Book Notification

Effie Kammenou Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Gift Saga Books

Evanthia's Gift (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waiting for Aegina (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Petalouthes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Meraki Books

Love is What You Bake of it (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love by Design (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love is Worth Fighting for (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Effie Kammenou is a Greek-American author.

She believes that it is never too late to do whatever you want to do. She knows that when it comes to this, she is living proof. She hoped a long time ago that by the time that she got this age she would have been an actress and would have been clutching an Oscar joyfully in her hand following a great career in the industry.

Effie would not end up going into acting and would choose instead to go into the optical field. She was employed in that field for four decades while she and her husband raised their children. Her mother would pass away in 2012 due to pancreatic cancer. Three years following this event, she would have her book Evanthia’s Gift published. It is the debut story in a love and family focused fictional series meant for women to read and enjoy but suitable for everyone!

The novel was inspired by her family, in particular her mother, and her family’s Greek heritage. She also learned more about Greece and what life was like for her father’s family living in Greece in Lesvos and what it was like choosing to go to America and what that journey was like for them. The story covers different generations and Effie did an interview with her father that was released in Reminisce magazine.

Evanthia’s Gift did very well and was the first story to come out in The Gift Saga. The book did well and placed as a finalist for the 2016 Readers Favorite Book Awards. She would follow that up with Waiting for Aegina, the second book in the series. It became a finalist for the 2019 International Book Awards. The third book in the series closed out the saga and is titled Chasing Petalouthes. It placed as a finalist in the 2018 Readers Favorite Book Awards.

Effie Kammenou has also written romantic series, such as her novel Love is What You Bake of It. The book is full of love and fun, as well as tons of delicious food! She attended Hofstra University, where she graduated with her Bachelor’s in the field of Theater Arts. She is married and has two daughters with her husband.

She loves being a first generation Greek-American and posting updated recipes to her blog about food. She resides in Long Island and when she is not busy writing a new story, she can be traveling or spending time hosting friends and family. She loves to bake and cook and learned her skills from her mother. She also enjoys making Greek recipes and has included traditional recipes in her books from her family to make them even more special!

Effie Kammenou is the creator and author of The Gift Saga. Evanthia’s Gift came out in 2015 and is the wonderful first book in this trilogy that is the perfect spare time read!

If you love novels that are all about family and heritage, this is the story for you. This is the beginning of the saga that follows a Greek-American family and the bonds that they share and their struggles as they deal with the pull for home and more. Full of culture, food, loyalty, love, and m,ore, pick up a copy of this book to get started!

The year is 1956, and main character Anastacia Fotopoulos is in a pickle. She is not only carrying a child but she has also made her way out of a terrible marriage, feeling utterly betrayed. She doesn’t relish the idea of raising the child on her own, but she cannot stay in a union like this one. Luckily she does not have to take on being a single mother without support.

She has her friends Stavros and Soula to help her navigate this new stage and give her their support and love. She’s able to take on this next chapter with courage and is trying to do what she can to heal from her former situation. Helping this is her old friend Alexandros Giannakos. She enjoys spending time with him and cannot help but notice that she is developing a crush on him, but tries to ignore it.

However, it appears that Alexandros is also falling in love for Ana and is willing to gently pursue her until she agrees to be with him. He also has a great deal of affection for her child, which means a lot to Ana. With unconditional love being offered to her, she finally gives in to his love. But they’re trying to do whatever it takes to keep the new family intact, which may involve them keeping various secrets to themselves. This might not be the right thing to do, but they have good intentions in doing it.

The story picks up later in the seventies following Sophia Giannakos as well as Dean and Demi Papadakis. The group are now teens, Greek-Americans trying to navigate the two worlds they are familiar with. It is the 1970’s and Dean and Sophia have been pals since they were young. Now things are about to change as they suddenly turn into lovers. However, Sophia is hurt when Dean hides his feelings and starts pushing back against his father’s pressure to be faithful to his Greek heritage.

Dean is pulling away from her and his family. Can Sophia rekindle their love and remind him that they care about each other? Or is this the end? Read this book to find out in a tale that covers 50 years!

Waiting for Aegina is the second book in the Gift Saga series by Effie Kammenou. The first book continues with the story of the Honey Hill Girls, five girls that all become best friends for life when they moved into the same neighborhood in the suburbs in 1961.

They grew up together and went through being teens together. It’s been now three decades and they are all close and loyal. They’ve followed each other through bad times and good.

Now it follows Sophia and friends and the various things they go through as they become adults. As their lives become increasingly full, can the friends reconnect at 50 and relive their youthful exuberance? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Effie Kammenou

Leave a Reply