Book Notification

Drenai Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Drenai Saga Books

Legend / Against the Horde (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King Beyond the Gate (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waylander (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quest for Lost Heroes (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Realm of the Wolf (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Chronicles of Druss the Legend (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of Deathwalker (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Warriors (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hero in the Shadows (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Wolf (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swords of Night and Day (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Drenai Saga Books

Waylander(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Realm of the Wolf(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hero in the Shadows(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Chronicles of Druss the Legend(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of Deathwalker(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Wolf(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legend / Against the Horde(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King Beyond the Gate(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quest for Lost Heroes(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Warriors(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swords of Night and Day(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Drenai Saga: Skilgannon The Damned Books

White Wolf (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swords of Night and Day (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Drenai Graphic Novels

David Gemmell's Legend (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

When you talk about Drenai Saga (Series by David Gemmell), you actually talk about the real heroic fantasy. It is unavoidable to talk about heroic fantasy without mentioning the name of this heroic author and one person who once was the best seller in the UK. He as has used a great measure of skill in his writing that you find the flow of a storyline told in a setting spanning centuries.

Gemmell was born in August 1948 in West London. He was brought up by his mother under very difficult circumstances in the urban area. Throughout his youth, he suffered many problems including bullying and being arrested in many occasions. This perhaps had bearing on his usual themes of courage, redemption, violence, honor and loyalty that he portrays in better parts of his works.

He found a way into the media as a journalist and a newspaper editor later on. As an author, he first wrote a book for which he never found a publisher. He then tried to rethink his strategy in 1984 after inspiration from his friend. He had a career that was laden with 30 novels before his sunset in 2006 leaving a legacy and his work is still sang left right and center in the heroic fantasy world.

In his works, the main character does not last the whole series but are succeeded by others though they are still beneficial in the development of the series be because they are mentioned in the plots of subsequent writing. However, his first two novels feature Druss the Legend and Tanaka who are powerful characters. They stand by their people in their time of need and are a cornerstone of courage and loyalty in Drenai.

The series kicks off with Legend as the first novel. It was published in 1984 and later established as a great fantasy novel. It is herein that we see the development of the character Druss who is consistently used in subsequent books. He first thought of the book in 1976 when he was being tested for cancer. He wanted to let off steam and take off his mind when he tried to write first calling it “Against the Hordes”.

Gemmell however quickly forgot about the book when he found out that he didn’t have cancer. It was not until his friend went through the manuscript and told him that the book he despised had potential. He rewrote it to have the now great and renowned Legend. A quick summary of what happens in the novel can suffice a spark of interest in you.

In the novel, the Drenai Empire appears to be under threat. This is because the Nadir who are so tribal, have been united by a war leader, Ulric who has amassed an empire in the north of the kingdom. Abalayn their leader, tries to negotiate new treaties with Ulric to no avail. War is evidently coming because over 500,000 warriors is invading gateway to Drenai Heartlands.

It is a difficult situation because the additional defense of the Dros Delnoch fortress is reduced to 10,000 men due to the incompetence of their general. However, this is the greatest fortress in the world. It is guarded by six high walls and has a narrow gate pass. The fact remains that the security of the Drenai kingdom solely rests in the defense of Dros Delnoch. So they have to gather and train a new the army though the star of the kingdom looks to be waning.

. Regnak Wanderer alias Rek is one of the two characters on which the story is centered. He is an ex- official who seeks war and has resigned from the commission because he is a coward. Both of them want to find their destiny in Drenai. Rek is persuaded to come back to Delnoch because of his girlfriend and he finds his destiny as the Earl of Bronze.

Druss the Legend is the other man. He was ready to defend Delnoch even when he had a choice of senility. He marched to the great fortress to defend his people. He defies the odds with his age, 60’s, to fight as formidable as he did when young. There are a lot of instances of siege as time goes by and 30 warrior priest fighting to die but only one who goes on to bring great god for Drenai.

The second book in the series is The King Beyond the Gate is set about a century later after the Legend was set. Therefore, it is evident that few of the characters in the Legend appear in the novel. The elapse of a long time and the passing mentions of some characters in the previous book gives the series a new flavor.

It is during the reign of Ceska, a mad emperor that a descendant of both Khan and Ulric rises. He seeks to unite the people so as to defeat the evil reign of the emperor who uses the forces of the beasts to rule Drenai and prevent other people from defeating him.

The Emperor uses the forces from Dark Templars to fight the priests and also control Drenai. Tanaka, with the fear of risking his life trying to kill the emperor, gathers a few allies including Ananais and Decado the great sword warrior. He is determined to combat Ceska’s joining’s (sorcery) and bring his reign down.

The men gathered by Tanaka eventually find their way to Skoda but even after beating Cesk’s joinings, he sends to find a way of putting down the Skoda rebellion. Given that Tanaka is half-cast of Nadir and the Drenai, he finds it difficult to source for more help.

Nevertheless, at the end he succeeds to convince more people from Nadir to join in the struggle. The novel ends shortly after Tanaka manages to behead Ceska an ending that sounds untimely. However, the series goes on with the story continuing in the next novel.

Some other titles in the series include In the Realm of the Wolf and Wayslander. It is a series that inspires, creates all the kind of thrill that every heroic fantasy will want to read. It is no wonder therefore that the series has collected a lot of accolades so far. Do not hesitate, just go to your nearest bookshop and get your copies if you are a lover heroic of heroic fantasy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Drenai Saga

Leave a Reply