Book Notification

Elizabeth Gilbert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stern Men (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Signature of All Things (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Last American Man (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat, Pray, Love (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Committed (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Magic (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat Pray Love Made Me Do It (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best American Sports Writing 2003(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Travel Writing 2007(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Can Say Goodbye: Writers on Their Unshakable Love for New York(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Tell a Story: The Essential Guide to Memorable Storytelling from The Moth(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Self-Acceptance Summit: Volume 1(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Gilbert is a renowned award-winning American author, memoirist, essayist, biographer, short story writer, and novelist, who is popular for writing memoirs and fiction stories. She is particularly popular for writing the 2006 memoir called Eat, Pray, Love. Until 2010, this novel spent a total of 199 weeks on the NY Times Bestseller list and helped Gilbert to establish herself among the ranks of prominent authors. Author Gilbert was born on July 18, 196 in Waterbury, Connecticut, United States. Her mother, Carole, was a homemaker, while her dad, John Gilbert, used to work as a chemical engineer. Gilbert is of Swedish descent on her mother’s side. She has a sister named Catherine Gilbert Murdock, who is also a novelist. The two spent their early years growing up on their family farm located in Litchfield, Connecticut. While living there, Gilbert’s family had no neighbors. And as there was no record player or television in the house, the family was involved in reading a lot in their spare times.

Gilbert used to join her sister to get entertained by writing and reading plays and stories. She obtained her bachelor’s degree from the New York University in political science in 1991. Following her graduation, she worked in various jobs and held posts such as a bartender, a cook, a magazine employee, and a waitress. During her time as a cook, Gilbert had to go through different life experiences that she described in the form of short stories and also a part of it in her 2002 novel The Last American Man. During the early days of living in New York, Gilbert also worked for a brief period as a journalist for several publications like GQ, New York Times, Spin, etc. Gilbert is a 3-time finalist for National Magazine Award. She penned her debut novel, Stern Men, in the year 2000. In this book, she has described deadly territory wars that took place between two fishing islands near the coast of Maine.

Then in 2002, she published her second book, a nonfiction story of Eustace Conway, a modern-day woodsman. This book was a finalist for 2 prestigious awards. After this, she came up with the novel, Eat, Pray, Love in 2006 that became the highlight of her career. Gilbert filled this book with the story of her lonely journey around the world when she was trying to find solace after her difficult divorce. In addition to becoming an international bestseller, the book was translated into more than 30 languages. It sold more than 12 million printed copies worldwide. The book was adapted into a movie of the same name in 2010, which featured Julia Roberts in the lead role. After the grand success of the novel, Gilbert was included among the 100 most influential individuals of the world by the Time Magazine

In 2010, Gilbert wrote a follow up of her bestselling book with the title, Committed. In this particular novel, she has explored her feelings about the idea of marriage. This book also reached the top spot of the NY bestseller list and was received with great acclaim. The next novel that Gilbert wrote and published in her literary career is the 2013 novel entitled ‘The Signature of All Things’ that describes the sprawling story of botanical explorations in the 19th century. This novel was declared as the book of a lifetime by the O Magazine. The Wall Stree Journal labeled it as an ambitious work of pure imagination. It also became a bestseller and was listed in many top-books’ lists.

Gilbert had married twice and both of her marriages ended in divorce. She got married for the first time in 1994 to Michael Cooper. The two had met when Gilbert was working on her novel, Coyote Ugly Saloon. Their marriage ended in 2002. Then, she married Jose Nunes in 2007. She met him in Bali while she was traveling to look for solace. The two lived in New Jersey and were the owners of an import store. After Gilbert’s divorce with Jose Nunes in 2015, she entered into a lesbian relationship with her best friend named Rayya Elias. They were very open about their relationship. Gilbert was left saddened when Elias died in early 2018 due to terminal cancer. As of today, Gilbert manages her time between New Jersey, New York City, and pretty much every other place she likes to be.

The most successful book of author Elizabeth Gilbert’s career is entitled ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. It was released by the Riverhead Books in 2007. Gilbert has done this book’s setting in Italy, India, and Bali. The book is based on Gilbert’s own life and describes a phase when she was going through several difficulties. When Gilbert turned 30, she was going mid-life crisis. She believed that she had everything that a normal American woman dreams of having, a house, a husband, and a good career. However, she didn’t have feelings of fulfillment and happiness. Rather, Gilbert was experiencing grief, confusion, and panic. Later, her condition got worsened due to her divorce, the following depression, and a failed attempt at finding love.

With the intention of recovering from this dull phase of life, Gilbert decided to distance herself from her everyday life and try to find out what she wanted and who she was in the real sense. Subsequently, Gilbert gave up her belongings and quit the job. She set herself on a journey around the globe and spent one full year exploring different places and meeting new people. Gilbert was all alone during this whole journey. She aimed to visit 3 places hoping that she would be able to examine the various aspects of her personality. In Rome, Gilbert studied art and learned Italian. Then she moved to India and devoted herself to art under the guidance of a guru. Gilbert carried out spiritual exploration of herself. In Bali, she was exposed to the art of balancing divine transcendence and worldly enjoyment.

Another entertaining book written by Gilbert is called ‘Stern Men’. It was published in 2001 by the Mariner Books. The novel takes place in Maine, United States, and contains the primary characters in the form of Ruth Thomas, Mrs. Pommeroy, and several others. Ruth Thomas is introduced as a native of Fort Niles Island. Her mother had abandoned her when she was very small and since then, she has been living among the lobstermen of the island. Sometimes, Ruth lives with her father and sometimes with Mrs. Pommeroy, her beautiful neighbor. The story follows Ruth’s life as she is taken up by the rich Ellises and sent to study in Delaware. Gilbert has described how her life changes in Delaware and how she returns to live among her people and to her old life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Gilbert

Leave a Reply