Book Notification

Elenium/Tamuli Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Elenium Books

The Diamond Throne (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ruby Knight (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sapphire Rose (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Elenium series is a series of fantasy novels written by the noteworthy American author David Eddings. It consists of a total of 3 novels published between the years 1989 and 1991. This series is followed by the Tamuli series, which acts as its sequel. The Tamuli series also contains 3 novels, which were released between the years 1992 and 1994. Together, the six novels of both the series fall under the Sparhawk series of novels. All the novels of the series feature the main protagonist Sparhawk, who returns back to the world of Elenium from the state of exile. After coming back, he discovers that Elenium has been filled with ancient evil and treachery all over. Some of the important characters described by the author in the series are as follows:

Sir Sparhawk is the main character in both The Elenium and Tamuli series. He has been described as a Pandion knight and the Champion of Queen Ehlana from the Elenia kingdom. Sparhawk is also depicted as Anakha, the one whose fate is not known even to the gods. He is also the wielder of the Bhelliom. One of the unique physical characteristics given to Sir Sparhawk by the author is his crooked nose. It was broken by one of his friends named Kalten during the training of the knights when they were boys. Sparhawk rides on a war horse called as Faran, who seems to be quite foul-tempered. A knight named Martel is his nemesis, who is expelled out of the Pandion order. Sparhawk marries Queen Ehlana and the couple gets blessed with a girl child named Danae, who seems to be the human form of the child goddess Aphrael.

Sephrenia is introduced in the series as a Styric instructor of the Pandion Knights and the high priestess to Aphrael. She is also the companion of Sparhawk and the older sister of one of the incarnations of Aphrael. The generations of the Panion knights whom she taught, refer her by the name ‘little-mother’. She chose to remain illiterate throughout her life as she thought that being able to read might interfere with her special magical abilities somehow. In the later parts of the series, it is shown that she can read and write in the Styric language very well and chooses not get familiar with the Elene language because she regarded her handwriting as undignified. Over the course of the series, the author had given many hints that she is in love with Vanion. In the Tamuli series, it is seen as a fact. She eventually gets married to Vanion at the end of the Tamuli series. After their marriage, the two get bestowed with the gift of being able to reverse their ages until they appear as no older than the early 20s of their ages.

Queen Ehlana:
Queen Ehlana is described as the daughter of Aldress, who ascends the throne of her kingdom after his assassination. She was mentored by Sparhawk when she was just a little girl. Due to the time that she spent with Sparhawk, she had transformed into a very assertive and strong personality. Because of this change in her personality, she gets poisoned by Primate Annias, who had the intention of stealing her throne. The poison given to her was Darestim, which is the same poison used to kill her father. However, unlike her father, Queen Ehlana gets saved by the healing touch of Bhelliom. After recovering completely from the effects of the poison, she goes on to marry Sparhawk. She gives birth to a girl named Dane at the end of the Elenium series. The fact that Dane was the incarnation of the child-goddess Aphrael was not known to Queen Ehlana. Due to the effect of the poison used to kill her, Danae was struck as barren, and did not know about it. Queen Ehlana believes that it was because of the meddling by Aphrael that she was able to conceive a child by overcoming the effects of the Darestim poison.

The first novel of the Elenium series was published under the title ‘The Diamond Throne’. It was released by the Del Rey publishing house in the year 1989. The plot of this novel revolves around the lives of the main characters, Francis Flute, Sephrenia, Tynian, Sparhawk, Ultah, Kalten, Bevier, Kurik, Ehlana, etc. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Sparhawk is introduced as a Pandion knight and Queen Ehlana’s Champion. He is depicted as returning to the kingdom of Elenia after a period of 10 years in exile. After returning, he discovers that Queen Ehlana is trapped in an ensorcelled crystal block. Seeing her miserable condition, he sets out to search for a cure for her. After a short while, Sparhawk discovers that he is the only one who can defeat the evil forces who threaten the throne of Queen Ehlana over the kingdom of Elenia. Before going on exile for 10 years in Rendor, Queen Ehlana was his pupil in his hometown Cimmura. Now, after being poisoned by Annias, she has fallen ill and her condition keeps deteriorating with each passing day. Sephrenia encases her in a diamond with the help of her magic, due to which she will remain alive for a maximum period of 12 months. During this time, Sparhawk must find the cure or else Queen Ehlana will die just like her father Aldress. On the quest to find the cure, Sparhawk is joined by his friend Kalten, his squire Kurik and Sephrenia. He is also joined by the champions Ultah, Tynian, and Bevier, as companions in his journey.

The second novel of the series was published by the Del Rey publishing house in the year 1990. It was titled ‘The Ruby Knight’ and continued to show the events in the lives of Sparhawk and Queen Ehlana. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Sparhawk discovers the place from where he can get the cure of Ehlana’s illness. He goes on a dangerous quest along with his companions in order to find the antidote and save Queen Ehlana before the effect of the Darestim poison takes her life. He seems to be seeking Bhelliom, which is an important magical artifact made of sapphire and carved into a rose. The Bhelliom has enough power to overcome the poison and bring Queen Ehlana back to her normal life. However, the characters suffer a setback in their search of Bhelliom when the dwarf named Ghwerig, who had originally carved the sapphire into a rose shape, retrieves it first after a long search of centuries. He reclaims his beloved gem. Ghwerig is then followed by Sparhawk and his companions to his secret cave in the Thalasia mountains. In the end, they kill Ghwerig and obtain the Bhelliom with the help of the girl Flute. Eventually, they come to know that Flute is actually the child-goddess named Aphrael.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Elenium/Tamuli

Leave a Reply