Book Notification

E. Lockhart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ruby Oliver Books

The Boyfriend List (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Book (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Treasure Map of Boys (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Real Live Boyfriends (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of We Were Liars Books

We Were Liars (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family of Liars (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fly on the Wall (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dramarama (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Be Bad (With: Lauren Myracle,Sarah Mlynowski) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Genuine Fraud (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Again Again (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Not Like I'm Jealous or Anything(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emily Jenkins is an American author of children’s books. Lockhart was born in the year 1967 and many at times she uses her pen name, E. Lockhart. Lockhart is widely known for the Ruby Oliver Quartet, with the first novel being Boyfriend List. Jenkins was born and raised in Cambridge, before relocating to Massachusetts, then finally to Washington. Lockhart attended the summer drama schools at the North-western University, in high school as well as Minneapolis Children’s drama school. After completing her high school education, E. Lockhart attended Vassar College, where she had the opportunity of interviewing Barry Moses, for her senior thesis. While at the college, E. Lockhart also studied illustrated books as well. Eventually, she joined Colombia University where she was awarded a doctorate in English literature. Currently, E. Lockhart resides in New York City area.

By using her pen name of E. Lockhart, Jenkins has penned several young adult novels. Jenkins decided to use the name Lockhart because it was her mother’s family name. Random House Dell published the Boyfriend List, Jenkins debut novel in the year 2005. Lockhart then went ahead and published three other books, The Treasure Map of Boys, The Boy Book, and Real Live Boyfriends. These four novels are collectively known as Ruby Oliver novels, after the protagonist. The Disreputable History of Frankie emerged as a finalist for the National Book Awards as well as the Michael L. Printz Award. The novel, We Were Liars emerged a finalist during the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize. Using her real names, Emily Jenkins has collaborated with several illustrators to create several children’s picture books.

E. Lockhart Best Books

We Were Liars

In We Were Liars, author E. Lockhart introduces the readers to The Sinclair, an extremely old Rich family that resides off the coast of Massachusetts, on a private island. The Sinclairs are not only rich but also athletic and extremely beautiful. The family is more than determined to make it apparently clear that they are not criminals, failures or drug addicts as well. Furthermore, they do all they can to ensure that all their problems are hidden from the public, and everyone within the family loves one another. However, all these are lies, and the Sinclairs have successfully managed to build personas, both private and public. The family does not want to talk or associate themselves with anything that is sad. The rulers of the family are the patriarch. The three daughters are hopefully one day; they are going to inherit the fortune.

Everyone, including the Sinclairs, wants to believe that they are perfect. The oldest grandchildren are the liars. They include Cady, Mirren her cousin and Johnny. Another character that we get to meet is Gat, who happens to be an outsider and the nephew of the boyfriend to the aunt. He also is the guy that Cady gets to fall in love with. The readers never get the chance of knowing why these four are referred to as the Liars. The narrative is narrated by Cady, a seventeen-year-old girl. Cady got amnesia after an extremely terrible accident when she was only fifteen years of age. The accident changed her life completely. Her attempt to recall what happened before the accident is what drives most of the story when Cady returns to the private island after being away for quite some time. There are numerous meandering moments that she gets to think about the long-time summers of her idyllic childhood as well as her family.

We Were Liars is soaked in privilege. Despite the fact that a majority of the readers are not going to care about a narrative where a majority of these incredibly beautiful and wealthy characters are going to sit down complaining about how extremely hard, their lives are, while eating posh foods, drinking expensive wines that are usually served by their invisible help. Nonetheless, We Were Liars is a book that looks at the impossible lifestyle, which displays how insulated and isolated from the world this family was.

We Were Liar is a narrative that revolves around four teenagers. The teenagers spend their summers on Beechwood Island, a private island, which is owned by the wealthy Sinclair family. Cadence is the oldest granddaughter of Mr. Sinclair and a favorite to the grandfather. Together with her cousins, Sinclair has spent several summers on the island, taking privilege for granted as well as getting into trouble. One fine summer, Cadence’s aunt decides to bring her boyfriend as well as his nephew. Gat has recently lost his father. Thus his uncle decided that he was going to take care of him. Despite the obvious difference in financial standing and race, Gat eventually manages to become good friends with the Sinclairs. Together with Cadence and her cousins, they eventually become known as the four liars.

Gat and Cadence eventually become great inseparable. Gat not only makes Cadence think about the wrongs of the world but also her life as well. Gat also manages to bring depth into her pampered life, and in the process prompting discussions such as social standing and race. However, it does not take long before Cadence suffers a fatal accident, which nearly claims her life. Fortunately, for her, the doctors manage to save her life. Nonetheless, the accident left her life changed forever. The accident also took a toll on their relationship; it appeared as if, Gat had abandoned Cadence, at a time she needed him the most. After disappearing from the island for quite some time, Cadence finally decides to head back to the island. This is one of the many steps, which she has to make towards recovery.

Overall, We Were Liars is a great read. Despite the fact that there are moments when the narrative can get a little bit slow, the reader will undoubtedly get himself enjoying this novel. We Were Liars, is a cautionary tale that warns the readers about hypocrisy, racism, and greed as well. The narrative has been carefully constructed towards its earth-shattering ending. Just like the plot, the storyline is quite effective, which has been brilliantly narrated by Candace. The manner in which her summers with her cousins have been described is quite palpable.

Book Series In Order » Authors » E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply