Book Notification

Dragon Blood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragon Blood Books

Balanced on the Blade's Edge (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathmaker (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Charged (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Patterns in the Dark (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blade's Memory (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Ice Blades (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raptor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soulblade (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattered Past (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fowl Proposal (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oaths (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dragon Blood series is a mind-blowing series of steampunk, fantasy, science fiction, romance, magic, and adventure stories. It is written by a renowned American author named Lindsay Buroker. The series is comprised of a total of 8 novels and 3 novellas, released between 2014 and 2017. Following the worldwide success of this series, Lindsay Buroker penned a sequel series that takes place a few years after the events of this series. The sequel series features some characters from this series as well as some new characters. Several essential characters depicted by author Lindsay Buroker in this series include Col. Ridgewalker Zirkander, Sardelle Terushan, Lt. Caslin Ahn, Tolemek Targoson, Col. Vann Therrik, Captain Astuawilda Kaika, King Angulus, Tylie, Morishtomaric, Lilah, and several others.

Lindsay Buroker has set the stories on a fictional planet called Magroth and has shown different empires indulging in a war against each other. The armies are shown as being well-equipped with modern warfare, military weapons, and airships. Every book of this series is widely popular. The series as a whole has developed a huge fan following all over the world. Lindsay Buroker received a great boost with the success of this series and went on to write more book series in her career.

The debut book of the Dragon Blood novel series written by author Lindsay Buroker is entitled ‘Balanced on the Blade’s Edge’. It was released by the Smashwords publication in 2014. Lindsay has mentioned the lead characters in this novel in the roles of Sardelle Terushan and Ridgewalker Zirkander. The book begins by introducing Col. Ridgewalker Zirkander as a man who doesn’t follow the military professionalism model. He likes to say what he thinks without fearing for anyone or anything. Because of this, he has earned many demerits in his record. However, Ridge Zirkander has a reputation for being the best pilot in the entire Iskandian army and that’s why his seniors tend to show some leniency towards him. On one occasion, Zirkander ends up punching a wrong diplomat on the face and is issued an order to take control of a distant prison mine located in the inhospitable regions of the Ice Blade Mountains.

Ridge Zirkander wonders what he is going to do with the frozen prison full of rapists and murderers when the largest thing he has ever commanded is a flier squadron. Moreover, he is also intrigued by the showing up of a strange woman named Sardelle Terushan moments before his arrival at the prison fortress. Sardelle seems to have awakened after being in a mage-stasis shelter for 300 years. She realizes that she is the last member of the Referatu sorcerers who had helped Iskandia protect itself from its conquerors. The subterranean community that Sardelle belonged to was destroyed by soldiers of the enemy army in a treacherous attack. All the people known to Sardelle are no more and her sentient soul-blade is buried somewhere in the mountain’s core. And whatever is remaining of Sardelle’s home is infested by greedy miners commanded by the future generations of the soldiers who killed her people and destroyed her home.

In order to take revenge and defeat the enemies, Sardelle needs to find her soul-blade, which is the only link to her last known friend and her past. The only way she can reach the soul-blade is by trying to gain the trust of the commander. To do so, she pretends to be one of the prison inmates. But, lying is not the specialty of Sardelle Terushan, especially when the world has gone so much of change during the centuries she was away. And if Col. Zirkander finds out the reality of Sardelle, he will be bound by his duty to give her the punishment laid down for all the sorcerers: death. With just one look at Sardelle, Zirkander realizes that she is in some kind of pain and is in desperate need of help. Without knowing what she is up to, he offers her a helping hand.

Another interesting installment of this steampunk series is called ‘Blood Charged’. It was also published in 2014 as a Kindle book. The book opens by mentioning that Sardelle Terushan has managed to survive in Iskandia in spite of being a healer and sorceress. It is forbidden to use magic in Iskandia and anyone found doing so is either drowned, slain, or shot to death. Sardelle is well aware of the consequences and tries to lay as low as possible. But, the problem arises when she falls in love with the national hero and ace fighter pilot, Col. Zirkander. Given his reputation and personality, Zirkander is noticed by everyone, including the kingdom’s ruler. Sardelle fears it won’t be long before spies start following her and people begin to blow her up if she continues to stay by the side of Zirkander. Also, Zirkander worries landing his career in jeopardy because of having Sardelle in his life as his lover.

Sardelle thinks that she must arrive at a solution to the centuries-old hatred of the nation for magic soon or else she might have to leave Iskandia to protect herself and Zirkandia from the upcoming dangers. Ridge Zirkander is used to worrying only about destroying Cofah airships and looking after the safety of his squadron’s officers. However, he has brought many more complications in his life since the day he gave his heart to the sorceress. He finds it extremely difficult to prevent the enigmatic and mysterious Sardelle from getting noticed by people. And the presence of the sparkling sentient sword with Sardelle makes things even worse. So far, Zirkander has been passing Sardelle off to the fellow pilot as an archaeologist. But, when he is summoned by the king for a private meeting, Zirkander fears that Sardelle’s cover has been blown.

Zirkander has a sigh of relief when the king informs him that he has been called to discuss something more important. It is learned that the military scientists of Cofah have found dragon blood, which was believed to not exist in the world. The dragon blood is known to be a powerful source of energy and can be used to make devastating weapons. Zirkander and Sardelle are tasked with the mission of traveling to Cofah secretly to steal the powerful dragon blood. They must succeed in this mission at all costs or else the Cofah will gain control of the power that will destroy the entire Iskandia.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dragon Blood

Leave a Reply