Book Notification

Eliot Pattison Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Shan Books

The Skull Mantra (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Water Touching Stone (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bone Mountain (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beautiful Ghosts (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prayer of the Dragon (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of Death (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mandarin Gate (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soul of the Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skeleton God (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bones of the Earth (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Bone Rattler Books

Bone Rattler (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye of the Raven (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Original Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of the Oak (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Savage Liberty (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Beast (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freedom's Ghost (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ashes of the Earth (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Born on 20 October 1951, Joseph Eliot Pattison is a well renowned international lawyer and author. He has used his profession exhorting and advising to U.S. on matters of global financing and exchange issues. He has composed five books including two series of mystery novels. His broad productions incorporate in excess of thirty articles on universal themes. His novel series- “Inspector Shan” depicts current Tibet along with Shan Tao Yum, the former investigator of Beijing Justice Department. This series has been translated into an excess of twenty languages around the world. Another series of his- The Bone Rattler begins with “The Bone Rattler” (2007) and depicts Scottish worker to North America in the provincial years. It happens close to Albany, New York amid the French and Indian War. He received the Edgar Allan Poe award for his novel “The Skull Mantra” in the year 2000. Currently he, along with his wife and three children dwells in Oley Valley, Pennsylvania. His latest book- “Breaking Boundaries” was chosen by the New York Times as one of the five best administration books of the year.

Early life:

As a child he grew up on a farm where his essential endeavors were slipping ceaselessly into the timberland or slipping without end into a decent book. He almost devoured each and every book that he could get, from travel to farming books. He spent most of his time in the small library of his school. His aunt, a librarian in the U.S. army, used to send him books from her abroad postings. Her books mainly revolved around peoples who were supposed to be from a different planet than the one he lived on. His books aroused his interests into new themes, new kinds, and worldwide level.

Award winning novel- “The Skull Mantra”:

Published in the year 1999, it marked the beginning of the famous “Inspector Shan” series. An admired plot gadget -the defamed analyst provided for one last risk -is put with dazzling new life in this thriller from Eliot Pattison who obviously knows his fascinating region. The gulags of Tibet, where the Chinese keep the Buddhist monks and different locals they’ve cleared up since possessing the nation, additionally house a couple of unique Chinese detainees. Shan Tao Yun, functioning as a worker on a street team called the People’s 404th Construction Brigade high in the Himalayas, was previously the overseer general of the Ministry of Economy in Beijing before he was detained for rejecting Party participation. Presently he battles to survive his brutal new life, picking up otherworldly sustenance from the monks in his unit. The disclosure of the headless collection of a neighborhood official, wearing American garments and convey American money, changes all that, as Shan is undermined and coaxed by the wise colonel accountable for the area into directing an examination. Col. Tan needs a speedy occupation that ensnares a monk found close to the site, however Shan knows the man isn’t liable: more probable offenders incorporate other high-positioning Chinese and a couple of American mining ambitious people. To urge Shan to go to a fast determination, Tan dangles the destiny of the ministers of the 404th before him, encompassing their dormitory with ruthless Public Security troops. Like Martin Cruz Smith’s Arkady Renko, Shan turns into our Don Quixote, a political guide through a dinky universe of fizzled communism. As his Sancho, Pattison has made another critical character, an aspiring and clashed junior Tibetan called Yeshe, who can “”sound like a minister one minute and a gathering functionary the following.”” Set against a foundation that is on the other hand grim and blazingly delightful, this is a mind blowing thriller and a substantive look at Tibet under attack.

The Bone Rattler:

Published in the year 2007, this marked the beginning of Bone Rattler series, one of the two series of novels created by Eliot Pattison. In a novel rich in historical element, acclaimed creator Eliot Pattison reexamines the establishing of America and investigates how disappointed individuals of any age and spot battle to discover equity, how clashing societies could be accommodated through sympathy and tolerance, and at last how the regular world has its profound quality.

On board a British convict boat destined for the New World, the hero Duncan McCollum witnesses an arrangement of homicides and suicides among his kindred Scottish detainees. An unusual trail of hints leads Duncan into the New World and in the end pushes him into the bleeding throat of the French and Indian War. Duncan is obligated to the British Lord Ramsey, whose domain in the uncharted New York forests is a Heart of Darkness where different warring factions are occupied with physical, mental, and profound fight. Investigating a wilderness world covered in peril and defying death in a wilderness populated by European pilgrims, Indian shamans, and obscure scalping gatherings, Duncan, the ousted head of his closely extinct Scottish family, finds that here and there equity can’t be arrived at unless the societies and spirits of those included are mollified.

Non fiction:

Apart from several of his nonfiction works like Antidumping and countervailing duty laws 2003, Registration of foreign agents in the United States: a practical and legal guide, Acquiring the future: America’s survival and success in the global economy, Establishing a transnational franchise, it was breaking boundaries which became the most popular of his nonfiction works.

Awards and Recognisations:

His latest novel “Original Death” was picked as The Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice for their February 2014 issue. Beside this his seventh edition of Inspector Shan series- Mandarin Gate was adjudged as one of CNN’s hot thrillers in time for the occasions. Amazon too named it as the best novel of the month and was further named as the best thriller of the year 2012 by PW.

Publisher’s weekly picked his novel-The Lord of Death was picked as one of the Top 100 Books of 2009 -one of just seven riddles to make it. Amazon placed his first edition of Inspector Shan series- The Skull Mantra at no 7 out of the top 10 best thrillers of the year 1999. He also was the finalist of the British Golden Dagger Award and was nominated for the Dublin Literary Award. He subsequently won the prestigious Edgar Award in May 2000.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eliot Pattison

Leave a Reply