Book Notification

Drake Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Drake Chronicles Books

Hearts at Stake (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Feud (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out for Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bleeding Hearts (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer First Date (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Field Guide to Vampires (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Moon (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corsets and Crossbows (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Prophecy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tithe of Blood and Ashes (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Tooth (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Drake Chronicles Books

Corsets and Crossbows(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hearts at Stake(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Feud(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out for Blood(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bleeding Hearts(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer First Date(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Field Guide to Vampires(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Moon(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Prophecy(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tithe of Blood and Ashes(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Tooth(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Canadian writer Alyxandra Harvey is a well known author of fantasy and science-fiction fiction, as she writes for the Young Adult demographic, with her work being well appreciated both within the community and outside of it too, as she writes for a worldwide audience of readers, with her work following in the traditions laid out by such luminaries as the Bronte sisters and Jane Austen, as she cites them as some of her biggest influences. Knowing and understanding her craft clearly, she is able to transform and manipulate it, making it entirely her own in the process, creating a style that is entirely unique to her. Her imaginative scope is also something to be admired as well, as she has been able to build entire worlds for her characters to inhabit, as she builds evocative landscapes that really come to life in the minds of the readers, in all their rich and vibrant colors. The characters themselves are also extremely well drawn, as they resonate with the reader, despite them being set in fantastical universes and alien worlds. It is the universality of her themes and ideas that shine through, as she speaks on a fundamentally human level that really gets down to the core of existence. This is something readers both young and old have come to admire in her work, as it speaks to audiences of all ages, something which goes a long way in explaining her success as a bestselling author. Creating long-running series as well, she keeps her readers engaged and invested in her narratives, allowing the stories to take on a life of their own, giving the reader a sense of urgency, as well as a sense of familiarity in the process, something which she has become a master of over the many years of her writing career. One such series is that of her fantasy series, the ‘Drake Chronicles’, which features a vampire lead romance set of novels based around the Drake family. Whilst there are many books like this largely due to the Twilight series, this stands out from the rest thanks to its characters who are idiosyncratic, as Harvey plays with the format making it entirely her own. It also takes some inspiration from the long-running series ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’ in that the main female protagonist is herself a vampire slayer. This complicates things when she finds that her love interest is a vampire and part of the Drake family, the one person that she is sworn to kill.

Taking place over a series of six main books in total, along with a number of other side spin-off novellas placed in-between, this series started in 2009 and finished in 2013. Providing a sense of completion, the saga is really well drawn out over the course of the books, allowing the reader to become really invested in the action and drama. With a number of omnibus editions, for both the main books as well as the spin-offs, it really allows the reader to know and understand who the characters are and where they’re heading in the future.

My Love Lies Bleeding

Brought out on the 22nd of December in 2009, this was the first story to start the ongoing series of ‘Drake Chronicles’, as it sets the entire franchise up. Establishing the many principal character along with the world that they are to inhabit, it sets the tone as well, giving the reader a clear idea of what to expect in the series to come. It was released through the ‘Bloomsbury Publishing’ outlet, as it brought the series to the reading public at large for the first time, giving them a first adventure in the process too.

Dating back to the twelfth century, the Drakes differ from the rest of neighbors on the estate in that they are an ancient order of vampires, with many living for centuries. That’s when Solange is born, the first female vampire in a long-time, something which leads to her becoming a potential problem for the Vampire Queen, as the two of them are put into conflict with one another. That then leads to her needing to be rescued by her human best friend Lucy and her brother Nicholas, as the two of them set out to look for her. Will they find her? Can they save her? How will they come to terms with their situation when they ask ‘what happens when my love lies bleeding’?

Blood Feud

Released through the ‘Bloomsbury US’ publishing division this time, this book continues on directly from the last, as it provides the next installment in the ongoing ‘Drake Chronicles’ series of novels. Providing the readers with more of the same, it also manages to bring some new ideas into the series as well, developing it overall to an even greater degree. It was also brought out on the 22nd of June in 2010, less than one year after the first, as it didn’t keep its already eager readers and fans waiting for long.

After being left for dead by an evil British lord, Isabeau St. Croix survived the French Revolution only to be turned into a vampire and left for dead. With the clans all gathering to celebrate Helena’s royal coronation with her becoming the next vampire queen, it appears that the many clans are convening as well. All the while Isabeau is attempting to get her revenge, all whilst satiating her passion for Logan Drake, someone she desires greatly, as Leander Montmarte attempts to get Solange to marry him. Will Isabeau get her revenge? Can the clans all come together peacefully? What will become of the blood feud?

The Drake Chronicles Series

Working as a saga this series really manages to make the most of its characters and the central fantastical premise that’s driving it along for the duration of the saga. Allowing the narrative to flow easily and effortlessly, it really lets the characters explore their world and who they are as people, really giving it all a life of its own in the process. This is something that its many readers will continue to enjoy for many years to come, as its legacy lives on for readers of all ages from all across the world.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Drake Chronicles

Leave a Reply