Book Notification

Double Trouble Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Double Trouble Books

Double Trouble Series by Wanda E. Brunstetter
Author Wanda E. Brunstetter writes the “Double Trouble” series of kids books, which are edited by Colleen Madden. The series began publication in the year 2012, when “What a Pair!” was released. The books are for kids ages eight to twelve.

The main characters of the books are Mark and Mattie Miller, nine-year-old twins. They live in Holmes County, Ohio in an Amish community. Wanda got the idea for the series of books because she has several Amish friends that live in Holmes County, Ohio and is from a family of twins herself.

Wanda’s own fascination with the Amish culture began when she met Richard, her husband, who grew up in a Mennonite church, and her family has a Pennsylvania Dutch heritage. Meeting her new Mennonite sister-in-laws caused her to yearn for a simpler life. They became friends with many Amish people in their travels across America. Her interest to explore Amish culture increased further when she learned that her great-great grandparents were a part of the Anabaptist faith.

Like the rest of Wanda’s work, this series is based on her personal research that is intended to accurately depict the Amish way of life. Many of her books are trusted and well-read by the Amish, who credit her for giving readers a much deeper comprehension of the Amish and their customs.

The series shows how Mark and Mattie are like other children, they just don’t ride in cars, watch television, or play video games.

“What a Pair!” is the first novel in the “Double Trouble” series and was released in the year 2012. Welcome to Holmes County, Ohio, where twins Mark and Mattie, cannot quite seem to agree on anything at all.

They’re just as different as night and day. Mattie’s ticklish, while Mark is not. Mark loves cats, while Mattie loves dogs. Mark’s a practical joker, and Mattie is serious. Mattie is a fantastic baseball player, while Mark cringes anytime he sees a ball and bat. And this isn’t even the half of it.

Their disagreements begin causing huge trouble in their Amish community. Are these energetic nine-year-olds going to call a truce and just acknowledge that their differences are the very thing that make them so unique?

The plot in this has some turns and twists and quite a few different scenarios to appeal to a wide selection of reader interests. There is a lot of adventure, humor, good values, family fun, and the benefit of learning about a culture that few have ever experienced first hand. These are funny and simple tales with the same problems that most children have with their siblings.

“Bumpy Ride Ahead!” is the second novel in the “Double Trouble” series and was released in the year 2012. Twins Mark and Mattie are in for a rather bumpy ride.

Whether they bicker over giving wild wagon rides or the last pickle, this pair cannot seem to duck away from the trouble that is never too far behind them. Their selfishness starts causing some big trouble at each turn, are these energetic nine-year-olds going to learn the value of sharing before it is too late?

Readers found this to be a sweet book for young readers that teach the life lesson of the importance of sharing with others. It is a fun book to read with young kids, as they enjoy the adventures the twins go on, while they learn some good lessons along the way. Wanda uses her storytelling abilities and knowledge of the Amish lifestyle in conveying her message in an engaging way.

“Bubble Troubles” is the third novel in the “Double Trouble” series and was released in the year 2013. Mark and Mattie Miller experience some Bubble Troubles in their Holmes County, Ohio community.

Whether they worry about scary storms, lost dogs, or falling through the ice, these energetic nine year olds cannot quite shake their feelings of uncertainty and uneasiness. Their worries start spiraling out of control. Can they learn the value of turning their worries over to God before it is too late?

These are delightful books for kids, that adults can also get some enjoyment out of. It is another sweet book while the twins are dealing with different worries in their lives this time around. This one teaches kids to pray and hand their worries off to God rather than let it upset them and rule their lives. Some readers felt like they were with these two, baking pumpkin cookies with their mamm, sledding in the snow with them, and walking back home from their one room school.

“Green Fever” is the fourth novel in the “Double Trouble” series and was released in the year 2013.Mark and Mattie Miller have gotten a case of Green Fever. Whether they are experiencing jealousy over prize fish, ice cream cones, new shoes, or brand-new bikes these two cannot seem to shake their feelings of envy.

When their out-of-control jealousy starts causing huge trouble at each turn, are these energetic nine-year-olds going to learn the value of contentment before it is too late?

Readers found Mark and Mattie to be refreshing characters that are full of mischief and have a lot of fun. It is a rather easy and light read for adults and is a wonderful entertaining way to learn valuable lessons for younger kids. Readers liked how Wanda was able to incorporate the color green into different parts of the book.

“Humble Pie” is the fifth novel in the “Double Trouble” series and was released in the year 2014. Mark and Mattie Miller get a taste of Humble Pie in their Holmes County, Ohio community.

Whether they are bragging about their abilities to ace a test, win some pie-eating contest, play sports, or bake a cake, these exuberant soon to be ten-year-olds just cannot seem to tame their own pride.

Fans of the book found this to be another delightful book that was written for kids, and it gives them a glimpse of farm life, the Amish lifestyle, and learning a lesson while they read. It is a cute little book with some big lessons for its young readers, which this time around is about learning some humility. Readers like how wholesome these stories are and the Amish setting.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Double Trouble

Leave a Reply