Book Notification

Dragon Keepers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragon Keepers Books

The Dragon in the Sock Drawer (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon in the Driveway (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon in the Library (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon in the Volcano (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon in the Sea (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leandra and Obsidian (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon at the North Pole (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Dragon Keepers” series written by author Kate Klimo began in the year 2008, with the release of the first novel “The Dragon in the Sock Drawer”. The series features illustrations by John Shroades. The series stars Jesse and Daisy (who are cousins) that have a dragon. The cousins found the dragon somewhere, and they wound up raising it themselves. The series is meant for readers ages six through nine.

“The Dragon in the Sock Drawer” is the first novel in the “Dragon Keepers” series and was released in the year 2008. Cousins Daisy and Jesse are both ten years old; they have both wanted to have something magical happen to them. It is a wish come true for them when they find a thunder egg and it hatches; a tiny, loud baby dragon comes out. They name the dragon Emmy. Pretty quickly, they are at the dragon’s beck and call. They also need to figure out what they are supposed to feed her. After some searching on both the Internet and at the library, they find a site that is called; the egg hatching has made them Dragon Keepers. They have to feed Emmy and protect her from a villainous dragon slayer named Saint George. Saint George is a drinker of dragon’s blood, which has kept him alive for multiple centuries.

Fans of the novel to be a great way to get children introduced to the science fiction and fantasy genre. It is fast and entertaining, with suspense and adventure. Parents and kids read this book together and some parents were not sure which one liked the book more. They felt hooked into the story, and the writing was delightful. It has real characters for kids to relate to. The book will teach some kids some new words. Even adults found that they enjoyed reading this book too.

“The Dragon in the Driveway” is the second novel in the “Dragon Keepers” series and was released in the year 2009. Rain hits the neighborhood, making Jesse and Daisy stay indoors, with their dragon Emmy. Once the rain clears up, they are out the door in a flash. First things first. Find out what Saint George is doing. He is not in his office at the college, neither is the stuff that was in his office. They find out about his new plan. Take over the forest so that he can the golden ax (that has magical powers) that is buried somewhere in there. Saint George has been enslaving mythical beings that have come back to Goldmine City. Can the dragon keepers and Emmy free all the dryads and hobgoblins from under the thumb of Saint George and return the forest to the rightful owners.

Fans of the novel found the pace here to be quick and the book is a great addition to this series. Readers felt that they enjoyed this book more than the first, and some minor events that happened in book one were expanded on in this book. Some felt that they were interested in seeing what comes next in this series. Readers liked that this book had more of a fantasy angle this time around, and they still were unable to look away from the book. There was great humor throughout, and it is a must for kids who like fantasy elements in their adventures.

“The Dragon in the Library” is the third novel in the “Dragon Keepers” series and was released in the year 2010. Emmy, who has been growing rapidly, says she has been missing something. Since Jesse and Daisy do not know what that something is, they go to Professor Andersson’s site (as he knows a lot about dragons and he is Jesse and Daisy’s favorite expert) for help. They also witness Sadie Huffington kidnap him. Sadie is Saint George’s girlfriend. Sadie has this scheme going on where she will have the professor find Saint George and then kidnap Emmy. The three must storm the castle that Sadie has to get the professor back from her and her sinister dog men.

Fans of the novel found that this novel built on things that were introduced in previous books. Some liked the way that Emmy is being developed, and fans like seeing her growing up more and more in each book. The books in this series keep getting better and better, and is a little more darker than the previous installments. It is still full of laughs. There is a lot of heart to this series, not to mention quite a bit of imagination.

“The Dragon in the Volcano” is the fourth novel in the “Dragon Keepers” series and was released in the year 2010. Emmy has been disappearing lately. She is a tween now, she is getting more and more independent, and has outgrown Daisy and Jesse’s garage. Jesse and Daisy, when she goes missing, get really worried about her. This is due to the fact that they do not want to lose her; it is almost as though they are her parents. When she really goes missing, she is nice enough to leave a trail of socks behind her, and it leads them right into a volcano. It goes even crazier than that. They get thrust into a world known as the Fire Realm. Dragons can be felled by a single squirt of water and fire fairies have been going missing.

Fans of the novel found that this has everything that they have come to expect from this great series. Each book gets better and better, and each one are fun fun fun to read. This is a great series to read aloud to kids, as the plot is easy enough to follow and has simple characters in it. Some found that their kids could not read the books in the series fast enough, reading them just as fast as the author can write and publish them. This is a great read about growing up together that is full of action and comes from an active imagination. Some liked the way that the novel mostly takes place in a magical world, making this read much more fantastic than the other books in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dragon Keepers

Leave a Reply