Book Notification

Elizabeth Aston Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Darcy Books

Mr. Darcy's Daughters (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Exploits & Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The True Darcy Spirit (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Mrs. Darcy (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darcy Connection (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Darcy's Dream (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Darcy Short Stories/Novellas

Mr. Darcy's House Party (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr Darcy's Masquarade (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Darcy's Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Darcy's Drama (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr Darcy Requests the Pleasure (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Way of the World (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing Jane Austen (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Valentine's Day (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
King Richard's Bones (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Painted Fan (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Jane Austen Made Me Do It(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Aston is the daughter of two Jane Austen addicts, who made up their mind to name the author, after one of Austen’s characters. Elizabeth Aston is a pen name for Elizabeth Edmondson, who is also known by the name Elizabeth Pewsey. While at the University, Elizabeth studied Austen’s work under the supervision of her tutor. She is famously known for the book series Darcy, which were inspired, by Jane Austen’s novel, Pride and Prejudice. Elizabeth Aston passed away in the year 2016.

The True Darcy Spirit

True Darcy Spirit is an installment in the book series Mr. Darcy’s Daughters. In this installment, the author introduces the reader to one Cassandra Darcy, who is the daughter of Anne de Bourgh. Cassandra is a young lady who is an unhappy with her life. Cassandra resides at Rosings together with her stepfather and mother. Her stepfather works as a clergyman. He is unhappy about having a stepdaughter who resembles Darcy’s side of the family. Cassandra works as a professional artist, thus does not rely on dabbing watercolors. Upon noticing her skill set, her master decides to train her on using oil-based paint. Due to the fact that she does not understand how her stepfather may react, she decides to hide her skills from him.

After a misunderstanding, Cassandra is banished to Bath. In Bath, she falls in love with a Lieutenant, who works for the Navy on half pay. However, when their affair is discovered, she decides to elope with him. Instead of taking her to Gretna Green, he decides to take her to London, while trying to extort money from her stepfather. The father sends a distant cousin of his, Horatio Darcy who works as an attorney, to tell Cassandra, that she has been given a choice. She can either go to the countryside to live with Mrs. Norris, together with her niece or she may decide to go on with her affairs, which in turn meant that she could become a rich man’s mistress or a prostitute. Instead of taking the offer, she decides to make her own living through art. With the assistance of influential friends and Darcy Warton her cousin, she begins her career as an artist.

With that said, the plot in this book is exceedingly complicated. There are several letters, which incriminated Princess Caroline of adultery, and there is also another subplot which revolved around a persistent man who was more than determined to ensure that Cassandra became his mistress. As it is the case with the first book in this series, this plot is much similar to the original book, Pride, and Prejudice; thus it is a little bit predictable. Playing inside Jane Austin’s sand box can prove to be a little bit tricky; however, the author has managed to maneuver successfully. The main reasons, why all the books in this series are interesting is the fact that they have exceedingly interesting characters who are not afraid of making mistakes and absorbing plots. Ms. Elizabeth has all the relevant information about the period; thus she is able to present some exceedingly interesting information which she had learned while researching.

Mr. Darcy’s Daughters

The enjoyment of this installment is made up of two levels. One, the novel is full of humor, wit, and nodding references that readers are going to love. The other level of enjoyment is the novel’s plot, which is not only sparkling but also bubbling. In this installment, we are introduced to Darcy and Elizabeth who have just been called to the countryside. Darcy and Elizabeth have four daughters who are aged between 16 and 21 and two boys. The boys are placed under the care of a tutor at Pemberly, while the girls are sent to London where they are to reside in the house of Colonel Fitzwilliam, one of his trustees. The Darcy’s daughters are a bunch of beautiful and vibrant girls, who are a perfect reflection of Elizabeth’s family in the novel, Pride, and Prejudice. Letitia Darcy is the oldest daughter. She is exceedingly beautiful, though she can be pragmatic at times. The last two daughters are not only twins but are also exceedingly frivolous and gorgeous.

The other daughter is Alethea who is fifteen years old. She not only has a passion for music but she also has an exceedingly adventurous heart. Unlike all her sisters, Camilla Darcy is headstrong intellectual and has been characterized as taking after her mother. Apart from the daughters, there are also other characters who have been taken from the novel, Pride, and Prejudice. Some of these characters include the Gardener’s, Caroline Bingley and Lydia Bennet. The Gardener’s have made a great fortune from the trade; thus their daughter is armed with a dowry that exceeds that of the Darcy’s daughter’s. Upon arriving in London, the girls adapt differently in the city due to their different outlook. Letitia vows to stay away from trouble, Alethea devotes her time and energy to music, while the twins devote to showing themselves in the city and attracting the attention of every man that they could.

What appeared to be a few diverting months within London city will soon turn out into a rather intricate tale of mystery and scandal, which includes cross-dressing, antagonistic plots and secret affections. Camilla finds herself on the frenzied streets of the Regency London. However, as time goes by, she begins to acknowledge her true affections, which are somehow threatened by the family catastrophe. With that being said, this is a truly appealing novel, which is not only going to intrigue the reader but also allure the reader, page after page. All the brilliantly created characters find their way into this novel; however, it is the newly created characters, in this installment, who were exceedingly absorbing. While the four daughters were molded after the Bennet girls, the author has still managed to develop them as new characters with new paths and interests.

Furthermore, though the novel Pride and Prejudice inspired this plot, it still where the author’s liberal imagination develops. This is an innovative novel, which is not only going to satisfy Austen lovers but also modern crowds as well.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Aston

Leave a Reply