Book Notification

Eden Robinson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Trickster Books

Son of a Trickster (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trickster Drift (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Trickster (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Henry Kreisel Memorial Lecture Books

Sasquatch at Home (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Imagining Ancient Women (By: Annabel Lyon) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Notebooks(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lighting the Eighth Fire: The Liberation, Resurgence, and Protection of Indigenous Nations(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walking the Clouds(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Canadian Writers in Context(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eden Robinson is one of the noteworthy authors from Canada, who likes to write books based on the literature & fiction genre, specifically the literature related to Native America. She has written several standalone books in her short writing career, which have helped her to grow as a writer. Author Eden hails from Haisla, British Columbia, Canada. She was born on January 19, 1968, as Eden Victoria Lena Robinson. Her birth place is Kitamaat, British Columbia, but now she is associated with the First Nations of Heiltsuk and Haisla. Author Eden has a sister named Carla Robinson, who works as a TV journalist for the CBC Newsworld. Eden received her education from the universities of Victoria and British Columbia. The first book written by author Eden was written as a collection of 4 short stories. It was published in 1995 as Traplines. The narrators of this book are youngsters who recount their haunting tales about the disturbing relationships they had with psychopaths and sociopaths.

This short story collection went on to win the Winifred Hiltby Prize in Britain in the category of the best regional written work from a Commonwealth writer. A story in the collection, Queen of North, was also released in an anthology in Canada. One of the other short stories written by Eden is titled as Terminal Avenue, which is not included in the Traplines collection. It was released in the anthology of the post-colonial fantasy and science fiction. Author Eden’s second book is known as Monkey Beach. Released in the year 2000, this novel is set in the Kitamaat territory. It describes the search of a teenage girl for answers related to the disappearance of her brother at sea. The girl tries to understand the situation in which her brother went missing. The story seems to tell more about the experiences of growing up on a reserve in Haisla. Author Eden has written the book as both a spiritual journey and a mystery. It appears to combine the elements of Haisla mysticism with contemporary realism. The book was included in the list of nominated books for the prestigious Scotiabank Giller Award as well as the Literary Award by the Governor General. It went on to win the Ethel Wilson Prize. In her 3rd book, author Eden has depicted once again the urban terrain and the characters from one of the novellas of Traplines. In 2016, author Eden was awarded with the Engel/Findley Award from the Writers’ Trust for her excellent body work in her books. She says that she has always been inspired the popular works of authors Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King.

One of the earliest books written by Eden Robinson is entitled ‘Monkey Beach’. It was released by the Mariner Books publication in the year 2002. At the beginning of the book, author Eden has stated that Kitamaat is located around 500 miles to Vancouver’s northern region. It is a reservation of Indian Haisla people, who consider it to be their homeland. In this area lives the main character of the book named Lisamarie. She grew up as a tough and wild tomboy, fighting, fishing, and swimming in a remote village in Kitamaat. Right from her childhood, Lisamarie had been different from the others. She seems to be visited by shapeshifters and ghosts, as well as tormented by the premonitions. Lisamarie is able to take her mind off from the feeling that some terrible thing is going to happen to her. As Lisamarie journeys through the waters of the upstream Douglas Channel in her speed-boat, she remembers her enchanted life with scarred feelings. Lisamarie seems to be searching her lost brother, who is believed to have died due to drowning. By doing so, she herself seems rushing towards danger as the Douglas Channel is considered very dangerous. It is as good as taking the greatest risk of life if one decides to go through it. But, Lisamarie does not care about her life. The only thing that she seems worried about is finding her brother’s dead body. Surrounding the tragic dead of her brother are the other remarkable characters of the story, which make up Lisamarie’s family. They include her parents, who find it very difficult to merge their heritage of Haisla with the Western ways. Then there is Uncle Mick, an activist for Native rights and a devoted fan of Elvis. The other important character is a headstrong Ma-ma-oo or the grandmother, who is the guardian of the tradition. On the whole, the book appears to be funny, vividly poignant, and haunting. It gives a high scope to the ability for author Eden in describing the dark sides of life through comedy. The story is well written wit lush wilderness and colorful characters showing humanity. Overall, it is a touching story about the pains of growing old, childhood, and family grief, as well as redemption.

Another popular book that author Eden wrote in her career is titled as ‘Blood Sports’. It was released in 2007 by the Emblem Editions publication. Many critics believe that this book is the most disturbing, addictive, and satisfying book of author Eden. She has described a gritty and tough story involving a cat and mouse chase between a couple of cousins. It is set in the Downtown Eastern Side of Vancouver. The story revolves around the central characters named Tom, Paulie, and Jeremy. At the start of the novel, Tom is introduced as a hardly innocent young man, who seems to have been caught, for the past many years, in the world of Jeremy, which includes extortion, prostitution, and drugs. Jeremy, who is vindictive and vicious either uses Tom or protects him, but has his control over him all the time. Tom has a girlfriend in the form of Paulie, who is also indulged with Tom in his activities. She is also Tom’s daughter’s mother. The situation takes an ugly turn when people begin to talk that Tom has been passing information to police officers about the illegal activities. Due to this, the Paulie and Tom become pawns in an apparently large game. They have their everything at stake. Just like her previous books, author Eden has tried to make this novel look riveting too with the help of engrossing characterizations and storytelling skill.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eden Robinson

Leave a Reply