Book Notification

Ellen Block Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Abigail Harker Books

The Language of Sand (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Destination Known (As: Brett Ellen Block) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grave of God's Daughter (As: Brett Ellen Block) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lightning Rule (As: Brett Ellen Block) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Random House Reader's Circle Books

Lives of the Poets (By: E.L. Doctorow) (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billy Bathgate (By: E.L. Doctorow) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tender at the Bone (By: Ruth Reichl) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anthropology of an American Girl (By: Hilary Thayer Hamann) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Garden (By: Stephanie Barron) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Juliet (By: Anne Fortier) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wives of Henry Oades (By: Johanna Moran) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delta Girls (By: Gayle Brandeis) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pull of the Moon (By: Elizabeth Berg) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Definition of Wind (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
When We Were Friends (By: Elizabeth Joy Arnold) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Game of Secrets (By: Dawn Tripp) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Homecoming of Samuel Lake (By: Jenny Wingfield) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invisible (By: Carla Buckley) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lullaby of Polish Girls (By: Dagmara Dominczyk) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ellen Block is a general fiction and literary fiction novelist from New Jersey.

The author was born and bred in Summit, New Jersey, and is best known for the “Abigail Harker” series of novels.

She went to the University of Michigan, where she got her Fine Arts undergraduate degree. It was at the same institution that she earned the Haugh and Hopwood Prizes for Fiction.

Ellen would then attend the renowned Iowa Writers’ Workshop. She also went to the Fiction Writing Program at East Anglia, where she got her graduate degrees.

She made her fiction writing debut with “Destination Known,” her debut collection of short stories. The work was the winner of the Drue Heinz Literary Prize and won Ellen the Michener-Copernicus Fellowship.

She made her novel writing debut when she published “The Grave of God’s Daughter.” The work gave her the confidence she needed to continue writing. She would soon after pen “The Lightning Rule,” a novel that would go on to win a Macavity Award.
Ellen Block made her debut with the publishing of “The Language of Sand” in 2010. Over the years, her work has been translated into more than half a dozen languages all over the globe.

When Ellen Block is not writing her blockbuster works of fiction, she loves to pay it back. She is the founder of a service dedicated to helping established and aspiring authors grow and succeed in the cutthroat world of publishing.
“The Query Letter Coach” is a company that helps authors craft queries, edit manuscripts, polish book proposals, and find the best literary representation.

Sometimes, she can be found online working on her newsletter which she sends to her subscribers on a regular basis. She is also very active on social media, where she sometimes sends bonus content and exclusive giveaways to her fans and readers.
Still, the best place to contact Bret is on the “Query Letter Coach” website.

“The Language of Sand” by Ellen Block is an interesting literary fiction novel that unravels one of life’s greatest mysteries.

The work is all about how to soldier on following a devastating loss through the power of words and their ability to touch, transform, and heal the heart. As a lexicographer, Abigail Harker has always found comfort in words and meanings.
But in one tragic moment, fate erases the foundations of her life – the thing that she loves the most. Trying to heal from the pain, she decides to leave town.

Ellen Block retreats to a secluded island named Isle Chapel in Outer Banks North Carolina. She works as the caretaker of a run-down lighthouse, where she hopes that she can get an opportunity to redefine who she is.
But then a resident tells her that Chapel Isle is not the normal place she was expecting it to be. It is a place that is not so easy to define.

From the ghost that is rumored to haunt the lighthouse, to a scientific genius. From the handsome hothead to the feuding wives of the fishermen, everyone struggles to find meaning in a place where no one knows what it is.
When the island experiences a series of mysterious crimes, Abigail discovers that she needs to confront her deepest fears if she is to save her neighbors, herself, and the new life that she has come to cherish so much.

Ellen Block’s novel “The Definition of Wind” is set in Chapel Isle during the summer. This is the quirky and quaint little island that has been home to Abigail Harker ever since she found a job working as a caretaker of the local lighthouse.
The season promises to have sweltering temperatures but that will never deter the throngs of tourists eager to bring pandemonium to the sleepy town.

It is a world that Abigail fled from but it seems it is descending onto her doorstep and she is not so sure she will be able to deal with the heat.

Natives and tourists alike are buzzing about some sunken treasure believed to be located in the dangerous shoals off the coast. Everyone believes that several clues to where it can be found are to be found in the caretaker’s small cottage.
Abigail finds herself the focus of just about everyone including a seductive and handsome bachelor. In the throng of vacationers, it is not so easy to tell harmless visitors from those with evil attentions.

With Independence Day on the horizon, Abigail does not know if she should stay on the island and risk heartbreak and her own safety, or allow the dangers of the present and ghosts of her past to overwhelm her.

“Destination Known” by Ellen Block is an award-winning collection of short stories connected through a myriad of images and through what is left unsaid.

From a middle-aged and harmless woman named Margaret who is the witness to a hit-and-run incident and then goes on to chase down the culprit to Adriene, a woman who gets stuck in the middle of the desert after stealing her boyfriend’s car.
Block is not one to mince her words as she shows everything that happens in the lives of her characters. At meaningful points in their lives, the characters seem very driven, even if they often do not realize how impactful these moments are.
A retired box maker named Franklin is determined to ensure his landlord’s son does not get into the porno business and then there is an ice cream truck driver Christine, who stumbles upon her runaway niece.

Lastly is James, a man stuck at a Newark bus stop who makes an instantaneous decision to save a homeless man whose life is in danger.

The mix of characters is a representation of the different elements of what is the modern and very fractured culture.

Ellen Block forces us to imagine an uncertain future by forcing us to pay attention, even as our white-knuckled hands grip the steering wheel with anticipation and our lives careen down the dark paths of life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ellen Block

Leave a Reply