Book Notification

Edna Davies Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Edna Davies Books

Murder by Yew (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Proxy (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Mishap (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Christmas (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Arrangement (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Decay (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Stealth (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Suzanne Young is a New York Times Best Selling author, who is widely known for The Program, The Treatment and numerous novels. Currently, Suzanne resides in Tempe, Arizona, where she not only obsesses about books but she also teaches English.

Edna Davies Mystery Series

Murder by Yew is an excellent debut from Suzanne Young. This novel possess all the elements that make any story great; great foreshadowing, a great sense of mystery and subtle clues throughout the storyline. The book’s protagonist, Edna Davies is a contemporary Miss Marple, who incorporates the fine art of investigation with determination and class. When Edna Davies and her husband, Albert decide to take an early retirement, they decided to search for the ultimate property that they would make great use of during their golden years. They eventually find a cottage on a three acre piece of land within their home town of Rhode Island. Edna an amateur herbalist and an artist falls in love with their new property, together with its wide array of exotic plants and trees, which are not commonly grown in search a cold climate.

Edna begins to read which the previous owner of the property, Mrs. Hazel Rabicheck, wrote. She eventually got to learn that the previous owner had planted lethal plants in her garden within the accepted levels which she used to make her healing recipes. Edna decided to experiment on those recipes, and brew herbal tea for her own use and also for her friends. When, the local police place Tom her handyman died due to poisoning, Edna under investigation. She immediately decides to l aunch her own investigation so as to find the exact cause of death and also to get rid of the suspicion which had befallen her. To Add more to Edna’s distress, Albert has to attend a medical conference, thus she leaves Edna for the very first time ever since they got married.

Furthermore, there has been a number of house breakings with the town, thus Edna has more to worry about. With that said, all the characters in this novel have been well developed. Mary, who is a native to the area is one of Edna’s closest neighbors and friend. She has more information about the neighborhood, than anyone else. Dee is a newcomer to the town and has an extremely mysterious past. She is more than determined to be accepted by the local garden club members. From time to time, she tries to push a friendship towards an unwilling Edna. Tom is a good-natured handyman and also a hero to the 5 year old Danny, his grandson. He is also a native of the area and posses a vast amount of knowledge about the past inhabitants of the town.

When it comes to Tom’s murder, Edna has plenty of suspects in mind. She uses the knowledge that she has concerning herbal medicine and art to get to the bottom of the issue. Murder By Proxy is the second book in this series, which features the exceedingly loveable and intrusive Edna Davis, whose inquisitive nature has always landed her into trouble. Suspense and suspicion has always surrounded her with every turn that she makes. This time around, Edna Davis, takes the reader on an exhilarating quest to find the killer. This time around is within the wonderful Rocky Mountains of Colorado. Just like the first installment, this novel is equally engaging. The author, Suzanne Young is exceedingly natural at keeping the reader guessing and she manages to do quite an excellent job to the very end.

In this book, Edna Davis travels to Colorado, a region where her youngest son and her daughter in law live. Once again, Edna finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation, though this time around she is not the main suspect. When Edna Davis is approached by one Earnie, who is a private investigator working on the case. The PI asks Edna Davis to assist him find a colleague who had been missing and also happens to be Grant’s friend. Grant approaches Edna and ask her to stay away from the case, however it is Edna’s nature, thus she just cannot resist the urge. The author does an excellent job in keeping the reader guessing right from the first page. With several suspects, each of them having so many secrets, and several skeletons in their closet, the author manages to create a highly entertaining plot, which is not exceedingly easy to stop reading.

All the characters in this book are not only believable but also well rounded. Edna is exceedingly endearing and curious as well, thus explaining why she usually finds herself dangerous and compromising situations. You will definitely be impressed by Edna Davies’s sheer loyalness for her devotion and cleverness is finding the truth. She is definitely the type of grandmother who you may want to keep by your side. Murder By Christmas is also another excellent read in the Edna Davies book series. In this book amateur detective, Edna Davies is on another mysterious chase to get to the bottom of a murder case. The book begins as Christmas is quickly approaching and Edna’s entire family is finally heading home for Christmas. This time around Edna has several things and people who are competing for both her attention and her time, especially since her husband is now covered in a full cast after a bad fall.

The very last thing that Edna needs this time around is a mystery to solve. The author introduces the reader to a forty-year-old woman, whose main job is to rescue abused and abandoned cats. An incidence happens and the woman breaks her neck. This time around, Edna is not the main suspect but her neighbor and close friend Mary, together with a wife abuser and a college student. The challenges and obligations continue to build up. A blizzard occurs, followed by the sudden disappearance of Mary. Apart from the incidence that saw Edna’s new acquaintance break her neck, the book is still full of decorations, baking and present wrapping. However, there has been a dangerous cyclist on the lose that everyone in the town seems to be scared of.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Edna Davies Mysteries

Leave a Reply