Book Notification

Duncan M. Hamilton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alpha Protocol Books

The Alpha Protocol (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Officer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Privateer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Blood of Kings Books

Publication Order of Dragonslayer Books

Dragonslayer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knight of the Silver Circle (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Servant of the Crown (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Middle Sea Books

The Swordsman of Tanosa (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Blade of Ostia (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Society of the Sword Books

The Tattered Banner (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Huntsman's Amulet (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Telastrian Song (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Wolf of the North Books

The Wolf of the North (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jorundyr's Path (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blood Debt (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Frontier Lord (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer Party (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Duncan M. Hamilton writes fantasy short stories and novels set in worlds inspired by Renaissance Europe. He has a Masters Degree in History, and is quite interested in both the Medieval and Renaissance periods. Before he started writing full-time, he was a practicing barrister.

He does not live anywhere all that exotic, and when he is not writing, he enjoys activities such as: windsurfing, scuba diving, cycling, sailing, and skiing.

Hamilton writes the “Dragonslayer” series, the “Middle Sea” series, the “Wolf of the North” series, and the “Society of the Sword” series. His debut novel, “The Tattered Banner” was released in the year 2013.

“The Tattered Banner” was listed eighth on Buzzfeed’s 12 Greatest Fantasy Books of the year 2013.

“The Tattered Banner” is the first novel in the “Society of the Sword” series, which was released in the year 2013. Ability with a sword is prized above everything else, since magic is outlawed. For Soren, this means the chance to be able to live out his dreams. He is picked from a life of privation, and is given a coveted place at Ostenheim’s Academy of Swordsmanship. It is a chance beyond belief.

Opportunity is not always what it appears, though, and very rarely do gifts come without any conditions attached. Soren becomes a pawn in a game of treachery and intrigue that might just cost him not only his dreams, but his life, too.

There are some great turns and twists with some stellar characters. This one even makes a good choice for the ending, which is not an expected huge cliffhanger. Readers enjoyed this one so much that they are looking forward to checking out the next one in the series.

“The Hunstman’s Amulet” is the second novel in the “Society of the Sword” series, which was released in the year 2013. All alone in a foreign land, Soren has to come to terms with loss and a gift that has been just as much of a burden on him as a benefit.

There is a long abandoned city that might hold the answers he is looking for about the Gift of Grace, but a lethal assassin is proving that old foes do not forget about him so easily. Misfortune starts pulling him farther from the unsettled score, and he finds hope in a rather unexpected place.

Fans find Duncan to be a brilliant writer that is able to capture the attention of his readers and keep it the entire way through. His explanations are spot-on and the story’s feel is unique, as you are unsure what will happen next. Soren is a very likable character that is relateable and strong, with the same weaknesses and strengths that everyone has that make us human.

“The Telastrian Song” is the third novel in the “Society of the Sword” series, which was released in the year 2014. A remote farm and some meager crops are a far cry from the life of a banneret and from Ostenheim, just not far enough. If Soren is to be free of Amero, there is only one thing he can do. In Ostenheim, Duke Amero is presiding over a war-weary population and is scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of a treasury, yet he still hungers to have more.

An Intelligencier discovers the disturbing uptick in sorcery inside the city, while there is an avaricious colleague who eyes the chance to prove his own worth to the Duke. Enemies and allies start to emerge from rather unexpected places, while Soren has to face off against his old patron and idol during a final reckoning.

The book is a compelling read that has you gripped the entire way through starting on the first page. Everything comes around full circle by the end for a satisfying yet sad conclusion to a strong trilogy. The world building and overall writing in this was quite excellent. Some were very surprised by how this one turned out, and enjoyed every bit of it.

“The Wolf of the North” is the first novel in the “Wolf of the North” series, which was released in the year 2016. It has been generations since the Northlands have seen a hero that proved worthy of the title. Many made the claim, but there have been few to live to defend it. Bullied, weak, and timid, Wulfric is as unlikely a candidate as could be.

A chance encounter with an ancient and mysterious object awakens some latent gift, and Wulfric’s life changes its course. Against a backdrop of tragedy, war, and an enemy whose hatred for him knows zero bounds. Wulfric is going to be forged from just a young boy into the Wolf of the North. This is his story.

Fans of the book enjoyed just how the novel was told, with a storyteller telling the reader the entire story. The author writes with a strong voice and he does an excellent job of pulling you right into his story. This fantastic novel kicks off an outstanding series of novels.

“Jorundyr’s Path” is the second novel in the “Wolf of the North” series, which was released in the year 2017. Only the brave walk down Jorundyr’s Path. It is just survived by the strongest. While Wulfric chases down Adalhaid’s Blood Debt, he quickly learns the path to revenge is never an easy one, and men’s desires and gods’ wills rarely meet up.

Aethelman wants answers to questions that have long been ignored. Rodulf pursues wealth and power. From the dry plains of Darvaros to the streets of Elzburg, Wulfric walks down Jorundyr’s Path and finds a much larger world that he could ever dream of. One filled with enemies, friends, and danger, the crucible from which heroes become forged from.

Some found this to be just as good as the first book, and throws you right into the action right from the very start. The characters get developed further and there is a ton of gripping action and a plot that has multiple twists going on.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Duncan M. Hamilton

4 Responses to “Duncan M. Hamilton”

  1. Leo: 6 months ago

    Will there be a sequel to the frontier lord, great book great story, hoping for more

  2. Bryant: 1 year ago

    I was hoping that you would give more of a back story on the gifts that Soren had. And what lead to him having it.along with the war that lead to the banning of magical how they turned against the sorcerers. I love the trilogies you have writen.

  3. Rudy: 2 years ago

    Hi Duncan,

    I’ve read your Society of the Sword Trilogy a few years back, and I’ve fell in love with the world you’ve created!

  4. Deborah: 2 years ago

    Blood of Kings book 3. When will it be available? You’ve got me hooked.


Leave a Reply