Book Notification

Dragonsitter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Dragonsitter Books

The Dragonsitter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter Takes Off (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter's Castle (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter's Island (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter's Party (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter to the Rescue (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trick or Treat? (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter Detective (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter's Surprise (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragonsitter in the Land of the Dragons (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Dragonsitter series is a series of fun and comedy novels written by the well known British author Josh Lacey. There is a total of 5 novels published in the series between the years 2012 and 2015. Author Josh Lacey has also finished writing the 6th novel of the series and is about to publish it in early next year. All the novels of the series deal with a kid named Eddie Smith-Pickle who is asked to take care of a pet dragon by his Uncle Morton. The first novel of the series was titled ‘Dragonsitter’ and was published by the Andersen publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of the novel features Eddie Smith-Pickle, Uncle Morton, Jemima, and Uncle Morton’s dragon. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Eddie Smith sends an e-mail to his Uncle Morton and asks him to come back to him as soon as possible by taking a plane. He asks him to hurry up as Jemima has been by the dragon.

Initially, it sounded very easy when Uncle Morton asked Eddie Smith to look after his unusual pet dragon as he was going for a week long holiday. When Eddie brings the dragon to his home, he finds out that the curtains are set blazing, the fridge is entirely empty, and the postman is running for his life in the garden path. Soon, Eddie Smith realizes that the whole week is going to bring a lot of trouble in his life because of the out of control dragon. But when Jemima is found nowhere in the house, he thinks that the dragon has eaten her and calls for an emergency help. Eddie even informs his Uncle Morton to leave his holiday in between and come back to take control his dragon. After staying a few days with the dragon, Eddie Smith comes to know that it is not even remotely friendly. So he sends repeated mails to Uncle Morton, regarding the behavior of the dragon, but none of them are answered back. Eddie becomes tired of sending any more mails and mending the things that the dragon keeps breaking. To add to his problems, the dragon begins to poop inside his house, break important stuffs, chase cats, burned several stuffs, as well as did many more disturbing things in the house. Contrary to what Uncle Morton had said about the dragon, it became a hell for Eddie Smith.

After creating so much havoc in the house, Eddie was surprised that the house was still standing erect and that they were still allowed to live in the neighborhood. And then, Eddie comes across a magical solution that helps him to stop the dragon from spreading any more havoc in the house and keeping it under control. Some of the readers found the solution to be too simple, but then author Josh Lacey had written the novel keeping in mind the mentality of small kids. Hence, he justified the climax that he has given in the novel. The readers, particularly liked the idea that the novel is written through emails rather than plain text. The narration of the plot of the novel is done in the form of emails that Eddie Smith sends each day to Uncle Morton, explaining him what had happened that day, rather how much loss the dragon had caused to him and his property. After sending numerous emails to Uncle Morton, Eddie Smith seems to lose faith just before Uncle Morton replies mysteriously through an email. It was kind of strange on his part that he had kept a dangerous dragon at his nephew’s residence and did not bother to check about it regularly, not even when Eddie sent him emails about the dragon. The least he could have done is replied to the emails on time so that it would have helped Eddie Smith to keep the dragon in control.

The second novel of the Dragonsitter series written by author Josh Lacey was published under the title ‘The Dragonsitter Takes Off’. It was published by the Andersen publishing house in the year 2013. In this novel, Uncle Morton once again goes on a holiday vacation and leaves his mischievous dragon named Ziggy, with his nephew Eddie Smith-Pickle. Just like in the first novel of the series, in this novel too Ziggy begins to break things and chase pet animals, cats and dogs. And once again, Eddie begins to send emails to Uncle Morton each day and informs him about the daily havoc spreading activities of Ziggy in his life. In one of the emails sent to Uncle Morton, Eddie tells him that Ziggy is not moving from the cupboard made of linen and has not even a thing for so many days. He even tried feeding him a Maltester, but he still did not seem interested in eating it. The calm and quiet attitude of the dragon, Ziggy has made everyone worried about him. Seeing the dragon sitting quiet and not doing any damage, Everyone thought that it would be easy for Eddie Smith this time to take care of the dragon named Ziggy. But one day, Ziggy disappears and could not be found.

After hours of searching him everywhere, Eddie Smith finds him sitting in the linen cupboard. For reasons unknown, the dragon was not ready to leave the linen cupboard and did not make a budge from there. However, when Eddie Smith comes to know about a big secret that his uncle’s dragon has been hiding from everyone, moving him from the linen cupboard becomes the last thing that he seems to be worried about. The author has once again given the narration of the plot of the novel in the form of email conservations between Eddie Smith and Uncle Morton. Once again, things do not go as planned by Eddie Smith and when he calls Uncle Morton for help, he seems to be enjoying his holidays by being conveniently away. Due to this Eddie is once again required to face the problems all alone. Just like the first novel of the series, this novel too proved to be an interesting read for the kids. It even suited well to the adults who seem to have an interest in reading kids’ stories. With this novel, author Josh Lacey has collaborated with the illustrator named Garry Parsons, who has also done a tremendous job in making the novel even more enjoyable to read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dragonsitter

Leave a Reply