Book Notification

Edisto Island Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Edisto Island Mysteries Books

Murder on Edisto (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Jinx (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of Edisto (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Stranger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying on Edisto (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Tidings (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion on Edisto (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Heat (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Badge of Edisto (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edisto Bullet (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Edisto (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Edisto Island Mysteries Series
The Edisto Island Mysteries is a fiction series by C. Hope Clark. This series follows Callie Jean Morgan, a former Boston detective dealing with demons from her past and a small island town with its fair share of drama. The author lets bit and pieces of Callie’s past in every book as she deals with different murders in the small beach town she now calls home. Callie is a lovable character, and it is fun following her through her adventures and witnessing as she overcomes her struggles. This series also introduces a wide cast, and there are many characters you will love to hate and others you will hate the first time you meet them. Overall, this is an exciting series characterized by a remarkable heroine, a beautiful setting, and some southern charm.

Murder on Edisto
Murder on Edisto is the first book in The Edisto Island Mysteries. The book stars Callie Jean Morgan, a Boston detective looking for a safe refuge in South Carolina. Callie has just lost her husband to the Russian mob. As she grieves her loss and also works to protect her son, Jeb, Callie decides to move to the family’s cottage where life is easy and peaceful. However, this is not what she finds back home. On the day Callie sets foot in Edisto Beach, she discovers that her elderly neighbor and childhood mentor has just been murdered. The killer goes ahead to taunt her by repeatedly violating her home.
The town’s police chief requests Callie to stay away from the investigation, but this big city detective cannot help herself. Callie wants to find out why the killer is so focused on her. After all the losses she has endured in the past, Callie will not sit back and wait for the worst, and her son fully supports her. She also cannot ignore that the killer is turning the once quiet paradise into an unsafe place. Soon Callie plunges deep into detective work in pursuit of a sinister killer she will discover tied to her past. Callie will ruffle some few feathers along the way, but she will also gain some important allies. Will she manage to catch the killer before more damage is done? What is it that the killer wants from Callie?

This story combines hunky men, the beach, which any southern mystery fan will find irresistible. These, in addition to the great storyline and flawless narration, turn this book into a page-turner. All characters are easy to love, and you cannot help but wish Callie the best in her endeavors. The plot will keep you guessing to the end, and it is lovely how the dialogue is all fun and lively. Clark’s writing style is perfect for this type of story, and the idyllic South Carolina island setting is so well described it will feel like you are right there with Callie, chasing the bad guys.

Murder on Edisto is an entertaining read. The action is nonstop, the characters lovable, and rising tension will keep you glued to the pages. Callie is easy to identify with, and despite her flaws, you can’t help but love her. It is admirable how she rises above her sorrow and shows up when duty calls. Clark has in-depth knowledge of the southern culture, and this, combined with her mastery of dialogue, sets this book apart. If you are lokking for a well-crafted captivating read, this book will not disappoint you.

Edisto Jinx
Edisto Jinx is the second book in The Edisto Island Mysteries series. Once again, Ex Boston detective Callie brings her A-game. The book starts with an island get-together. A local realtor is hosting the party with the hope of getting new clients. What begins as a happy event turns tragic when Callie’s new-found friend, Brea Jamison, is murdered. While Sophie, the psychic, feels this is a normal death since Edisto Island becomes the center of troublemaking spirits in august, Callie thinks that this small town could be dealing with a serial killer. Coincidences are not normal in nature, and there is no way she can accept that a jinx causes a beautiful woman to die on the island every August.

No one seems to believe Callie even though she helped resolve a murder in the past. The fact that August falls square in the middle of the busy tourist season means that Callie will have to confront angry hoteliers. These business owners do not want to talk about a serial killer scaring their guests away. There are also the nosy neighbors who have been peddling all kinds of lies about her in addition to her struggles. Despite all the odds against her, Callie sets to find out whether Brea is the sixth victim of this notorious killer.

Months after settling back in Edisto Beach, Callie is still struggling and working hard to find herself. The fact that she now has to deal with a serial killer weighs heavily on her. Is it true that this killing was the work of a restless spirit, or should Callie trust her instincts? Callie is determined to uncover the truth, and it doesn’t take long for the killers to turn their focus on her. Once things pick, the tension doesn’t ease up until the last page. Callie will be mostly working alone, but the local police chief will help now and then. So, who is this serial killer who has been tormenting Edisto town for the past five years?

The author has done an excellent job of vividly describing the scene in this book. You will feel the sea breezes, the heat, and the blackness on the night Callie confronts the villain. The characters come with just the right dose of flaws, so they sound realistic. Edisto Jinx is characterized by interesting characters, rich settings, and unexpected twists. The pace escalates as the story progresses, and you will find yourself turning the pages to see what happens next. You may need to clear your afternoon if you are keen to read this book. Once you open the first page, there will be no stopping until you have read it to the end.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Edisto Island Mystery

Leave a Reply