Book Notification

Edwina Currie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Elaine Stalker Books

A Parliamentary Affair (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woman's Place (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

She's Leaving Home (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ambassador (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Honourable House (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Men (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Life Lines (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Women Want (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dorothy (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Line Quips (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diaries, 1987-1992 (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diaries, 1992-1997 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Modern Stories(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Short Stories: The Thoroughly Modern Collection(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Edwina Currie is a former member of parliament, outspoken and opinionated public figure and author known for her parliamentary based novels. Currie was born to Orthodox Jewish patents in Liverpool and as a young adult studied Chemistry at Oxford University. Later on, she went to The London School of Economics from where she graduated with a master’s in Economic History. Growing up in an Orthodox family, she has a strong sense of community family and God and these would resonate throughout her writing and political career. She significantly benefited from the respect accorded to scholarship in her community. Inspired by Marie Curie, she loved studying and enjoyed reading, something that would later earn her a place at Oxford. While she studied Chemistry, she has asserted that she only opted for the subject because female applicants got easier into Oxbridge if they chose the science rather than art subjects. Currie also got into local politics and she was so fascinated with the subject that she changed courses to study Economics, Philosophy, and Politics once she was accepted to Oxford. At Oxford, she regularly participated at the Oxford Union debates in addition to holding a variety of positions in the organizations. While she was interested in getting into politics, once she graduated, she got a job as an accountant in London, which is where she met Ray Currie who would become her husband.

Since accounting firms did not allow couples to work in the same office, one of them had to leave. Edwin decided that it would be a good time to pursue her political ambitions while her husband pursued a career in accounting. They also moved to Birmingham where the competition was less stiff and soon after, Edwina was elected to the office of councilor and chaired several committees during the eleven years that she served. By 1983, she had been elected the MP for South Derbyshire, where she worked to help improve the fortunes of her constituents by lobbing for business to set up in the area whose coal industry was on the decline. During her fourteen-year stint as a member of parliament, she did a lot for her constituents though much of it was never reported or recognized by the national media houses. The media was more interested in her appearances in the House of Commons and on television, where she often made waves. She had arrived in parliament as one of only twenty-three women among 656 members of parliament but she soon made her mark. In under two years she was Sir Keith Joseph’s Private Secretary and not a year later, she was appointed Junior Health Minister. As health minister, Edwina Currie did a lot to improve the health outcomes of the UK including enhancing vaccination programs, introducing screening for breast cancer, and improving the liaison between the hospices and the NHS.

Once the Salmonella scandal broke out, her days as a minister were numbered and she was soon hounded out. While she was invited back to continue as a minister, she declined and decided to pursue a career as an author. She had used the downtime to study novels such as “Anna Karenina” by Leo Tolstoy, “Middlemarch” by George Eliot and “The Way We Live Now” by Anthony Trollopes. Before penning her blockbuster debut “A Parliamentary Affair,” she had several of her short fiction published in a variety of publications. Some of the characters in her debut had a canny resemblance to John Major and the author who it was alleged had a clandestine relationship. In her 2002 published work “Edwinas Diaries,” she confesses to having an affair with John Major while he was working at the Whips Office. Edwina Currie currently has more than ten novels that include a science fiction novel, middle-age chick lit, a novel about growing up in Liverpool, and several parliamentary novels. Apart from her writing endeavors, she has also hosted “Late Night Currie” a BBC Five Live phone-in program that she ran for several years. Since she left the BBC, she has been in several other programs on both television and radio including several celebrity reality shows such as “Celebrity Mastermind” and “Celebrity Wife Swap.”

Edwina Currie’s “A Parliamentary Affair” tells the story of a newly elected member of parliament Elaine Stalker. She had worked very hard to become an MP for Westminster constituency. But once she gets to parliament, she finds the masculine atmosphere suffocating especially for an ambitious and attractive woman like her. She is a highly talented woman but often finds that the men in the House of Commons ignore her. It is only Roger Dickson the whip who relishing his role as deal maker that tries to make friends with her. It starts as a professional relationship but their shared passion for the inner workings of politics results in late-night sittings where discussions usually turn more romantic. It is a story detailing the working of the parliamentary political system told in a beautiful romance narrative.

“A Woman’s Place” by Edwina Currie continues with the story of Elain Stalker. She is now living in regret particularly since her partner Roger Dickson became Prime Minister. She knows every detail about his decency and competency but now in his new role, their close friendships and private liaisons are significantly limited. But Dickson quickly acknowledges how driven Elaine is and makes her one of his junior ministers. It is a very sensitive government department that she heads, and she will soon learn that women will often find it rough in the corridors of power. It is a well-written novel with excellent characterization and dialogue that more resembles a parliamentary soap opera.

Edwina Currie’s “She’s Leaving Home” is the story of a confused sixteen-year-old Jewish girl named Helen Majinsky. Like every other girl from Liverpool her age, she is seduced by the exciting sound of the sixties, the Cavern Club, and the young men with their mop tops. It is 1963 and the Beatles rule the world while Helen fantasizes about leaving Liverpool to go to college. Liverpool had been her whole world and as a girl that went to Grammar School dreaming of leaving Merseyside is like bending reality. But soon the prospect of attending Oxbridge comes into view even though the forces of stability are working hard to hold her back. But then a locally based American serviceman named Michael Levison comes into the picture and offer the opportunity for loves and a new life away from Merseyside.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Edwina Currie

Leave a Reply