Book Notification

Elizabeth Daly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Henry Gamadge Mysteries Books

Unexpected Night (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Nightshade (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murders in Volume 2 (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House Without the Door (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evidence of Things Seen (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Can Rescue Me (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arrow Pointing Nowhere (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of the Dead (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
Any Shape or Form (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere in the House (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrong Way Down (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Walk (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of the Lion (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Dangerous to Know (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Letters (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of the Crime (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Daly was an American mystery writer known for her superbly plotted stories. Born in New York, Daly went to Bryn Mawr College, Colombia, and Pennsylvania University. She worked as a French and English tutor and was awarded an Edgar for her debut Henry Gamadge series. While her books are quite dated, their style, content, and plotting make them appeal to the modern reader. One of Elizabeth Daly’s main character was Henry Gamadge, a bibliophile, bookish author, and an amateur sleuth.

Unexpected Night

Unexpected Night is the first book in the Henry Gamadge series. The book starts with the discovery of a body at the bottom of a cliff. Young Amberley Cowden is set to inherit one million dollars when he turns twenty-one. In case he dies before this age, all of that money goes to his family. Amberley’s health has been on a downward spiral, and it seems like his body can no longer withstand the damage the rheumatic fever caused to his heart. Despite the health challenges, Amberley tries to enjoy his life to the fullest. Just a few hours from his twenty-first birthday, a few family members decide to visit the Ford’s Beach, where they can see Amberley’s cousin Arthur. Not one to let a chance to have some fun pass his by, Amberley decides to join his family on this trip.
Amberley and his company check into the Ocean House hotel, where they plan to rest for the night before they can meet Arthur and his troupe the next day. However, this meeting does not happen as Amberley’s battered body is discovered in a nearby cliff. The primary investigations show that Amberley had a fatal heart attack that led to him falling down the cliff. The question on everyone’s mind, though, is why the young man was at such a place late in the night. Could there be more to Amberley’s death? Well, two more mysteries deaths occur soon after, and the investigators are forced to give this case the seriousness it deserves. This is how Henry Gamadge gets involved in this investigation.

So, who killed Amberley, and why? Could it be his actor cousin or the jealous aunt looking to inherit a considerable inheritance for her son? Why is Amberley’s sister now in danger so soon after her brother’s death? Join detectives and Amberley’s family as what was supposed to be a quiet family holiday turns into a hunt for a killer. There are going to be more deaths along the way, and you will have to keep guessing the killer’s identity to the end. Riddled with mystery, this story lets the reader into the life of Amberley and the challenges in life. There are also enough details of what happens to him on that fateful night.

If vintage mysteries are your thing, you are going to love Unexpected Night. Within a bleak 48 hours, a family loses a son, and there is no telling who is going to face the killer next. All this in the face of a sizeable inheritance that is now left to the distant family. This story maintains a steady pace from start to finish. The cast is quite exciting, and the flow is just right. Get to see what happens after Amberley’s death and the decisions the family makes where his inheritance is concerned.

Deadly Nightshade

Deadly Nightshade is the second book in the Henry Gamadge series. Here, Henry Gamadge is investigating the nightshade poisoning of four kids and a state trooper death. Henry wants to prove that all these deaths are related. What he doesn’t anticipate are the scandals that get unearthed as the investigation continues. Before the investigation starts, one of the children who ate the berries is dead, and one is missing. The other two have been treated and are recovering well.

Henry Gamadge is an old book, inks, and autographs consultant. Once in awhile, Henry gets called to investigate an untimely death, and this is how he finds himself in Maine, yet again, investigating several murders. With the help of Detective Mitchel, Henry is to find out who killed three children and a state trooper. The two make a great team, and they both believe that there is no way the poisoning was an accident. The duo is also concerned about the mysterious death of the state trooper. They are determined to get to the bottom of it all.

Once the investigations start, the locals blame the gypsies in the woods for the poisoning. According to them, the gypsies may have given the berries to the children by mistake. Detective Mitchell is not buying this story, but the unfortunate thing is that he has no other way to explain the poisoning. Gamadge comes to the rescue and discovers that just before the poisoning, a strange woman had visited the children’s home. The woman identified herself as a magazine representative, but Gamadge feels that she may have been a disguise for someone closer home. Things become more apparent when Gamadge visits the girls’ homes and gets talking to the parents.

Join Gamadge and Michelle on an investigative journey as they try to solve two murders at once. There will not be much resistance, but the details are sketchy, and it is clear that the crimes were well-thought-out. Just like in the first book in the series, Garmadge brings his wit and attention to detail and combines with Michelle’s expertise in the field. It is fun to see how these two complements each other and are successful in piecing the puzzle.

Deadly Nightshade is an intricate and engaging story characterized by a quick pace, building suspense, and a host of intriguing characters. The story is unique, and the numerous twists will keep you turning the pages until you get to the end. Even though the book is dated, there is a lot to love about it. If you are looking for an engaging read with a relentless pace and enough turns to keep you guessing, this book is ideal. Get to know the truth about the children poisoning and understand why Gamadge though that the two deaths were related.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Daly

Leave a Reply