Book Notification

Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Emily Kincaid Mystery Books

Dead Dancing Women (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Floating Lovers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Sleeping Shaman (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Dogs and Englishmen (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Little Dolly (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Little Library Mystery Books

A Most Curious Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Stopped for Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Want of a Knife (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Then They Were Doomed (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Elizabeth Lee Picture Books

as Elizabeth Lee
Yeet it's Bobby (With:Kayla King) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nut House Mystery Books

as Elizabeth Lee
A Tough Nut to Kill (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snoop to Nuts (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nuts and Buried (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli is an American author of mystery books. She made her debut in the publishing world in 1983 with her first novel Gift of Evil. She has written Nut House Mystery series under the pen name Elizabeth Lee. Besides writing, the author is a writing instructor at Northwestern Michigan College. Her work has appeared in different anthologies and publications.

A Most Curious Murder

An excellent cozy mystery novel is characterized by happy endings, good character development, beautiful storyline, and the best part is that they are a good source of entertainment. A Most Curious Murder is the first book in Little Library Mystery series by Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli. It’s a novel that features all the characteristics of a good mystery, but then the author took a step further and made the story even great. It is a story full of twists and turns. However what makes this book stand out from the crowd is the intertwining of emotions in the subplots that will hook you in, make you relate and think about the characters long after you’ve finished the book. Buzzelli has a lyrical rhythm to her writing which perfectly fits the theme of Alice in Wonderland book by Charles Lutwidge Dodgson under the pen name Lewis Carroll.

Jenny Weston returns home to Bear Falls after driving all night from Chicago. She hasn’t been home in almost a decade, but with loss of her friends, job and with a bitter divorce, she needs somewhere to heal her wounds and decide what to do with her life. When she stops to her mom’s house in the morning hours, she finds her mother’s Little Library broken into and the books destroyed. Her deceased father had built the library as an anniversary gift a few months before he was killed by a hit and run car. So Jenny tries to clean the mess before her mom sees it.

But she is then interrupted by her mother’s little neighbor, Zoe Zola, who loves quoting Lewis Carroll. With her emotional heartache and exhaustion, Jenny doesn’t care about Zoe, but despite her attitude, Zoe decides to help clean the library and break the news to Jenny’s mother, Dora. When the cops inform them it’s probably a hit and run, Zoe points out to all the clues which indicate that it was more than just a hit and run and that something malicious is brewing. She suspects that it could be one of the neighbors, Adam who destroyed the library since he’s always hated it and her little puppy, Fida. When the dog disappears, Zoe points her fingers in the direction of Adam Cane again, but when the man turns up dead in Zoe’s garden, she becomes the primary suspect.
The evidence available is more incriminating when Adam’s brother, Aaron, is found dead with Zoe’s dog locked in his cabin. Jenny knows that Zoe isn’t guilty, despite her idiosyncrasy, and hence she decides to investigate on her own and find some answers before the cops sent Zoe into prison. With the madness of the killings happening around her, Jenny is also faced with issues from her past that have never been resolved and could be preventing her from finding happiness. Can she find the reasons why the two brothers killed were living in abject poverty while their sister lives a wealthy life? Who would want the two loners dead and why would they try to frame Zoe? When Zoe and Jenny find an antique key taped into Fida’s collar, Jenny knows that it could be the key to unraveling the identity of the killer, but time may be running out. Will they find the killer before more people end up dead?

She Stopped for Death

She Stopped for Death is the second novel in A Little Library Mystery series by Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli. Jenny now lives with her mother in Bear Falls, Michigan. She returned home after divorcing her husband and losing her job. She and her mother have two library boxes in front of their home, one for children and the other for adult books. Dora and her neighbor Zoe have been spending their evening in porch. They notice a light down the street, and spot someone stopped at the boxes. It’s the secluded poetess, Emily Sutton and when they try to call Emily to join them- she instead runs away. When they investigate the library boxes the next day, the find slips of paper with a poem on the. It appears that Emily has started writing poems again and wishes to share her work.
Twenty-five years earlier, Emily became a published poet. But after a book tour, she returned to her family home and did not venture into poetry until now. The next night shows up again but this time round responds to Dora’s greetings. She had lived in her family home in Pewee Swamp together with her sister, Lorna. Althea, their cousin did shopping for them while a banker from around the town paid their bills. One day Lorna packed and left leaving Emily alone. Zoe volunteers to cater for Emily’s shopping needs. Jenny and her mother agree to visit Althea to find out if she’s well. Suddenly Alex Shipley shows up searching for her uncle she claims disappeared three years ago. Walter had communicated with Emily and was coming to the small town of Bear Falls for a visit. What happened to Althea, Lorna, and Walter? Zoe and Emily set out to get the answers but what happens when Zoe goes missing?

She Stopped for Death is a fantastic read with interesting characters. The main character, Jenny, has several issues she has to deal with. She is upset over her divorce, jealous of her sister, has trust issues, trouble in communicating and doesn’t know what she wants in her life and has no clue what to do with her future. Her neighbor, Zoe is a quirky character. She is a “small” woman who writes fairy tales and has fairy houses in her garden with fairies she moves the around and tells them stories and also talks to them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli

One Response to “Elizabeth Kane Buzzelli”

  1. Alice Walent-Bellar: 3 years ago

    Hi Elizabeth,
    I live across from Port Huron MI. in Sarnia ON. area.
    My inlaws now deceased lived in Frankfort MI.
    It was on one of our visits that I came upon an article that you wrote” A Career and Gardening can be balanced ” It appeared in an August edition of the Traverse City Newspaper. Year ?.
    I am an active member of the Sarnia Horticultural Society.May I have your permission to pass on this very amusing ditty to appear in our Newsletter.?
    Thank You,
    Alice Walent-Bellar


Leave a Reply