Book Notification

Dorothy Must Die Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Books

Dorothy Must Die (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Will Rise (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yellow Brick War (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of Oz (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Short Stories/Novellas

No Place Like Oz (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch Must Burn (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wizard Returns (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of Tin (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Straw King (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruler of Beasts (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Order of the Wicked (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Side of the Rainbow (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen of Oz (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Collections

Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 1 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 2 (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 3 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dorothy Must Die series is a young adult type of series written by Danielle Paige. There are a total of 5 books that make up the Dorothy Must Die series. However, some of these books are yet to be released to the public. All the books in the series feature a character by the name Amy Gumm the protagonist. All the novels in this book series revolve around her. Amy Gumm is a girl that seems to have a rather difficult life as the story begins. She has a pill-popping mother who is not present in her life most of the time and her life at school is also quite unbearable seeing that she is constantly being bullied and feels like an outcast at school. However, her life takes a completely different turn when a cyclone sweeps her and her mother’s pet rat out of Kansas and into the Land of Oz. Author Danielle Paige begun writing the series in 2014 before which she had a career in the television industry. The first book in the series is ‘Dorothy Must Die’ which is also her debut novel.

Danielle Paige does a fantastic job of flipping the script on the Land of Oz. Oz is very different from how it is told in stories and movies. In the first book, we are introduced to another character by the name Dorothy Gale, a heroine from Judy Garland’s movie of 1939 and also from L. Frank Baum’s works. In these previous works, Dorothy was the kind of character who made it her job to make everyone happy and that is exactly what made her a heroine. In Dorothy Must Die, Dorothy Gale is a big heavy and a sexed-up ruler. She does not think twice about getting rid of anyone who gets in her way and this is exactly why she is a devoted to take out Amy Gumm and her little dog. The fact that the description of Oz and all the characters in the book are so different from what we have come to read about Oz is what makes this book series a must read. The author has done a good job of twisting Oz into a very dark place. There are giant black holes that draw magic out of the land and filter it into the now villain Dorothy. The lovable characters such as the Tin Woodsman, Scarecrow and cowardly lion have also been portrayed as power hungry creatures.

Amy Gumm the protagonist has a sarcastic attitude which often lands her into a lot of trouble. As the story unfolds, Dorothy manages to imprison her in a castle in Emerald City. Amy is however rescued by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, a group comprising of three witches among them being Glinda’s twin Glamora. They tell Amy that they would help her learn how to control her magic in order to kill Dorothy Gale. Once she has gained enough control of her magic, the order transforms her into a servant girl by the use of a spell in order for her to pose as a servant in Dorothy’s castle which would make killing her an easy task. Later, the monkeys take Amy to see the wizard who in the book possesses magic. The wizard tells her that the only way she will be able to beat Dorothy is if she gets the Tin Woodsman’s heart, the lion’s courage and the scarecrow’s brains. In the end, she gets the Tin Woodsman’s heart and runs with the Ozma the true princess of Oz.

Other books in the Dorothy Must Die series that are a must read are; The Wicked will Rise and The Witch Must Burn. The Wicked will Rise is the sequel to Dorothy Must Die. In this novel, things have really changed from what they were in Dorothy Must Die where Amy was committed to take Dorothy down with the help of the order. Here, we see that Dorothy is still alive, which means that Amy failed in her quest. The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has also disappeared. Amy finds herself in a rather difficult position since she still has to take down Dorothy and ensure that the rightful leader takes her place, find and restore the Order and save her home which seems to be in danger. The novel is fantastic in many ways but most important I the fact that so many lessons can be derived from this book, for instance, we see Amy in a position where she seems to miss the home she once wanted to leave so bad. This shows the reader how to appreciate the little things in life. Danielle Paige has also managed to make this novel a page turner just like in her first book.

The Witch Must Burn is the third book in this book series. This novel also seems to revolve around the life of Amy. In this book, a young girl is about to discover that the witch who claims to be very good might in fact be one of the most dangerous of them all. In The Witch Must Die, we see Glinda in a very different light. She seems to have become a villain herself. This is seen by how she treats her servants in the book. It is almost like she is turning into Dorothy in this particular book. There is great adventure in this book as there is in the previous novels in the book series.

Danielle Paige has done a good job of capturing and maintaining her audience since she started in 2014. Her fans have made great reviews about her books and they always seem excited for her next release. The Dorothy Must Die series has not yet been made into a TV Show. However, the CW has shown a lot of interest in the series and is currently undertaking negotiations to make the book series a TV show.

The Dorothy Must Die book series is a horror show that takes everything to whole new level. The book series is written for young adults who are willing to go on a journey to discover heroines and villains attuned to the current times. It’s thrilling, mysterious and a must read .

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dorothy Must Die

Leave a Reply