Book Notification

DS Heckenburg Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DS Heckenburg Books

The “DS Heckenburg” series (also called the “Heck” series) written by author Paul Finch is from the crime and mystery genres. Paul Finch is a former cop turned writer and draws on his experience in police work to write this series; although, most of his other work is from the horror genre. It began in the year 2013 with the release of “Stalkers”. This novel became a bestseller, selling 150,000 copies between both paperback and ebook.

He originally wanted to release “Hunted” as the third novel in the series, but his publishers wanted his “Nice Guys Club” to return sooner than he originally wanted. But he brought them back in the third book with “The Killing Club”. Later on, the novel “Hunted” was released in the year 2015 as the sixth book in the series.

The series stars Detective Sergeant Mark Heckenberg (also called Heck); he is a British Police Officer and is a member of Serial Crimes Group (this is a fictional group) that is based at New Scotland Yard.

His immediate superior is Gemma Piper (Detective Superintendent) and she is the other constant character that the series has. Her and Heck have an off and on again relationship throughout the series.

“Stalkers” is the first novel in the “DS Heckenburg” series and was released in the year 2013. Mark is looking into 38 women going missing. They were all happy and successful before they disappeared without leaving a trace.

Lauren Wraxford is desperate to find her missing sister, and has gone to Heck for help. They both get into a seedy underworld full of organized crime and gangsters. They hear some rumors about the “Nice Guys Club” and it makes them hit a brick wall. This is the gang that no one will open up and talk about. They are able to arrange anything that you want them to, you just have to be able to pay their price (which is 75 thousand pounds).

Fans of the novel liked the way that Paul Finch shows how gruesome the crimes are in his book. This is a gritty story and in parts will shock and scare readers, yet people still enjoyed reading it. Readers will have a hard time putting this book down, and want more. Heck and Lauren are strong characters that draw you to the story, and you will want to read more stories about them. This is a great first novel in a series that properly gets things started.

“Sacrifice” is the second novel in the “DS Heckenburg” series and was released in the year 2013. A male is burnt alive on a bonfire, and it seems just like a Guy Fawkes Night accident full of tragedy. A young couple is found with an arrow through their hearts on Valentine’s Day. It is certain that there is something more dangerous and sinister at work here. There is a calendar killer out there.

Heck goes up against it. There are more and more bodies piling up, and everyone’s eyes turn to him. He has to find the killer before more people are killed. This killer planned things out, and there is nothing that will stop him from carrying it out all the way.

Fans of the novel found that they lost themselves in the book, but it never felt like it was a chore to read. The novels have a part lyrical and part chatty quality to them that make the books that much more interesting to read. The book has fantastic writing, and Paul is graphic in his descriptions of the crimes. You will need to find out who the killer is throughout, and enjoy reading about the hero in this. His character is revealed throughout, rather than just a big info dump.

“The Killing Club” is the third novel in the “DS Heckenburg” series and was released in the year 2014. The “Nice Guys Club” is back. Heck is not prepared for this one, although he has seen a lot of bloodbaths. The most dangerous case that he has ever worked on, is open once again. Just two years back, many victims were killed by Britain’s most horrific gang.

There are brutal murders going on all over the country, and it is obvious that the gang is working again. The victims are killed in cold blood, by any means, and in daylight. He knows that they will soon come for him.

Fans of the novel liked the action packed read, and liked reading about Heck, as he does a great job of playing the one man band in this book. The novel has so much action, it does not allow for you to come up for air at all. Once again, Paul Finch has written a great novel, this one being the best (at least in this series) so far. Some hope that there are more books in this series, and that it continues for many years to come.

“Dead Man Walking” is the fourth novel in the “DS Heckenburg” series and was released in the year 2014. Heck has relocated to the valley in the Lake District, and is starting to get used to his new and much quieter life. It is not at all like the bloodbath he saw in his old division (Serial Crimes Unit). He is unable to get away from trouble, though; it seems to follow him around.

“The Stranger” has come back, which is something that Heck does not know. He was last seen a decade ago in Dartmoor, this serial killer (with many kills) has found his new home. There is a dense and frozen mist that comes down on the Lakes. The Stranger goes back to his old ways and kills a pair of two young women that have gotten lost on the hills. The police is only able to find one of the girls, who is barely alive; she is able to confirm Heck’s deepest fears.

Heck is only able to watch as the killer plays his cruel game and lay siege to the distant town. He lets out his trademark call before he viciously kills his victims. Heck has to play ball with The Stranger because there is no way to get help from anyone outside the valley.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DS Heckenburg

2 Responses to “DS Heckenburg”

  1. Evelyn Woods: 3 years ago

    Have you written any more Heck books after Kiss of Death. Really enjoyed this book. So would like to know what happens. As these people have killed a lot of police officer were killed.

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      As of this writing Paul has not written any more in that series.


Leave a Reply