Book Notification

Dr. Samantha Owens Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dr. Samantha Owens Books

A Deeper Darkness (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Black (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Shadows Fall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Lies Behind (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dr. Samantha Owens series is a series of forensic and romantic thriller novels written by the award winning New York Times bestselling author of America named J.T. Ellison. There is a total of 4 books published in the series between the years 2012 and 2015. The series is currently ongoing as author J.T. Ellison is working on the next novel of the series, which is expected to be published in the year 2017. All the novels of the Dr. Samantha Owens series feature the central character in the form of Dr. Samantha Owens, who is described by the author as a medical examiner based in Tennessee. The plots of all the novels revolve around the criminal investigations happening around Dr. Samantha Owens, in which she also gets involved in one way or the other.

The first novel of the Dr. Samantha Owens series written by author J.T. Ellison was published under the title ‘A Deeper Darkness’. It was released by the Mira Books publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of this novel is set in Washington, D.C., United States, and features the main characters in the form of Dr. Samantha Owens, Susan Donovan, Darren Fletcher, and Eleanor Donovan. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Samantha Owens is introduced as a medical examiner. She is depicted as being aware of the fact that her job requires her to give some sense to a death with the help of precision instruments and crisp methodology. But since the past few years she has remained pretty much inactive due to the death of her husband and her children in the Tennessee floods.

The floods not only took away her family, but also the light from her cheerful life. Samantha seems to be suffering from a suffocating grief which does not seem to be penetrated by any amount of workaholic ardor. However, after a long time, Samantha receives one of the peculiar calls from Washington, D.C. The mother of one of her former boyfriends asks her to carry out a second autopsy on the dead body of her son as she does not believe the reason of his death specified in the first autopsy report. Dr. Samantha Owens comes to know from the official reports that Eddie Donovan had become a victim of a deadly carjacking. However, the forensic investigation carried out by her tells her a different story. She seems to be certain that the Ex-Ranger was definitely murdered and that the carjacking was used to make it look like an accident. After the loss of her own family, Samantha is once again forcefully confronted with the burning feelings and memories of a brutal killing of yet another loved one in the form of Eddie Donovan.

When she discovers the old notes written by Eddie, she loses herself in the suspense and mystery contained in it. She decides to go on the trail of the mysterious notes and is lead to an untouchable man Xander. Sam comes to know that Xander is a former soldier, who is off-grid now since the day he returned from Afghanistan. The search for the truth also leads Dr. Samantha Owens to a series of deadly crimes starting from the harsh war zones in the mountains up to the capital of the nation. The stories that Samantha comes to know in the middle of her search make her believe that no one involved involved in the murder case of Eddie Donovan was clean. However, in her attempt to search and reveal the actual cause of death of Eddie, Dr. Samantha Owens becomes so much involved that she lands herself in the crosshairs of the deadliest criminals. And so, she begins to face death threats at each and every step, which makes her investigation difficult and also lands her in a dangerous situation.

The second novel of the Dr. Samantha Owens series written by author J.T. Ellison was released in the year 2012 by the Harlequin Mira publishing house. It was titled ‘Edge of Black’ and continues to depict the criminal activities and the related investigations happening around the life of the main character named Dr. Samantha Owens. In the opening sequence of the plot of this novel, Samantha is depicted as trying to give a new start to her life. She moves to a new city, starts a new job, and begins to see a new man in her life. By doing so, Samantha tries to distance herself from her devastating loss of the death of her husband and her children in the Tennessee floods. However, she still seems to have the scars of the old wounds. As soon as Samantha joins the office of the forensic pathology department at the Georgetown University, she is asked work as a consultant on a case that seems to have shaken the capital city as well as the country. She comes to know that an unknown pathogen has been released by someone into the Washington Metro, which has caused a nationwide panic. So far, three people have been reported to have died because of the deadly pathogen.

In the middle of all the alarm bells of the Homeland Security and the media buzz, Dr. Samantha Owens carried out the autopsy of the three victims. She is left with a disturbing and unsettling conclusion from her examination. Samantha reports to the investigative agencies that the mayhem is not caused by the broad strokes of a textbook terrorist. The assassin is an artist who uses a finer and more pointed instrument for causing the destruction. It becomes clear that the assassin is carrying out the murders with a personal motive, but people still don’t understand the real reason behind his deadly activities. Samantha finds a new boyfriend in the form of Xander Whitefield, who used to work as an army ranger previously. He seems to see the world in the shades of gray and because of that, he is compelled to carry out the wrong things for the reasons that he thinks are right. The disturbing kinship that Xander has with the killer is the only way Samantha can get closer to knowing the truth. But in doing so, she is going to be put into the line of danger once again.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dr. Samantha Owens

One Response to “Dr. Samantha Owens”

  1. Dee Field: 2 years ago

    You are a new author for me. I just finished reading What Lies Behind.I plan to read the other books in the Samatha Owens series, I read Catherine Coulter and That is how I came across your name. I like your style of writing, the twists and turns within the story,and your character development. Consider me a new fan.


Leave a Reply