Book Notification

Elizabeth Musser Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secrets Of The Cross Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Swan House Books

The Swan House (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dwelling Place (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Promised Land (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Searching for Eternity (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Words Unspoken (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sweetest Thing (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long Highway Home (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
When I Close My Eyes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Way of the Moonlight (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Waiting for Peter (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Beyond Limits (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Among the Fair Magnolias(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Musser
Elizabeth Musser is a Christian fiction, historical fiction, literature, and historical romance writer best known for her best-selling book Swan House. The novel featured among Amazon’s Top Christian Books in the past 100 years. Musser has a good number of other books on the international bestsellers list. Away from writing, Musser has been involved in missionary work. For over 25 years, the author and her husband have been working with International Teams-now One Collective. The couple has raised two sons together, and the family has grown to include one daughter in law and 3 grandchildren.

The Swan House
The Swan House is the first book in The Swan House series. The story features 16-year-old Mary Swan Middleton. Mary is chosen as the school Raven this year. Once every year, the school chooses a Raven to solve a mystery of sorts. Mary’s dare is to solve the mystery surrounding the disappearance of three paintings. One of the donors is her mother, so Mary expects the challenge to easy. How wrong she is. First, her mother dies in a plane crash when coming from Paris. Determined to uncover the truth, Mary stumbles upon secrets about her mother, she wishes she never found out. These discoveries only make her tragic loss more painful.

To help ease her grief, the family maid challenges Mary to reach out to the poor. Thanks to this challenge, Mary meets Carl, a young man who is everything Mary is not. Carl doesn’t come with money, but he offers Mary something even money cannot buy. The young man is instrumental in helping Mary uncover the secrets her mother tried to hide from her.

While Mary went to church all her life, her challenge with Christianity comes when she sees the devotion of one white woman. The woman in question gives up a life of privilege and devotes her time to serving the poor. Afraid that God may call her to something similar, Mary is careful not to get too close to God. However, her curiosity gets the better of her, and Mary wishes to experience the strong faith she sees in the white woman. Where does this journey lead her? Will Mary find the answers she seeks on Faith and Christianity?

Set in the 1960s, when racism was rife, this story exposes the hate and poverty that characterized this era. Mary grew up in the south, so racial tension is something she witnessed. Somehow this never sank in until she loses her mother. Her great sorrow and personal heartbreak lead Mary on a path to self-discovery. In the end, she finds peace with God. The story also paints an accurate picture of the power of love. There is a suspense to this story caused by tensions in relationships between lovers, families, and people from different backgrounds. The Christian element flows naturally, making this a perfect read even for those who do not know much about Christianity.

The beauty of this story is that the characters are believable. Starting with Mary, the cast will captivate you enough to care. The historical details add a unique touch to the story, and the references to race relations and old Atlanta will move you. The Swan House is an engrossing coming of age story that will make you laugh, cry, and think. By the time you get to the end, you can expect to feel challenged, encouraged, and thankful.

The Sweetest Thing
The Sweetest Thing tells the story of two girls from different worlds who become best of friends. Anne “Perri” Singleton is the daughter of a revivalist. While her family is dirt poor, Perri is elevated into a prestigious girl’s school in Atlanta. The young girl enjoys the security of her family, a great social life, and a number of good friends to boot. Mary Dobbs Dillard is the daughter of a traveling minister. Her family has just moved from Chicago, and Mary joins Perri’s school. The two become fast friends despite their different backgrounds. Perri’s life is disturbed by the great depression, but her friendship with Dobbs blossoms despite the numerous challenges.

Both Perri and Dobbs wrestle with big questions. What is the reason for suffering? Why do people die? Can God be trusted to provide for us? As they edge into adulthood, the two young women will begin to understand the reason why life appears easy for some while others suffer. This story is told in Perri and Dobbs’ point of view. The book is in diary format, and everything from the girls’ dreams to passions reflects their 16-year-old selves. The author does a great job of vividly describing the scenes, as witnessed during the great depression. Many people suffered during this period, and faith was among the things that got them through it. The cast is diverse and well developed, and it’s fun to see how they all relate to the two main characters.
This is a story of human failings, selfishness, pride, and judgment. It is also the story of faith that details the need for a loving father in times of need. While you may shed tears at some point, you can be sure that this book is good medicine for the soul. It is amazing how different characters choose to deal with life’s struggles. Most of the challenges the two teenagers struggle with are the same for modern-day teenagers. There is a lot the young can learn from this story.

If you are a fan of historical Christian fiction, there is doubt that you are going to love The Sweetest Things. Read about two young girls, their journey of faith, and the challenges they overcome when they place their trust in God. While there is a lot of bible quotes in the story, the author incorporates them without being preachy. Some of the characters struggle with Christianity, and it takes a lot of time for them to discover the true meaning of God’s love. The book is clean, making it perfect for teenagers and young adults. Away from the story, the vivid descriptions bring Atlanta Society in the 1930s to life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elizabeth Musser

Leave a Reply