Nick Petrie Series

Dorothy Martin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dorothy Martin Books

The Body in the Transept (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trouble in the Town Hall (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Holy Terror in the Hebrides (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Malice in Miniature (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Victim in Victoria Station (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killing Cassidy (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To Perish in Penzance (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sins Out of School (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Winter of Discontent (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dark and Stormy Night (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Evil That Men Do (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Corpse of St James's (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder at the Castle (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadows of Death (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Day of Vengeance (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Gentle Art of Murder (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Will Tell (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Smile and Be a Villain (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Missing Masterpiece (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crisis at the Cathedral (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dagger Before Me (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death in the Garden City (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Comes to Durham (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bath Conspiracy (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Deadly Web (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Dorothy Martin is the famous character in the series made by Jeanne M. Dams for the mystery lovers as she loves to call them.Dorothy Martin is a widow from the United States of America who was married to a man named Frank, she is over sixty years old and overweight, a funny lady wearing some of these smart wonderful hats. She is also a curious woman and social at the same time, making friends with a lot of people surrounding her area.

Frank died and Dorothy has been turned into a widow who doesn’t know what fate is going to bring in her way. It would then cause her to go to Sherebury, the small college out of London.

Dorothy was in love with England which pushed her to leave the United States after the death of her husband Frank. She would then start to get herself into that “Christmas mood” that she hasn’t been feeling at all as it is her first holiday without her love, Frank.

Dorothy would start forgetting about all of her problems after getting into the Christmas soul inside the cathedral, then she stumbles in the way of Canon Billings the cranky cleric to begin a journey of mystery from this point on.Dorothy would start trying to solve this crime on her own and begins to wander like a hound of justice around for any information that can appear in her way, which brings her to the point of getting-to-know with the local head of police, Alan Nesbitt, and begins to start a relation with him that nobody, but who read the book have an idea about it.

What is Dorothy Martin series?

It’s a delightful series of mystery books and a great thing to see that Dorothy Martin series are pretty known for their portrayal of the graphical violence inside it, since the release of its first part, “The Body In The Transept”, and its great creation of a description that makes you create a wonderful image in your head to live the story with your soul and mind, it provides a great expedition around the Sherebury cathedral town to put our imagination after the line of reality to feel, live and experience Dorothy’s adventure throughout the whole series.

Introduction to the first book:

The Body in The Transept is the early beginning and the main key of introduction to the whole storyline, making it a thing to wait for after the finish of the first book and also makes you someone who would want a new book of this series every day. Why?It shows you the main aspects of the Dorothy Martin character and what makes her so special such as her love to large beautiful hats and her love to other people and not letting something stop in her way, showing also her great potential in her attempts to solve the crime that happened on the Christmas night.

Also, showing her love to her husband by going to the town that they wanted to move to after retirement and settle herself there in the memory of her late husband, Frank, yet it starts to occupy her mind with the crime that happened in the said area.Her meeting will also lead her to meet the head of the police, which made her to start liking his character and persona which makes her work on the crime with his help.

Other side that was discovered that Dorothy was ready to make anything to work on this subject of crime, hanging around lower class area of the town to its higher class parts only to solve a crime, which makes it predictable that she doesn’t quit give up no matter what.

Introduction to the second book:

Being a solid and hard follow-up, “Trouble In The Town Hall” serves as a great sequel to “The Body In The Transept”, why?The nosey Dorothy decides to buy a new home in the town of Sherebury to settle herself in the United Kingdom, the house was already 400 years old and she needs to renovate it, but that sadly requires a lot of effort and an agreement from Sherebury Planning Committee.

During her attempt to get that agreement, she stumbled again upon a body in the old and deserted Town Hall, which brings her to her old curiosity that we are used to from the first book and begins to get herself into the way of investigating the death of the young man.

It was a smart move by her to start working on this death, since the Sherebury Planning Committee itself is trying to renovate the old Town Hall and for sure that murder case would bring a great problem to the Sherebury Planning Committee and Dorothy herself due to the fact that they are going to be occupied with the murder case rather than be occupied with the main purpose and that is issuing agreements of renovation around Sherebury.

Aside from the murder, we can see that the relation between Dorothy and the head of the police, Alan Nesbitt, beginning to hold its ropes tightly together to anticipate something greater in the other books between the duo.

Why should you follow this series?

Dorothy Martin series is a great thing to follow if you want to start reading books that are related to the cozy mystery category, since it satisfies all your needing for a good book series that is going to place a mark on your time as a reader and might be a great thing to affect your mood by taking you into a tour inside England from an American point of view.

We suggest you to buy this series and read it, as it’s also ensured that it serves a great read from the acclaims it has received around the world and its winning of “Agatha award” for the first book after no time.

There’s sadly no more printed books available from the series, but they got released as e-books gladly! We hope we see another sequel to these series by Mrs. Adams soon to fill our empty mysteries after finishing these books.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dorothy Martin

One Response to “Dorothy Martin”

  1. Barbara Spiegelman: 7 months ago

    I have read and enjoyed the complete Dorothy Martin series over the last two weeks. I love the characters – and want more. Thank you for so much pleasure from one mystery lover and Dorothy L. Sayers devotee to another.


Leave a Reply