Book Notification

Dublin Murder Squad Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dublin Murder Squad Books

In the Woods (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Likeness (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faithful Place (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Harbour (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Place (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trespasser / Intrusion (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Set in the heart of Dublin is the Murder Squad; an elite unit working within the police-force to solve the cities most toughest crimes. Dark and moody, Tana French has created a gritty world filled with realistic stakes and consequences. Each novel operates as an intricate character study of those on the force, individually revolving around a different member of Dublin’s prestigious Murder Squad. Taking on different cases they must deal with their own feelings to their given investigations over the course of the novel. Whilst each book deals with a separate case, it allows the central investigator to offer their own unique take on the proceedings. What this then enables French to do is to tackle the Dublin crime scene from a variety of different angles. Given her background in acting as well, this allows her to go even further into the motivations and mindsets of her protagonists, providing this well-rounded and well-received series of novels.

Dublin Murder Squad: In The Woods

One night a young twelve year-old named Adam wanders into the woods with his two closest friends after a day out playing, but only Adam returns alone. Despite a search from the entire local community, they are never to be found again as they discover Adam by himself shivering from the cold. There are signs of a struggle nearby and it appears Adam has been in some sort of fight, but he’s too distraught to relate any of the events that took place, them having been wiped from his memory.

Moving forwards twenty years, Adam now goes by his middle name Rob, as he finds himself a detective on the infamous Dublin Murder Squad. Rob and his partner, Cassie Maddox, have been given the case of a murdered twelve year-old girl, Katy Devlin, which they have to solve. The difference with this case though, is the similarities it bares to Rob’s own traumatic past. Cassie knows this, as the two of them are extremely close yet not romantically involved, although many others believe they are.

At first it appears that Katy’s death is linked to the motorway protests that her father participated in, along with the possibility that there might have been a case of abuse happening within her family. It also soon transpires that there could be a physical link to Rob’s previous event in the form of a hair-clip found at the crime scene. The clip belonged to one of his friends.

It is then that Rob must try to remember what happened that night when he was lost in the woods. He undertakes a series of measures in which he tries to jog his memory, but it quickly starts to take its toll as he begins to suffer from nightmares and flashbacks. Meanwhile his relationship with Cassie begins to feel the strain as the two of them find difficulty maintaining their bond. Can they reform their broken bonds? Will a romance happen? What of the murder and Rob’s own traumatic past? Will they be able to solve the case whilst Rob manages to retain his sanity in the face of everything?

Dublin Murder Squad: The Likeness

Focusing this time on the protagonist Cassie Maddox and her case, this novel takes place six months after the previous one in the fallout of the events and a new investigation. Whilst she hopes to break away she’s pulled back in when the Detective Sam O’ Neill calls her back to investigate a murdered woman. The thing is, this case happens to be different due the victims appearance being similar to that of Cassies. That’s not the only thing though, as her ID tag found goes by the same name that Cassie used to use when she was operating undercover.

This provides Cassie with the perfect chance to go undercover in her place once again with the story that the killing never took place as the stab wounds weren’t found to be fatal. Cassie maybe reluctant to this idea initially, but it’s her boss Frank Mackey who eagerly pushes it all forwards. The appeal of going back undercover once more proves to be too strong though, as Cassie can potentially take up the role of the murdered graduate student. Over time this proves to be fraught with danger, as the role she undertakes is shrouded in secrets and lies, as she immerses herself into the world of one Lexie.

The house where the students reside has a feud that’s been going on for generations and, to add to that, Cassie is getting an emotional attachment to the case that might prove to be problematic. Frank notices this and starts to become concerned for her well-being as he realizes she could potentially jeopardize the entire case. Will they find out her true identity? Can she solve the case whilst keeping out of harm’s way? Just what is the truth behind this mysterious turn of events underway?

The Dublin Murder Squad Series

With talk of cinematic adaptations being considered, there’s a lot of mileage for this series still, as it continues to grow from strength-to-strength. Mystery and intrigue matched with moral dilemmas and grand overarching themes have proven to be a hugely winning formula for writer Tana French over the course of the Dublin Murder Squad series of novels. Largely considered to be one of the best crime novelists currently around, this shows no signs of abating anytime soon. Featured in respectable outlets such as NPR, this series has been analyzed in great detail as it has a lot to offer beyond the simple casual read.

The secret to these novels is that they focus not primarily on the events themselves, but what comes after them. Although on a superficial glance they may appear to simply be mystery novels, they offer a deeper insight into the human psyche that isn’t found elsewhere. It is this that has proven to be most captivating for readers as, whilst they are offered intrigue to keep them turning the pages, it is the thoughts and ideas that happen beyond them that keep them coming back for more and will continue to do so into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Dublin Murder Squad

Leave a Reply