Book Notification

DS Pete Gayle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DS Peter Gayle Books

Nowhere to Run (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Place to Hide (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Way Home (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Going Back (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Middle Ground (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Safe Place (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Compromise (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nowhere to Run - The Dark Side (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Good Deed (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of DS Peter Gayle Books

Nowhere to Run - The Dark Side is a re-telling of the first book in the series, Nowhere to Run, told from a different point of view.

The “DS Peter Gayle” Series is a set of crime mystery novels by English author Jack Slater. Slater has lived for most of his childhood in the town of Northamptonshire in England. Once he graduated from college, he held several jobs in different industries but ended up in biomedical science where he worked for several years. Some of the jobs he has held over the years include working in forestry, as a service engineer, in a shop, and on a farm. In 2011, he lost his wife to cancer and since he no longer felt that he had roots, he moved to the Channel Islands in 2012. While he had worked in all manner of industries in England, writing had been one of his greatest passions. Ever since he was a teenager, he had dabbled in the writing of both fiction and non-fiction works. Slater’s debut novel was the 2017 published “Nowhere to Run” that became a best-selling title and spawned the “DS Peter Gayle series of novels that had eight novels by 2020. “

Jack Slater is one of those authors that seem to burst onto the scene seemingly from nowhere. However, he is not an instant hit author as he had been working on the publishing world for several years before he decided to become an author. With his experience in the industry, he could easily determine what makes a bestseller. Armed with such information, he set out to write the “DS Peter Gayle” mystery series. Having seen much success with his debut series, he launched another series with the novel “Deep State” that was the first of the “Jason Trapp” series of novels. He writes hair raising fast-paced novels that combine elements of Ludlum, Clancy and Flynn to make some of the most fun and entertaining mysteries. He has come to be known for writing hardcore leads with a never say die attitude and very realistic settings and plotlines.

Jack Slater’s “DS Peter Gayle” series came from an idea he had while working on one of his thrillers. One of his characters was a police detective that the editor believed would make a good crime fiction lead. Slater took the idea and ran with it and in 2017 published “Nowhere to Run” the first novel of the “DS Peter Gayle” series. Detective Sergeant Peter Gayle is a man tormented by the disappearance of his son which often drives him to work even harder at his job. while he is a good man with a great team around him, he still has to deal with his wife who is depressed and never appreciates anything he does in looking for their son. In “Nowhere to Run” he has just come back from compassionate leave after his son went missing and then he is asked to look for another missing child. He is determined to find the missing teenager as he wants to make up for his guilt in the disappearance of his son. but despite his success, things are not so rosy at work and home. In the second novel of the series, the lead comes back to work and is winding up the case of the missing Rose Whitlock from the first novel. But then a strange fire kills a man and the authorities conclude it is accidental. But a closer look shows there may be a serial killer on the loose. In “No Way Home” the third novel of the series, Gayle has to resolve the mystery of a man found murdered in Exeter. There are tons of fingerprints in his car but there is hardly any physical evidence and the fact that he was a family man with hardly any enemies makes Gayle’s work almost impossible. But then another cabbie is found murdered and he thinks he may have another serial killer on his hands.

“Nowhere to Run” the debut novel of the “DS Peter Gayle” series opens to the lead on compassionate leave. He had been granted the leave because he was in grief over the disappearance of his son. Moreover, he had said that he wanted to try to find his son on his own. When he returns to work, he is assigned the case of a thirteen-year-old girl named Rosie Whitlock that had disappeared. She had been driven to school by her mother but had gone missing with the teachers saying she never got inside. Gayle feels a burden of resolving the case for the hurting parents as he thinks he could have done more to protect his son. He wants to make things right by finding Rosie, which he believes will salve his conscience. He is raring to go but his superiors think that maybe he needs more time off since he just lost his son. But he is not going to let them take the case away from him as he sees it a chance at redemption. They finally allow him to take the case but only on the condition that he will share his progress with another neutral officer. Things become interesting when his investigations indicate that there may be a serial kidnapper out there.

“No Place to Hide” the second novel of the “DS Peter Gayle” series opens to the lead deciding to take leave from work. But he is called back to work when a mysterious fire kills a man. His investigations initially suggest a freak fire but upon deeper inquiry, he believes that it could be arson and murder. Things will only get worse once he started to investigate and delve deeper into the case. As he is investigating, he learns that someone in the police force may be in cahoots with a drug dealer and is offering the criminals insider information. If he is to be successful, he needs the progress of the investigations to stay secret, even as he also has to locate and arrest the criminals injecting and addicting the homeless to drugs. But his wife is clinically depressed once again and he is under even more pressure to find Tommy his son. It is a compelling mystery that balances the intriguing mystery in the search for a serial killer and a missing child.

“No Way Home” the third novel of the “DS Peter Gayle” series is the story of a serial killer on the loose, a bizarre homicide, and a dead body. Gayle is investigating the case of a cabbie that got murdered in a dangerous part of Exeter. Unlike many murders in that part of town, this is a puzzling case as the driver had been an upstanding citizen with no ties to crime or any criminal record. Things are even more complicated by the fact that there is hardly any evidence on the scene except for hundreds of fingerprints in his car. This is one of the most complicated cases, Gayle has ever handled but it gets even better when he learns of another cabbie killed in a similar fashion, which makes him think that there could be a serial killer on the loose.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DS Pete Gayle

Leave a Reply