Book Notification

Dragonrealm Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragonrealm Books

Publication Order of Dragonrealm: Origin of Dragonrealm Books

The Shrouded Realm (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Children of the Drake (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Tome (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Legends of the Dragonrealm Books

Legends of the Dragonrealm, Vol. II (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends of the Dragonrealm, Vol III (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends of the Dragonrealm, Vol. IV (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dragonrealm: The Turning War Books

Dragon Master (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gryphon Mage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Horned Blade (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut from the Same Shadow and Other Tales (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard Knaak’s Dragonrealm is a skillfully authored and organized sequel of fantasy books. The series consists of novels and novellas that have been categorized in volumes; ranging from volume I to volume IV. Dragonrealm features a fantasy story that can capture a reader’s attention from start to end. That ability is partly due to the single storyline that begins in the first book Firedrake (1989) and proceeds all the way to the last book The Turning War (2012). In addition to that, Knaak has presented the story in a way that is unique and different from any other typical fantasy story that has heroes and villains.

One factor that differentiates the Dragonrealm series from others is its spectacular twists and turns in the plot. A reader might think that they can predict an event that will follow, only to be thrown off the prediction course. The author weaves dragons smoothly into the story that also contains drakes and men. The fall of the dragon emperor gives room for drake lords to compete for control of the empire. However, in unfamiliar fashion, Duke Toma who an emperor’s son seeks the help of he Ice Dragon in his bid to retaliate against Cabe Bedlam (the wizard) and his companions. Eventually, the move creates room for a sharp twist because the Ice Dragon had different plans of his own. All throughout the series, the author creates a series of struggles that come with a sense of futility in the characters’ efforts. This is a deviation from traditional fantasy stories that have an all-powerful hero or villain who is not subject to suffering, trials and tribulations. The twist ensures that a reader remains empathetic and sympathetic to the plights of the characters to the point that he/she forgets that they are fictional and fantasy characters.

The series also features unique and interesting perspectives and ideas. It contains magic just as is the case with many other fantasy stories. However, the difference between Dragonrealm series and a typical fantasy story is that sorcery battles have been designed and described in a way that one can practically visualize them as if they were being broadcast on a display. Again, contrary to other fantasy stories, dragons are not portrayed as brainless creatures which cannot reason. On the contrary, they are very cunning and tactical even in delivering evil to other characters. The author examines the dragon’s norms, culture and general way of life. That makes the story to bring dragons closer to human comprehension. Humanness is further fostered by human-like relations of characters regardless of the fact that they are supernatural. For instance, even the most powerful of characters have fears of their own.

Dragonrealm series contains well developed and entertaining characters. Each character is like a wild card that you cannot predict. Apart from what is portrayed on the surface, each one of them has something going on behind the scenes. As an example, it is extremely hard to figure out the role of Darkhorse in the earlier sections of the series. His motives are entirely unknown and open to a reader’s speculation. That alone develops him as a strong and influential character all through the series. Other characters include Duke Toma, Cabe Bedlam, Ice Dragon, Darkhorse and Dru Zeree among many others who have been developed almost perfectly.

The almost perfect development of characters results to one of the series’ strong points – constant flow of events. The storyline has an exceptional ability to keep the reader hooked consistently. Events revolve around the main protagonist, Cabe Bedlam who starts as an immature youth. The fact that he is targeted by powerful kings, rulers and lords forces him to be constantly on the run to stay alive. The author manages to intertwine Cabe’s story with many other events such as adventures, battles, love, and magic. Character relationships are shaped by friendships, love, hatred, and competition. The series is not short of suspense and intrigues. As a reader, there is always the speculation of who is going to do what. One is always left wondering whether the Ice Dragon will win in his effort to engulf the whole world in eternal winter. Another big question relates to the identity of Err. There is also the question of which race is stronger between the Vraad and the Tezrenee. Obviously, the stronger race will outdo the weaker one and cross over to Dragonrealm. That is an event that is worth the read. Such moments of suspense and intrigue make each book to be a perfect set up for the next one in the series.

Dragonrealm’s first book, Firedrake was released in 1989. It is Knaak’s debut novel and he used it to introduce his main protagonist, Cabe. Cabe is youthful and arrogant yet very likeable to the reader. He is particularly attracted to members of the opposite sex. His rising popularity has made him a target and Dragon Kings want him eliminated because of his magical potential. Ironically, Cabe seems to be on a self-destructive path even as he flees for his life. There is so much at stake. His powers and abilities make it his responsibility to save the human race against Dragon Kings. However, he seems to be too immature to handle the responsibility. After all, he has his own life to worry about.

The second book, Ice Dragon was also released in 1989. It starts with competition for power among drake lords after the fall of the dragon emperor. Duke Toma turns to Ice Dragon for help as he seeks revenge against Cabe Bedlam and his group. What Toma doesn’t know is that Ice Dragon has hidden evil plans of his own. In order to save the worlds of man and drake, Cabe has to use his magic sword to drive Dragon Kings back to Dragonrealms. The Dragon Kings are not about to give up. They re-plan and get ways of usurping Cabe and his wife, Gwen. However, their efforts were futile as the two (Cabe and Gwen) have magic powers. In desperation, the Ice Dragon unleashes his most lethal weapon – eternal winter. If his plan succeeds, he will take over Dragonrealms and send all men to oblivion. Cabe knows that only he can stop the Ice Dragon and this forces him to travel to a far away land where the two will face a confrontation.

The series is definitely worth reading all the way to the last book; Dragonrealm Turning War which was released in 2012.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dragonrealm

Leave a Reply