Books 1 and 2 were also released as Audio Books in September 2010. It is believed that the movie rights for the series has been acquired by Summit Entertainment. Talks are going on for the movie series to be produced by Karen Rosenfelt. So, people can soon enjoy themselves with the movie series too in the days to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dork Diaries

Leave a Reply