Book Notification

E.E. Knight Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Age of Fire Books

Publication Order of Dragoneer Academy Books

Novice Dragoneer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daughter of the Serpentine (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lara Croft: Tomb Raider Books

Tomb Raider Tech Manual (By: Michael Jan Friedman) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Amulet of Power (By: Mike Resnick) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Cult (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man of Bronze (By: James Alan Gardner) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vampire Earth Books

Way of the Wolf (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Choice of the Cat (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tale of the Thunderbolt (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentine's Rising (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentine's Exile (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentine's Resolve (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fall with Honor (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Duty (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
March in Country (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Appalachian Overthrow (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baltic Gambit (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Return of the Sword(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

E.E. Knight
E.E. Knight is the pseudonym for American fantasy and science fiction author Eric Frisch. He was born in La Crosse, Wisconsin, and spent his childhood in Stillwater, Minnesota, and currently lives in Oak Park, Illinois, with his family. Knight is best known for his Vampire Earth, a series of fantasy books. The first book in the way of the Wolf series won the Darrell and Compton Crook Awards in 2004. In 2007, the fifth book in the Vampire Earth series, Valentine’s Exile, was picked for Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame.

Way of the Wolf
Way of the Wolf is the debut novel in the Vampire Earth series. The story stars Lieutenant David Valentine, a man who is on a revenge mission. It is 2065, and the Kurians have been in power for 43 years. These bloodthirsty creatures have been on a rampage for far too long, and the devastation they leave in their wake is becoming unbearable. David is looking to get revenge for his fellow soldiers and his parents, who were killed by the Kurian Reapers. David intends to fight back western style.

David Valentine is brought up by a priest when he loses his parents at the age of 11. He is later recruited into a resistance when he turns 16. David will, at some point, fall in love with a girl and work to rescue her from a city controlled by Kurians. He will also go through devastating losses, but in the end, he makes quite a mark in fighting the aliens threatening to eradicate the human race.

The Kurians are aliens who are capable of extending their lives by feeding on human auras. To make aura harvesting easy, the Kurians have genetically modified human beings into a race known as Reapers. The Reapers drink human blood and suck their souls out of them. Under the reapers are Grogs that are intelligent apes. While humans develop all kinds of solutions to curb the aliens’ invasion, the Kurians are always a step ahead. Their plans seem not to be working as the Kurians have become very powerful. They have also been setting up nuclear and environmental disasters that devastate the real estate.
A good number of human survivors have given up. They see that the situation is hopeless and have to join the enemy. Kurians promise humans protection from the Reapers who are out to kill them. Those who join the aliens are sure that they will not get randomly eaten even when they are found outside past the curfew hours. All is not gloom as other aliens have volunteered to grant humans special powers. With these powers, the humans can mimic earth creatures such as cats, wolves, and bears and avoid being eaten when the vampire-like Reapers strike.

Way of the Wolf is an intriguing story featuring ordinary people, bloodthirsty aliens, and genetically engineered beings at the mercy of their owners. The tale comes with a lot of adventure, some light romance, a strong military theme. This book marks the beginning of a journey that will take the reader through a world ruled by aliens and human survivors who are getting frustrated by the day. If you are looking for a science fiction piece that will blow your mind, this book is ideal. Thanks to the relentless pace, you will have a hard time putting it down even for a second once you start reading.

Dragon Champion
Dragon Champion is the first book in the Age of Fire series. The book stars Auron, a rare scaleless dragon. Auron was born in a cave high in the mountain. It is in this cave that he witnesses his parents being slaughtered by a band of dwarves. Fortunately, Auron escapes unhurt and is the only hope that his kind will survive. Auron knows about all the dangers that surround him. There are dwarves, humans, and elves who hunt him relentlessly. The young dragon is always looking behind his shoulders as his safety is never guaranteed. Just when life is getting unbearable, Auron meets a friend in a doubtful place.

Auron is smarter than the average human, and his ability to communicate with dolphins and wolves, among other animals, puts him at an advantage. Away from the constant need to run away from those who want to kill him, Auron has other issues to deal with. For example, as he grows older, he is getting urges, and to some extent, he realizes what is happening. What is disturbing is that at times, even human women smell enticing to him. Thanks to telepathy, Auron has memories of dragons without mates capturing and playing with human females and then killing and eating them afterward. In a moment of weakness, he pursues someone but later comes to his senses.

Dragon Champion sets the pace for the intriguing story that chronicles the adventures of the scales less gray dragon. The story is an adrenaline-packed blend of horror and science fiction. In a world where an ongoing war between alien invaders and humans exits, both parties have to learn to survive. Auron has to make alliances with unlikely beings and also fight his demons to avoid getting himself into trouble.

While Auron is the hero in this story, he comes with his fair share of weaknesses, which makes him easy to relate with. Even though he errs, he does not stop doing everything possible to live right. There are also many interesting characters in the story that Auron interacts with throughout the story. The young dragon makes friends and foes alike, but his intelligence and gentle nature make him escape the many traps that are set in his path.

The novel is a coming of age story that is perfect for young adults. Some of the themes the author captures include prejudice, slavery, and the benefits of learning. There is also an element of love and lust delivered in the form of a lesson. The lesson is handled appropriately to ensure that it is friendly to the youngest of kids. From the story, readers will get to meet a hero who struggles with personal issues but rectify his ways before things get out of hand. The story flows well, and the different themes work great with the target audience.

Book Series In Order » Authors » E.E. Knight

Leave a Reply