Book Notification

Elizabeth Loupas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Second Duchess (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flower Reader (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Lily Crown (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Loupas
Author Elizabeth Loupas was born and raised in Rockford, Illinois. She has lived in North Carolina, Chicago, Austin, Dallas, New Mexico, and New Orleans. lives close to the Elm Fork of the Trinity River, located halfway between Fort Worth and Dallas, Texas.

Elizabeth hates cold weather, wearing shoes, and housework. She loves popcorn, animals, and gardens. It is no surprise that she lives in a state of happy barefoot chaos with her faintly bemused and delightful husband (a Broadcasting Legend), two beagles, her herb garden, and her popcorn popper.

She is contemplative, curious about everything, solitary, and a lifelong introvert that has always had filled with stories. She tends to fade into the background in groups, but delights in individuals. A lover of plants and books, chocolate, and animals. Elizabeth reads everything and anything she can get her hands on. She has always loved history and historical fiction especially, so that when she started writing, historical fiction is what appeared on paper.

Elizabeth has held many positions in television and radio, and worked as a writer, editor, and marketing consultant. She has degrees in library/information science and literary studies.

She is also the first cousin, thirteen times removed, of Bessie Blount, the mom to the ill-fated Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Richmond and Henry VIII’s mistress.

Her debut novel, called “The Second Duchess”, was released in the year 2011. Elizabeth writes historical mystery novels.

“The Second Duchess” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2011. In a city-state that is known for its magnificence, where conspiracies and love affairs play out among brilliant musicians, poets, and painters, Alfonso d’Este (ambitious and powerful and duke of Ferrara) takes a new bride. Half of Europe is sure he killed Lucrezia, his first wife and the luminous child of the Medici. Nobody dares to even accuse him, and nobody has proof-least of all his new second duchess, the much less gorgeous but quite clever Barbara of Austria.

Barbara, who is initially just determined to ignore the rumors circulating about her new husband, embraces all of the pleasures of the Ferrarese court. Wherever she goes, she hears the whispers of the first duchess’ wayward life and subsequent mysterious death. Barbara begins asking questions, which is a dangerous mistake for any duchess of Ferrara. All of a sudden, in order to save her own life, Barbara has got no choice but to risk the terrifying displeasure of the duke and find out the truth behind Lucrezia’s death. Or she is going to share her fate.

Elizabeth does a great job with her setting, giving her readers a good sense of the place and time with some realistic characters. She keeps you changing your mind on different characters, making you think you understand just how you feel on a character, only to have you second guessing those thoughts the very next chapter. This is a very engaging read with a fantastic mystery that keeps you guessing and glued to the pages until the end.

“The Flower Reader” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. Rinette Leslie of Granmuir has got the ancient gift of divining the future using flowers. However, her gift is unable to prepare her for the turmoil that comes as the dying queen regent trusts to her a casket filled with some of the darkest secrets in all of Scotland. The same day she plans on delivering it to the newly crowned Mary, Queen of Scots, Rinette’s husband gets assassinated brutally.

Rinette, who is devastated, demands justice be done before she will hand over the casket, but is surrounded by some ruthless men willing to do anything to possess it. In the end, flowers are the only thing she is able to trust, as well as the only thing that are going to lead her safely back home to Granmuir.

Fans found themselves getting hooked on this one right away and loved every single word of it. Rinette’s voice is magnificent and the mystery does a great job of keeping you guessing until the very end. All the while, you are on the edge of your seat, with the romance being woven right into the suspense. Elizabeth is a rare author who is able to tie together diverse things like Highland politics, flower magic, and a hero who wears eyeliner.

“The Red Lily Crown” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2014. This is a story of murder, intrigue, and passion in the Medici Court. April of the year 1574 in Florence, Italy. Grand Duke Cosimo de’ Medici is on his deathbed. The city has been paralyzed with dread because the next guy to wear the red lily crown is going to be the alchemy obsessed, dangerous, and despotic Prince Francesco.

Chiara Nerini, an anti-Medici bookseller’s troubled daughter, goes off to save her starving family and sells off her dead dad’s rare alchemical equipment to the prince. She gets trapped in the man’s house instead, taken captive and forcibly initiated as a virgin acolyte in Francesco’s quest for immortality and power. Still undaunted, she seizes her opportunity to pursue one undreamed of power of her very own.

Witness to brutal murder plots and sensuous intrigues, Chiara looks for a safe path through the labyrinth of Medici deception and tyranny. Beside her walks Ruanno, the prince’s English alchemist and her teacher and friend, who is driven by dark goals of his own. Will Chiara be able to trust him to keep each one of her secrets, even love her? Or is he going to prove to be her most treacherous enemy she has?

Elizabeth’s portrayal of sixteenth century Tuscany is radiantly atmospheric and jumps right off of the page and it comes to life with just as much character and personality as the people walking the streets. Readers were kept guessing with all of the plot twists, which added a sense of uncertainty and they deeply desired to see how Claire’s story would play out further.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Loupas

Leave a Reply