Book Notification

E.A. Aymar Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dead Trilogy Books

I'll Sleep When You're Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
You're As Good As Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Unrepentant (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Home for Killers (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
When She Left (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Search for Eric Garcia (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Noir at the Salad Bar: Culinary Tales with a Bite(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swamp Killers(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writers Crushing COVID-19(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

E.A. Aymar is a bestselling and award-winning fiction author that is best known for the 2019 novel “The Unrepentant.” However, this was not Aymar’s first rodeo as before then he had made his debut when he published “I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead” the first novel of the “Dead Trilogy” series of novels.

Since then, he has published several novels and now has at least a dozen works to his name including a collection of short fiction and several single-standing novels. Over the years, his works have received rave reviews from the likes of Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, and the South Florida Sun-Sentinel.

In addition to his fiction works, Aymar also works for the Washington Independent Review of Books where he writes the monthly column titled “Decisions and Revisions.” The city of Washington DC has also employed the author to run the “Noir at the Bar” series.
He is a former member of the International Thriller Writers national board and for years, was the managing editor for an online resource for aspiring and debut authors known as “The Thrill Begins.”

Other organizations he is active in include Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and Crime Writers of Color. He has spoken and hosted a variety of crime fiction publishing and writing events across the United States.

E.A. Aymar was born in Panama and most of his family lives there, even if he ultimately moved to Washington DC in the United States. He thus spent much of his early childhood and his early adulthood years shuttling to and from the country so that he could have experiences from his homeland.

Nonetheless, Panama does not feature much in his writing, instead, it is the experience of being a minority or of mixed race that is more prominent in his novels. He has said that due to his mixed-race status, he always found himself barely inside or just outside racial or social circles.

It is this relationship that usually provides him with a good understanding of people that he uses in his writing. Since he has for the longest time been unable to find a belonging somewhere and often felt isolated, things have changed since there are now many more racial couples around and particularly in the United States.

Nonetheless, he could never completely shake the outsider status and this continues to inform many of his characters. Sometimes this is not even conscious, even though it provides some deep insights into what life is like for an outsider or someone that feels like one.

Like many authors, E.A. Aymar had always desired to pursue a life of writing even though he did not start writing seriously until graduation from college in 1997. But it would take more than fifteen years before he became a published author.
Aymar’s very first unpublished manuscript was completed in 2003 and she penned many other insignificant ones before the publishing of “I’ll Sleep When You’re are Dead” in 2013.

During this time when he was trying to become a published author, he lived what was basically a cave life. E.A. Aymar used to come home from his 9-5 job and then spent much of his evening sometimes up to eleven o’clock at night writing.
Having just left college, he was working a temp job as that was the only thing available even if it made him miserable. It was an unfulfilling and mundane job that robbed him of his happiness and he thus found his escape in writing his novels and hoping to one day become a published author.

Writing was an unintentional hobby that took him to an emotional place and he just could not stop doing it even if it took a long time before he found success. While there were hardly any resources at this time, he is grateful that he persevered and ultimately became a published author.

E.A. Aymar’s novel “I’ll Sleep When You Are Dead” introduces Tom Starks a man that lost his wife about three years. With his wife gone, he had struggled all alone trying to raise Julie their daughter, even as he is haunted by the many memories he had of his dead wife.
When he discovered that Chris Taylor the man that had been accused of her murder had been released he is determined to get his revenge and hires two hitmen to take him out. Unfortunately, the two men botch the job and Tom finds himself unexpectedly sucked into their violent world.

Now, these hitmen are after him and Julie his daughter. Tom is not your typical thriller character as he tends to be a simpering, weekend bookish character. He is afraid of his brother-in-law that is a former boxer but he was madly in love with his wife, which is what drives his feelings for revenge.

Overall, this is a great thriller with unique plot twists and a flawed anti-hero as a led that you cannot help but root for.

E.A. Aymar’s novel “You’re As Good as Dead” continues to follow the life and times of Tom Starks. He believed he had managed to escape the violence he started about three years earlier when he hired a pair of hitmen to kill the man who had killed his wife only to find himself in a very difficult situation.

He now finds himself caught between two mafia factions who are fighting over turf in Baltimore. Since he had been a witness to a shooting the mobsters believe he is a loose end that needs to be taken out.

This is the time when two FBI agents come along and force him to tell on the mobsters which he does in the hope that it would protect Julie his rebellious daughter. Stark finds himself in the middle of a bizarre assortment of dangerous people including Switch and Lucy who are twin assassin sisters.

He does not know who he can trust and things only get worse as the weeks roll by. He also needs to conceal how much he is involved with the FBI if he is to survive.

The work continues in the same self-deprecating and grimly funny voice making for an interesting story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats from the first page to the last.

Book Series In Order » Authors » E.A. Aymar

Leave a Reply