Book Notification

Eliot Schrefer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Animal Rescue Agency Books

Little Claws (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pangolin Pop Star (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ape Quartet Books

Publication Order of The Lost Rainforest Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Glamorous Disasters (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Kid (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The School for Dangerous Girls (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deadly Sister (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Popper Penguin Rescue (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkness Outside Us (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charming Young Man (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brightness Between Us (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hack the SAT (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queer Ducks (and Other Animals) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spirit Animals Books

Hunted (By: Maggie Stiefvater) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire and Ice (By: Shannon Hale) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Against the Tide (By: Tui T Sutherland) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rise and Fall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Evertree (By: Marie Lu) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spirit Animals: Fall Of The Beasts Books

Immortal Guardians (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Ground (By: Victoria Schwab) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return (By: Varian Johnson) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Tide (By: Jonathan Auxier) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wildcat's Claw (By: Varian Johnson) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of the Land (By: Sarah Prineas) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stormspeaker (By: Christina Diaz Gonzalez) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon's Eye (By: Sarwat Chadda) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Out Now: Queer We Go Again!(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tampa Bay Noir(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Eliot Schrefer is a published author. He has written books for adults and for young adults too, the result of a lunch with David Levithan.

Schrefer first became a published author with the release of his books for adults. The first was titled Glamorous Disasters. The second one is called The New Kid and it is for adults as well.

Eliot says that the two things that have come recently in his career have been an increased sense of confidence in his ability to craft a plot and the realization that he is able to write better stories when he puts characters down on the page that are not based on himself. He says that when his protagonists are essentially different versions of himself, they are unknowable and amorphous and he’s too deep in the story to be able to figure out which details a reader needs to understand.

He says that his book about a girl and an orphaned bonobo trying to survive in a warring country (Endangered) was far outside his interior space of life that he discovered that it was much more easy to be able to write in a convincing manner. He has a deep professed love for marshmallows as well as fiction from the early 20th century, as well as a love of apes. Endangered was turned into a movie short in 2018 directed by Nancy Buirski.

Eliot Schrefer is the creator and the author of the fictional series Ape Quartet. This series kicked off in 2012 with the release of the debut book in the series, titled Endangered. It is also known by the alternate title, Heart of Danger. The second book would come out two years later and is titled Threatened. It would not be a quartet without a third and a fourth novel to round it out. Rescued and then Orphaned make this an intriguing four book series that you will not want to put down!

Endangered is the exciting debut book in the Ape series. It is the story of a young girl that is determined to save a bonobo group as well as herself from the grips of violence from a coup going on. This story is set in the Congo, which has been introduced to the reader as a risky place to be even if you live there.

For people trying their best to do good in the area, they still face a good amount of risk. The region is not so politically secure that a good day means the next day will not be incredibly dangerous. The girl is obliged to go with her mother and return to a sanctuary designed for bonobos to live.

She’s not that excited to be going in the first place, because it is more of her mother’s thing and not hers. She would rather be doing her own thing and wants to just do anything else. However, she’s not the adult and so she has to go to the sanctuary. The last thing that they both expected was for a revolution to suddenly break out and threaten everything.

When the sanctuary ends up being attacked and the violence and chaos heads their way, it is up to this girl to do what she can to take the bonobos. They all hide together going into the jungle to try and find safety from the human threats. They are all together and on their own, they are going to have to do what they can in order to stay safe as well as keep eating and survive through this.

In this debut story of the Ape Quartet, the author asks the questions to the reader about what it is to be safe and what we often choose to sacrifice in order to be of help to others. Most of all, in this tale about a young girl and some bonobos, we find out what it really means to be empathetic and what it means at the end of the day to be human. Pick up this adventurous first story to see what happens in the end!

Threatened is the thrilling second book in Eliot Schrefer’s Ape series! If you loved the first book in this series, then be sure to check out this exciting sequel and catch all of the action for yourself.

Luc was just a young boy when his mother would tell him tales. She would warn him through her stories about the dangers that lurked outside. The warnings would involve the mock men, that she said lived close to their home in the many trees.

The chimpanzees were the things that she was referencing during these tales. The cries of those chimps would loudly fill up the night and he would think about what she had said. Now he is a bit older, and his mother is no longer with him.

Luc lives in a home for orphans, where they are not very well looked after. The mistreatment is a lot and they are all struggling to get by. Things do not seem like they are ever going to turn around for him. Then everything suddenly changes when a strange man comes to town.

The man says that he goes by the name of Prof and he has arrived in this town with an apparent mission. Luc is desperate and when he first sees the man attempts to relieve him of his belongings. The man finds him out, but is not upset with him. Instead of reporting him to the authorities or finding some other punishment for Luc, he decides to offer him a job.

Luc is surprised but also interested by this man that decides to give him a chance. He agrees to join Prof on a journey that will take them into the wild jungle and in the way of the harm that his mother always warned him about. They are going to study the chimpanzees in the risky jungle that is known for its danger.

But when he gets there, Luc finds that he discovers a family of his own. When they come under attack, can he help them? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Eliot Schrefer

Leave a Reply