Book Notification

Elizabeth E. Wein Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lion Hunter: Arthurian Books

The Winter Prince (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Coalition of Lions (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sunbird (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lion Hunters: Mark of Solomon Books

The Lion Hunter (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Empty Kingdom (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Code Name Verity Books

Code Name Verity (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rose Under Fire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pearl Thief (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enigma Game (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Elizabeth E. Wein Standalone Novels

Black Dove White Raven (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Eagles (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stateless (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Elizabeth E. Wein Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Elizabeth E. Wein Non-Fiction Books

A Thousand Sisters (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
American Wings: Chicago's Pioneering Black Aviators and the Race for Equality in the Sky (With: Sherri L. Smith) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Star Wars: The Last Jedi Books

Cobalt Squadron (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Not the Only One(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jabberwocky 2(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demigods and Monsters(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firebirds Soaring(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divergent Thinking(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taking Aim: Power and Pain, Teens and Guns(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tyranny of Petticoats(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Elizabeth E. Wein was born on October second in New York City in the year 1964, and then moved to England at the age of three, where she started school. She writes historical fiction meant for young adults.

From the years 1970 to 1973, she lived in Jamaica, which she loved and she was even fluent in Jamaican patois. While living in Jamaica, she began reading and started writing. When she was only seven, her and her friend finished a story that was called “The Hidden Treasure”, which was a part of a series of mysteries that were based on the Hardy Boys.

Her parents separated, her mother relocated Elizabeth and her brother and sister back in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. This is where Carol’s parents were living. After Carol died in a car wreck in 1978, the kids were raised by Carol’s parents. After her mother died, Elizabeth enjoyed reading books, especially fantasy. She enjoyed reading Ursula K. LeGuin, J. R. R. Tolkien, and Alan Garner.

By the age of fourteen, Elizabeth had finished an epic fantasy novel, which was called “By Sunlight and Starlight”. The book was not very good, but it helped her get some much needed writing practice. At fifteen, she found King Arthur (through such writers as: TH White, Mary Stewart, and Susan Cooper), and started working on what would become the first novel she would get published, called “The Winter Prince”.

Elizabeth attended Yale, and spent a year doing her work study in England. Then, she spent getting her PhD in Folklore at University of Pennsylvania, where she had a Javits Fellowship. She learned how to ring church bells in an English style known as “change ringing” here, and even met the man that she would marry here. They met at a dinner dance held for bell ringers. His name is Tim and he is English. In 1995, the couple moved to England, and then to Scotland in the year 2000.

She learned to fly because of Tim’s enthusiasm with small planes. Tim became a private pilot in 1993, and she became one a decade later. Since, they have flown all over the world. Most of the flying Elizabeth has done, has been in Scotland, which is the place that she has written all but one of her novels.

Being a pilot inspired her to take her later work in a whole new direction. Her “Code Name Verity” books are set during the second world war and focus on female pilots’ role during the war.

“Code Name Verity” was given a Michael L. Printz Award Honor in the year 2013. “The Lion Hunter” made the short list in 2008 for the Andre Norton Award for the best young adult fantasy and science fiction award.

“The Winter Prince” is the first novel in “The Lion Hunters” series and was released in the year 1993. Medraut is Artos’ (who is high king of Britain) oldest son, and he would be the heir to the throne, except for an accident of birth. Lleu, who is his younger half-brother, is the one picked for the prince of Britain. He is fragile, gets sick a lot, and does not have skills with weapons or sportsmanship, and is even afraid of the dark. Even Goewin, who is Lleu’s twin sister, would be better as the ruler of the kingdom.

Medraut has a hard time being contradicted and even commanded by his weakling of a brother. He feels this kid has usurped what was supposed to be his birthright and even the favor of his father. He gets torn and bitter; haunted by his own jealousy and self-doubt. So he joins Morgause, who is the treacherous sister of Artos, and they put together a plot to make Artos give up all of his power and kingdom to spar Lleu’s life. This is a plot that ends up being a lot more. It becomes more like a battlefield where Medraut has to figure out where his allegiance really is, either good or evil.

This book never lost the attention of the readers for a single moment. Fans of the novel felt that this was their favorite fantasy novel; as it is a wonderful and dark. While there is no sex in it, there is a lot of erotic parts to the book. Some felt that this was the best book that they had ever bought on just a whim. There is a lot cram packed into this short book, feel some.

“A Coalition of Lions” is the second novel in “The Lion Hunters” series and was released in the year 2003. After much of Goewin’s family is killed in the Camlan battle, she goes to African Aksum so she can have a meeting with her fiance and the British ambassador named Constantine.

Aksum is going through some political turmoil of its own. Her relationship with the ambassador makes things for her a little tricky. She is caught between two different countries, and has the power to change or end peoples’ lives. She fights to find and make a place for herself in a world that has all of a sudden and forever been altered.

Readers felt this was way different than anything that they had read before it, and it gets readers hooked on them. This one was complicated, beautifully written, and will touch anyone who reads it. Some cannot wait to get started on the final book in the series.

“The Sunbird” is the third novel in “The Lion Hunters” series and was released in the year 2004. Telemakos, only eleven years old, has royal blood in him. His grandfathers were both royals; one was African (from Aksum’s kingdom) and the other was Artos (who is the fallen High King of Britain). He is a great tracker and listener. His country is in need of the skills he has.

There is a quarantine, the plague spreads all through Aksum, and leaves death and disease behind it. Telemakos is recruited to spy for the emperor. He has to travel through some brutal desert to get to the salt mines in Afar. He needs to figure out who the traitor to the crown is. It will take all of the strength and the skill that he has. His ability to stay silent will prove vital, if he is found, he will not find any mercy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth E. Wein

One Response to “Elizabeth E. Wein”

  1. BRIGTH MAKOKA: 3 years ago



Leave a Reply