Book Notification

Dwight Holing Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack McCoul Caper Books

Publication Order of Nick Drake Books

The Sorrow Hand (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pity Heart (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shaming Eyes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whisper Soul (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nowhere Bones (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forever Feet (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demon Skin (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Blood (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hard Blue Empty (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

California Works (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Over Our Heads Under Our Feet (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dwight Holing
Dwight Holing writes and lives in California with his wife, their son, daughter and two dogs that are more interested in swimming than they are walking.

Dwight’s debut novel was released in the year 2014, when “A Boatload” was published. He writes the “Jack McCoul Caper” series and the “Nick Drake” series, as well as some award winning short fiction collections. These collections have won awards like the Arts and Letters Prize for Fiction. He has edited and written many nonfiction books on subjects, such as: conservation and nature travel.

“A Boatload” is the first novel in the “Jack McCoul Caper” series, which was released in the year 2014. Jack McCoul is a master con artist. Trouble is, none of his special skills are actually legal. It is a good thing, then, that he uses all of them to catch killers.

Jack McCoul has vowed to give up his life of crime after he marries a sustainable-minded and sexy fitness instructor. His new brother-in-law pulls a heist off, McCoul and his new bride get pulled into the middle of the lethal fight over stolen computer chips. He has to resort to his former ways and pull off the best con game of his life to catch the killers and keep from being sent to death row or getting killed.

These characters are delicious, the local color is dead on, and the plot is tightly wound. The book is tons of fun with quite a bit of action, humor, and suspense. Dwight Holing created a very cool character in Jack, and he winds up being a character you cannot help but root for.

“Bad Karma” is the second novel in the “Jack McCoul Caper” series, which was released in the year 2015. Jack has traveled all over the world running his elaborate swindles. Now, he is trying to go straight after settling down. Problem is, dead bodies and a homicide cop with a grudge continue to get in his way.

McCoul is trying to cash in on some high-tech start-up right as his past comes roaring back. An old partner-in-crime’s plan to snatch some priceless statue from a venture-capital mogul pulls McCoul into a murder mystery. There is a sexy suspect’s life that also hangs in the balance. Hired killers come for him, McCoul has to resort to the old things he knows best in order to turn the tables on them. He puts together a gang just as quirky as San Francisco itself, and the game has begun.

This one keeps the plot turning and is loaded with some dishy one liners. It has some relatable characters and an engrossing story that you just want to continue reading. This is a story that continues to make you guess at what will happen next with each chapter.

“Baby Blue” is the third novel in the “Jack McCoul Caper” series, which was released in the year 2016. El Nino brings with him more than just some long-awaited rain to San Francisco. An old flame shows up on Jack’s doorstep with trouble not that far behind. Sparks start to fly and a storm of double cross and murder force Jack right back into the game in order to keep those he loves safe from a dangerous swindler. All while he cracks the secret of a missing kid. This time around Jack plays for keeps.

This book is a great ride, with some beautifully drawn and fantastic characters and some superb writing. There are quite a few turns and twists that keep your attention. In each of these books, San Francisco is brought to life in such a way that it winds up being its own character, too.

“The Sorrow Hand” is the first novel in the “Nick Drake” series, which was released in the year 2018. The war at home is proving to be just as lethal for Nick Drake, a Vietnam vet turned wildlife ranger.

Harney County, Oregon in the year 1968. Nick has got a chest full of medals as well as enough demons to fill up a duffel bag. He was trained to kill, but never retrained again to be able to rejoin society. Drake goes to the lonesome high desert to find some redemption and gets a job patrolling the wildlife refuges. The only conflicts here are making sure the stray cows stay out and giving tickets to poachers. Then he finds a girl’s body that was ritually placed in the gully.

Her murder is just the start, and Drake has to confront humanity’s heart of darkness once more if he is going to stop a killer from turning more gullies into graves.

Nick Drake is a complex character and readers were able to invest in the story right from the first page. His back story in Vietnam is horrifically and beautifully described, done in a layered, real, visceral, and emotional way. Even the time and setting were well used and readers enjoyed being taken back to this period.

“The Pity Heart” is the second novel in the “Nick Drake” series, which was released in the year 2019. The year is 1968. Nick Drake is a troubled veteran of the Vietnam war that is looking for some redemption while working as a game warden in a quiet land. Fighter pilot from an Air Force base close by mysteriously plummets onto one Nick’s refugees, he winds up getting plunged into a lethal showdown against the military.

A vexing mystery that involves more than one murder follows and nick has to turn to the former ways of his Paiute neighbors to search for a brutal killer and get justice to the pitiless high desert.

This book allows the reader a good chance to get to know Nick even better than before, especially since he is more developed and well rounded this time out. Even with the Native American mysticism and folklore and philosophy, there is still enough action to keep Pudge and Nick on their toes so that the readers will continue to turn the pages.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dwight Holing

One Response to “Dwight Holing”

  1. Jane Mello: 12 months ago

    I love your Nick Drake novels. I’ve read all seven. Will there be another one coming soon? I am homebound, and reading is my passion. Your books are so enjoyable. Please keep them coming.


Leave a Reply