Book Notification

Ellery Hathaway Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ellery Hathaway Books

The Vanishing Season (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Mercy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Best Lies (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Waking Hour (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Seen Alive (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joanna Schaffhausen is a published author.

In addition to being an author, Joanna is able to wield a scalpel as part of the skills that she developed studying neuroscience for years. She graduated school with her doctorate in psychology, part of the evidence of her interest in the brain that she has held for a long time. It particularly interests her in terms of development and how it can go wrong in so many ways.

Prior to being a writer, Joanna was employed as a scientific editor in drug development. Before that, she worked for ABC News as an editorial producer. She wrote for such programs on television as 20/20, Good Morning America, and World News tonight. She is married and resides in the Boston area along with her daughter, husband, and their basset hound.

Joanna says that she gets her ideas for books from all types of places, but most of all true crime story. She goes to sleep listening to Forensic Files, admitting that she’s seen each episode likely a dozen times by now. She likes turning to the stories to find out how investigators view their cases and think and talk about them. She also finds it interesting how there are many avenues and clues to follow in the beginning, and there’s a thrill in finding out which of the evidence ends up being key to helping solve the case.

Her advice for aspiring writers is to read a wide variety of books and to think about the craft of writing as you’re doing it. She advises them to think about why the author has started the story where they have or pick one point of view over another one. She also instructs potential writers to write quite a bit. Joanna also says it’s important to get feedback on your work. Joining a writing group can help to get that feedback and while you don’t have to take every piece of advice, if a lot of readers are finding the same issue you might want to consider working on that part of the story.

Her books are standalone novels and can be read without reading other books first. But the characters also develop with time, so she advises to read in order to best enjoy this part of the books. Fans of her work can place an order through Brookline Booksmith to get a personalized signed copy of her books. She also enjoys book clubs and is happy to join books clubs in person that are close to Boston or with Zoom for others if they reach out and are discussing one of her books for the club!

Joanna Schaffhausen is the creator and the author of the Ellery Hathaway series of fictional novels. The mystery thriller features police officer Ellery Hathaway, a woman who has been through a lot and that includes surviving a serial killer. Patrolling Woodbury, Massachusetts, she helps Reed Markham, a FBI profiler, bring guilty criminals to find justice. The series first began in 2017 with the publication of the debut novel, The Vanishing Season. The second book came out in 2019 and is titled No Mercy. The third book, All the Best Lies, came out in 2020. Every Waking Hour, the fourth book, came out in 2021. The fifth book is titled Last Seen Alive and was released in 2022.

The Vanishing Season is the first book in the Ellery Hathaway Series by Joanna Schaffhausen. If you’ve been looking for a new read to check out, give this thriller a try!

Main character Ellery Hathaway has had some extensive police training, but that’s not where she got the majority of her knowledge about serial killers. Her awareness of serial killers comes from experience. Today she works as an officer, serving the sleepy town of Woodbury, Massachusetts, a place so sleepy that sometimes a bike getting stolen makes the papers.

There isn’t anyone who lives there that knows that she used to be a victim of Francis Michael Coben, the only one who managed to get away and live. Ellery starts to get suspicious when three people go missing from the town in three years, all incidents happening around the time of her birthday. The officer wonders if someone dangerous out there knows her secret.

Her superiors say that she shouldn’t be that worried, but she knows that it’s coming up to the time where people have gone missing and thinks that the person responsible might strike again. The only thing to do is to get in touch with the person that she trusts to believe her. That is the FBI agent that years ago helped save her from the clutches of a killer.

Agent Reed Markham was made known for his work on the Doben case, but things have changed. He’s working with a bad marriage, his bosses don’t think he has what it takes still, and he’s blown a huge investigation. He wonders when Ellery gets in touch whether she was really saved even though he rescued her.

The best thing he ever did was also the worst moments of her life. Now Ellery and Reed are about to go back to the past and the same killer and case to try and see if they can finally bring this thing to a close. Can they catch this killer? Read this thriller to find out!

No Mercy is the second book in the Ellery Hathaway Series by Joanna Schaffhausen. If you liked the first book in the series, check this one out as well!

Ellery Hathaway has been placed on leave from her job as a police officer. She shot a killer dead and won’t apologize for it. She is made to go to group therapy for victims of violent crime. There she finds more to prioritize than just getting deeper in touch with how she feels. She suspects that a group member may have assisted in helping to convict the wrong person for arson years ago.

She also finds herself talking to a woman that went through but made it out of a brutal rape. The person who did this is still free, and the man who climbs through bedroom windows is out there. His victim asks her to help find the man who attacked her. Ellery looks for advice from Reed Markham, the same man that saved her from the closet and clutches of a killer when she was young.

Reed continues to be drawn to her. But he’s also up for a promotion, and his boss throws down the condition that he stay away from her. Meanwhile, Ellery looks for answers in many people’s pasts, but is she safe in doing so? Read this thriller to find out what happens in the end!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ellery Hathaway

Leave a Reply