Book Notification

Edwin Dasso Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Bass Black Cloud Chronicles Books

Past Aghast / Death Target (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Management (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Line of Ire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Worry, You'll be Safe (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do I Know You? (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empty Promises (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Hub (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Covert Covid (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Jack Bass Black Cloud Chronicles Books

In the Line of Ire(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Past Aghast / Death Target(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Management(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Worry, You'll be Safe(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do I Know You?(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empty Promises(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Hub(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Covert Covid(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of You Can't Go Back Books

Publication Order of High-Tech Crime Solvers Books

Virtually Lace (By: Uvi Poznansky) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Undead (By: Robert I. Katz) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Harmless (By: P.D. Workman) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Dead (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Timeless (By: Casi McLean) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Gone (By: Jacquie Biggar) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Undetectable (By: Libby Fischer Hellmann) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virtually Impossible (By: Barbara Ebel) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Edwin Dasso
Edwin Dasso is a best-selling author known for his highly captivating medical thrillers. Dasso borrows a lot from his experiences practicing in major community hospitals and medical centers across the country. Apart from working as an anesthesiologist, Dasso has published numerous articles in major medical journals and shared his expertise in different healthcare forums. He confesses that his love for the written word started at a young age, and he started writing short stories way before he got into medical school. Dasso currently lives in Minnesota and enjoys writing in coffee shops and listening to whichever music aligns with his mood.

In the Line of Ire
In the Line of Ire comes first in the Jack Bass Black Cloud Chronicles series. The book introduces Captain Jack Bass, a dedicated military man who goes through untold suffering at a psychotic boss’s hands. Jack is an MD working in Panama in a field hospital. When a soldier is brought with an RPG in his chest, Jack calls his boss Colonel Blackburn, a CO, to help conduct a quick operation. Major Lori Darden, a nurse at the hospital, is with Jack, but it is clear they will need more hands for the urgent chest surgery. At first, Blackburn refuses to come only to show up later drunk. Jack and Lori refuse to let him come close to their critical patient.

After sending Blackburn back to his quarters, Jack and Lori decide to do the surgery anyway. They later report Blackburn’s misconduct and, in turn, become a target of his malicious jealousy and hatred. Blackburn swears revenge, and he starts by sending Jack and Lori on a mission where they sustain serious injuries. Though wounded, these two survive and continue dedicating their time to helping their patients. Once the case is investigated, Blackburn gets demoted, and Jack gets a medal for his exemplary work. This only aggravates Blackburn’s anger, and he does everything possible to make his life miserable. Blackburn even attempts on Jack’s life, but somehow, this mission doesn’t work as planned.

This is a suspenseful, action-filled, and enjoyable read. It is a perfect blend of military romance and a medical thriller. The military action is intense, and from his writing, you can tell that some of the action is borrowed from real-life events. You are going to fall in love with Jack and Lori and cringe every time Blackburn comes up with a way to destroy them. Some of the actions will leave you at the edge of your seat, and you will keep hoping that your favorite characters come out of alive. The flow is great, and there are a few twists that help build the suspense. Overall, this is a great start to a series that shows so much promise.

In the Line of Ire is an intense thriller with an intriguing storyline. It is a tale of anger, revenge, love, life, death, and honor all wrapped in one. The author’s writing is impeccable, and his knowledge of medical procedures and terms comes clear throughout the story. This book has a dark side, and the author paints a perfect picture of the bad side of humanity and war. It is only about 280 pages and is perfect when you want a short yet intense read.

Past Aghast
Past Aghast comes second in the Jack Bass Black Cloud Chronicles. Jack has already retired from the US Army even though his experiences in Iraq left him emotionally scarred. It is no secret that Jack has severe PTSD. However, he remains a dedicated doctor until he loses it. Several bizarre deaths and murders also happen in the hospital he is working in, and Jack is among the suspects. Is it possible that his PTSD is now out and control, and a dedicated doctor who wants to save lives is now murdering his patients? Can Jack be so out of the reality that he remembers things wrong thanks to his mental demons?

As Jack works to clear his name, he has to look inwards and see how much his PTSD was affecting him. It doesn’t take long for him to find out that someone wanted to frame him for the murders even though he did not understand their motivation. When all this is happening, Jack has to complete his duties at Southern Medical Center. It turns out the peace and quiet he desired after he left the military would remain a dream. His PTSD made him a suspect, and enough peers already thought he was as good as dead. However, as he proved in the first book, Jack has many lives, and he can get himself out of any situation. Will Jack get himself out of trouble without losing his sanity? Can he figure out the identity of the serial killer before it is too late?

This is a chilling story that will keep you awake at night. The gore, the action, and the thrill stay consistent to the end, and you will not want to put down the book until you have read it to the last page. Edwin Dasso is a great storyteller, and his background in medicine helps him write such believable stories. The scenes are so detailed, and the story will make you wish you will never revisit a doctor’s office. Jack will be getting into many new relationships with staff at his new job, but his appointment will still ruffle a few feathers.You can read it as a standalone eventhough it is the second in the series.

Past Aghast takes us deeper into Jack Bass’s life. Even after leaving the military, drama seems to follow him everywhere he goes. The book is perfect if you love medical thrillers. Jack is a great protagonist, and it is amazing how well the story flows from start to finish. Like in every thriller, there is also a villain who will try everything to get what he wants. This is a great follow-up to the first book, and the ending will leave you searching for the next installment in this series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Edwin Dasso

Leave a Reply