Nick Petrie Series

Dorothy Koomson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Poppy & Serena Books

The Ice Cream Girls (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All My Lies Are True (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of That Girl From Nowhere Books

That Girl From Nowhere (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
From There to Here (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cupid Effect (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Chocolate Run (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Best Friend's Girl (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Marshmallows for Breakfast (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Goodnight, Beautiful (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Woman He Loved Before (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rose Petal Beach (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Flavours of Love (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When I Was Invisible (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Friend (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Brighton Mermaid (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tell Me Your Secret (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
That Day You Left (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
I Know What You've Done (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Other Husband (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Beach Wedding (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wildflowers (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Dorothy Koomson is a popular English novelist of fiction, contemporary, and adult fiction novels. She is known to have penned several mind-blowing standalone books in her career. Koomson made her debut in 2003 with the book called The Cupid Effect. Before that, she had written an unpublished book, There is a Thin Line Between Love & Hate, at the age of 13. Koomson received a great boost with her third novel, My Best Friend’s Girl. This widely successful novel was shortlisted to feature in Richard & Judy’s Summer Reads. Starting from her debut, Koomson wrote and published a novel almost every year until 2013. After the release of her 9th book, she took a break from writing and then started writing again from 2015. Koomson developed an interest in writing at a very early age. She used to spend several hours every day in writing stories that she would pass on to her fellow pupils at the convent school. They used to love reading her stories a lot and this motivated Koomson to continue writing stories every day.

Author Koomson was born in 1971 in London, England. She spent her early years growing up in London and then moved to Leeds, where she attended university. Koomson eventually came back to London to pursue her master’s degree and continued to live there for the next few years. She is of the Ghanaian descent and is described as the biggest selling black author of Britain in the adult fiction genre. Koomson has obtained 2 degrees in Journalism and Psychology from Leeds University. She has studied at the Trinity College and All Saints College. Before she entered the world of novel writing, Koomson worked for various odd jobs. Later, she got a big break in writing, subbing, and editing for many national papers and women’s magazines. There are a number of articles penned by Koomson for newspapers and magazines. Storytelling and fiction were still the biggest passions of Koomson. She continued to novels and short stories in her spare moments, whenever she got some.

The idea for her debut novel came to her mind in 2001 and since then she has never looked back. Her novels are successful in the UK as well as the US. After residing in Sydney for 2 years, Koomson currently lives in Brighton. Koomson doesn’t like to stay in one place for very long. She likes to wander around and visit exciting places all over the world. With each of her books, Koomson tries to challenge herself by trying to tackle darker storylines. She attempts to make such stories look relatable and realistic. She likes to make the readers think that their neighbors might be going through similar stuff, but they might not be knowing it. Author Koomson has enjoyed her career as an author very much. She looks forward to writing many more interesting novels in the years to come and entertain her fans. She likes to offer her gratitude to the readers for liking her work and supporting her with motivating comments. Koomson is a big fan of authors like Harper Lee, J.G. Ballard, Marie Kondo, Roald Dahl, Jayne Fisher, and Buchi Emecheta and takes a lot of inspiration from their work.

A very successful book written by author Dorothy Koomson is entitled ‘My Best Friend’s Girl’. It was released in 2006. The story revolves around the lives of 2 best friends, one of whom is suffering from cancer and wants the other to adopt her 5-year old child after her death. Koomson has described the themes of grief, death, forgiveness, innocence. The lead characters created for the book include Kamryn Matika, Tegan Brannon, Adele Brannon, Luke Wiseman, and Nate Turner. The novel opens by introducing Kamryn Matika as a department store marketing manager in her thirties living in Leeds. She has been best friends with Adele Brannon for the past 14 years. On her birthday, Kamryn receives a letter from Adele, informing her that she is suffering from cancer. Kamryn seems reluctant to go and meet Adele because the two are not on speaking terms. A couple of years ago, she had found the Adele was in an illegitimate relationship with her partner and had a 3-year-old daughter from him.

The shocking news of cancer makes Kamryn break her promise of not seeing Adele again. She visits her in the hospital and learns that Adele is about to die soon because of her terminal cancer. Adele requests Kamryn to adopt her daughter after she dies, which shocks Kamryn. After a lot of thinking, Kamryn agrees to adopt Tegan. She goes to Adele’s parents to collect her daughter. Seeing the bad state of Tegan, Kamryn threatens to call the police, but doesn’t take that step as Tegan’s grandparents hand her over without any condition. After Adele’s death, Kamryn takes Tegan to Leeds with her. She starts looking after her with great care and tries to remove the fear from her heart. However, being a black woman makes it difficult for Kamryn to look after a white child. Also, the extra load begins to affect her relationship with Luke. Just when things begin to smoothen in Kamryn’s life, her former partner and Tegan’s father, Nate Turner, arrives to make matters worse. His presence begins to affect Kamryn and Luke’s relationship. But, they manage to sort out the matter and adopt Tegan with all their heart. Tegan begins to open up and lose her fears in their care.

Another great novel penned by Koomson is known as ‘The Ice Cream Girls’. It was published in 2010 by the sphere publication. The primary characters shown in this book include Serena Gorringe and Poppy Carlisle. They are seen getting involved in a police investigation as witnesses and undergoing a drastic change in their lives. The story opens by showing Poppy and Serena as teenagers. They witness a tragic event and agree to assist the police in the investigation. The event results in a heated debate in the public that ends with the girls getting dubbed by the media as Ice Cream Girls. The subsequent court proceedings have a huge effect on the girls. Several years later, the girls become busy in their own lives. Poppy seems to be having a hard time and intends to get herself to terms with what had actually happened. On the other hand, Serena is married and mother of 2 children. She doesn’t wish to let people around her know about her past life. The two girls fear if their secret gets revealed, their present life will become a hell again.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dorothy Koomson

Leave a Reply