Book Notification

Elizabeth Edmondson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Very English Mystery Books

A Man of Some Repute (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Youthful Indiscretion (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Question of Inheritance (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Matter of Loyalty (With: Anselm Audley) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vintage Mystery Books

The Villa in Italy (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding Philippe (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fencing With Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Frozen Lake (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Frozen Lake (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage of Innocence (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of Love / Villa on the Riviera (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night & Day (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stone and Shadows (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Sonata (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Edmondson is a well-recognized author who was born in Chile and educated in Calcutta. She married an art historian, and they were blessed with two children. Elizabeth has written several books some using her real names while others using her two pen names of Elizabeth Pewsey and Elizabeth Ashton. She used to spend her in the countryside of Rome and Oxford. One of the best performing book series by the author is A Very English Mystery book series.

A Man of Some Repute

For many writers, actors, directors, musicians and filmmakers, the period tone has always been a controversial area. Majorities of readers tend to pursue authenticity; however, only a few writers are able to deliver. One such writer is Elizabeth Edmondson, who has delivered yet another classic masterpiece in A Man of Some Repute. The story is set in the year 1953, and it sees one Hugo Hawksworth, a spy, relocate to Selchester after having being injured while in action. Selechester is an exceedingly quite town, thus as a temporary measure, he moves into a castle. In this castle, he meets with one of the trustees who has been appointed to look after the castle. Freya was appointed to be the trustee of the castle after Earl had vanished during a blizzard.

However, it does not take long before his body is discovered beneath the flagstones. The local police are more than determined to ensure that the issue is addressed as quickly as possible. Furthermore, they have the support of the London Government, since Earl used to work for them. Upon his arrival, Hugo is approached and asked to look into the proceedings; however, the cover up which has been proposed gives him Goosebumps. One of the main suspects in the killings is Earl’s son, whom by the time of the proceedings was already dead. This, in turn, meant that there would not be any trial. Can Hugo and Freya really find out what led to Hugo’s death? Furthermore, was Earl, the man that everyone though he was?

With that being said, making such a story period is just much more than the insertion of period details. Edmondson is exceedingly thorough with the references especially to the severities of the post-war life, rural poverty, ration books and clothes, modes of transport and switchboard telephony. Additionally, the author has also given comprehensive historical framing, especially with the references to the various social themes such as adultery, secrecy, homosexuality, monetary independence of women. The author has also discussed in depth the political landscape of Britain, Russia, and America after the war. Overall, this was an excellent read. Despite the fact that the climax was somehow anti-climactic, it still has more than enough suspects and intrigue to ensure that the readers keep on guessing to the very end of the book. This is an important aspect of any mystery novel.

A Question of Inheritance

This is the second book in this installment, and it begins several months after the year that the first book had ended. Hugo together with Georgia, his sister, and Freya, still reside in the castle. The three are uncertain as what will happen to them since the owner of the castle is expected to come back. The real estate market is crowded in post-war Britain, thus finding a house is exceedingly hard. Irrespective of the fact that Freya is a close cousin to the Freya Family, he is still very afraid that he is going to lose the convenient and much-loved tower. Gus together with his two young daughters, Babs and Poly, had never expected to move into a large castle let alone owning the castle. While attending Oxford, Gus had resided in the castle. Despite the fact that they were moving into the castle, the two daughters were still unhappy that they were relocating from America.

Gus Mason had not expected to find an onslaught of visitors at his castle, especially Lady Sonia. Lady Sonia had though that she was the main heir to the castle. Sonia had not only planned to take the castle but also to ensure that she did not pay the Inland Revenue, the amount that was required. However, the owner thwarted all her plans. Like all the other novels in this series, A Question of Inheritance is an exceedingly interesting book, which looks at an austere time in the history of the people of Britain. Irrespective of the fact that Britain had won the war, social upheaval and rationing were still something very common. The disclosure of the Spy Ring had shaken the government of Britain and also the general public. With that said, this installment combines mystery and history, together with some dysfunctional family subtleties.

Villa in Italy

The main characters in the Villa in Italy are four complete strangers, all of whom have been mentioned in the will of Beatrice Malaspina, who had just died. Beatrice was the proprietor of the Villa Dante. The four strangers are summoned so that they could accept their inheritance in an exceedingly mysterious fashion. The relations and interactions between the characters as they are informed as to why they have been invited at the Villa makes this installment a great read. One of the protagonists is George, who works as an atomic scientist at Cambridge University. He does not love the monsters that he had created.

Another character is Delia, who is a full-time opera singer. Lucious is a banker who works in America and appears to have a seemingly perfect life. The fourth protagonist is Marjorie who is exceedingly poor and is struggling to make it as a detective journalist. As the characters wait so that they can be informed as to why they have been named as the beneficiaries, the Villa’s medieval tower, overgrown garden and the faded frescoes begin to have a positive and calming effect on all of the characters. The four characters have family secrets and a great amount of sadness that they try to hide.

However, they begin to heal slowly and also begin to learn how to love again as they also try to unravel the mystery that they have found themselves in. With that said, this is an exceedingly irresistible story and a perfect combination of romance. If you are looking for a novel that is full of family secrets, evocative descriptions and family history, then the Villa in Italy is beyond any doubt, what you need.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Edmondson

2 Responses to “Elizabeth Edmondson”

  1. Pat Hardisty: 2 years ago

    Is Finding Philippe available as a paperback?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      It appears to only be an ebook at this time


Leave a Reply