Book Notification

Elizabeth Haydon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Symphony of Ages Books

Rhapsody (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prophecy (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destiny (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Requiem for the Sun (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elegy for a Lost Star (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Assassin King (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Merchant Emperor (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hollow Queen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weaver's Lament (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme Books

The Floating Island (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thief Queen's Daughter (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon's Lair (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tree of Water (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Legends Books

Legends (By: Stephen King,Anne McCaffrey,Robert Silverberg) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends II: Dragon, Sword, and King (With: Diana Gabaldon,George R.R. Martin,Orson Scott Card,Terry Brooks,Robert Silverberg,Neil Gaiman) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends 3 (By: Terry Pratchett,Tad Williams,Robert Jordan,Robert Silverberg,Ursula K. Le Guin) (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Legends II: Dragon, Sword, and King(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Haydon is among one of the popular writers of America, who loves to write her novels based on the fantasy genre. She was born on January 01, 1965 in Michigan, United States. As of today, author Haydon has written a couple of fantasy novel series in total. Both the fantasy series written by take place in the same universe. One of the fantasy series is called as The Symphony of Ages, which is believed to be the fusion of fantasy, romance, and whodunit genres. The other successful series written by author Haydon is a young adult series called as The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme. Other than being one of the prominent authors, Haydon also enjoys her work as a harpist, herbalist, and a madrigal singer. She also enjoys folklore and anthropology. Currently, author Haydon lives happily on The United States’ East Coast along with her husband and 3 children.

The Symphony of Ages series written by author Haydon is a bestselling fantasy series, which begins with the trilogy of the novels titled as Rhapsody, Prophecy, and Destiny respectively. There are 9 books in The Symphony of Ages series in total, which were published between the years 1999 and 2016. All the books in the series describe the story of Rhapsody, who is a young singer having immense talent. She travels to a new land across time and comes to know that her destiny was foretold in one of the prophecies. During her journey, Rhapsody takes the help of her 2 companions and tries to reunite a kingdom which is ravaged by long standing prejudice and war. Author Haydon has developed the first 3 novels of the series in the form of a trilogy. The next 2 books form the middle part of the series and then from the 6th book onwards, a new trilogy has started within the series. This new trilogy is called as The War of the Known World. After a few years of the publication of the 1st three books in the series, they were published again in the form of a 6 volume set called as the La Symphonie des siecles. The success of both the fantasy novels written by author Haydon allowed her to gain a lot of appreciation and praises. The huge success also helped her to focus on writing a few other books in her career.

One of the initial books published in the Symphony of Ages series written by author Elizabeth Haydon was released under the title ‘Destiny : Child of the Sky’. It was published by the Tor Fantasy publishers in the year 2001. At the beginning of the story of this book, author Haydon has described that a fellowship of 3 people is formed for a particular purpose. Later, it is learned that in order to stand against the ancient vile called as F’dor, which was intended to destroy the world, a fellowship of three people is forged. One among them is Rhapsody, who is a well trained and highly talented singer as well as a beautiful girl. The other person is Achmed, who is an assassin and also possesses some unearthly talents. The other person forged in the fellowship is named Gruthor, who is giantly built with jolly disposition and possesses some very lethal skills with the weapons. All the three of them seem to be driven by their own prophetic visions and they very well know that they have very less time left with them as it is running short. In the whatever little is remaining with them, they have to complete the difficult task of finding their enemy before he goes on to consume the whole world with his darkness. However, when all three of them come across the F’dor, they indulge into a final and brutal fight with him. After the end of the brutal confrontation, the worlds of Rhapsody, Grunthor, and Achmed comes across the threshold of the disaster and is on the verge of facing oblivion. Later, the action of the three people reaches a high pitch and achieves a crescendo of love, triumph, and tragedy of the undying spirit of the humans over the world shattering cataclysm. In the end, as death seems to be at hand and the possibility of the world crumbling in front of them, the three people seem to finally come across their true destiny.

One of the other initial novels of the Symphony of Ages novel series written by author Elizabeth Haydon was published under the title ‘The Hollow Queen’. It was published by the Tor Fantasy publishers in the year 2015. With this novel, author Haydon has returned to with the heartbreaking story of valor and love. At the start of this novel, it is depicted that Cymrian Alliance finds the member of their group in difficult and desperate straits after being beset by the merchant emperor Talquist’s forces on all sides. Rhapsody, who is also one of the members of the Cymrian Alliance, has entered into the battle and given the duty of wielding Daystar Clarion. By doing so, she left her real name into the hiding along with her little son. One of the other members of the alliance named Ashe tries to enlist and help the Sea Mages. White Ivory Tower, which is believed to hold the secrets that could unravel the extent of the machinations of Talquist, lies with the Scholarship Citadel of the Cymrian Alliance.

In the meantime, Achmed travels to the Jierna Tal palace, which is believed to be unassailable. He intends to kill the emperor Talquist with his own hands. Achmed very well understands the fact, even if he becomes successful in killing Talquist, it will not be enough to stop the ongoing war’s momentum. The Cymrian Alliance’s leaders and members face obstacles at each and every turn while they try to struggle for untangling the web of treachery of emperor Talquist. In the end, Rhapsody realizes the fact the war can only come to a halt with the payment of a unimaginable price, which is the lives of all the people who she considers dearest. Similar to the popularity of the previous books in the Symphony of Ages series, this book too went on to become very much popular worldwide. It was liked and praised a number of readers all over the world. Even the critics and the fellow writers of author Elizabeth Haydon praised her for her determined efforts in writing down the story of the book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Haydon

Leave a Reply