Book Notification

Ellie Haskell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ellie Haskell Mystery Books

The Thin Woman (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Widow's Club (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mum's the Word (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Femmes Fatal (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Murder Your Mother-In-Law (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Murder the Man of Your Dreams (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spring Cleaning Murders (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Harriet (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bridesmaids Revisited (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Importance of Being Ernestine (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Withering Heights (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodbye, Ms. Chips (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Shoots to Conquer (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Dorothy Cannell began publishing stories about Ellie Haskell in the year 1984 when “The Thin Woman” was released. It ended in the year 2009, with the release of “She Shoots to Conquer”, the thirteenth novel of the series. The series is from the mystery genre.

The series stars both Ellie (who’s maiden name is Simons, and she is an interior decorator) and Ben Haskell (who is a chef and a writer). They get married by the end of book one, and they have twins in the fourth novel.

The series also features two dotty sisters that own the Flowers Detection Agency that are named Primrose and Hyacinth Tramwell.

“The Widow’s Club” was nominated for both an Anthony and Agatha for Best Novel in the year 1989.

“The Thin Woman” is the first novel in the “Ellie Haskell” series and was released in the year 1984. Ellie Simons, who is overweight, is horrified about spending an entire weekend with her own snobby relatives. She decides to take the attention away from her failings, both professional and personal, by coming with her adoring boyfriend. Only, she does not actually have a boyfriend.

That is where a man named Benthley T. Haskell comes in, he is an extremely handsome escort that will play the part for quite a bit of money. Ellie and Bentley get much more than just a miserable visit with some relatives when the weekend turns deadly.

Some really enjoyed reading this story, especially Ellie, who is well developed in the story. Dorothy really makes you root for this very human character, as she is a little old and overweight. Some liked that Dorothy would have a main character that is not simply a goddess, but someone that is built like a real human is. Fans of the novel found this to be entertaining, with a lot of humor and an easy going writing style. On display were small character traits, especially about Ellie.

“The Widow’s Club” is the second novel in the “Ellie Haskell” series and was released in the year 1988. Ellie is now thin, newly married and is a potential killer. The life she has in a charming town called Chitterton Fells looks like it will give her nothing but endless joy, until she meets two of the most clever, not to mention most unlikely private investigators to ever go looking for a sinister killer. They are Hyacinth and Primrose Tramwell and were called in by a big insurance company to investigate the high rate sudden deaths of married men in this idyllic town.

The unmarried sleuths quickly find that the husbands were cheating on their wives. Their deaths were carried out by The Widows Club, it is an enterprising social organization.

In order to find the leader behind this evil ring, the Tramwells will require one betrayed and unhappy wife. That is where Ellie will come in, and she will put her own life, not to mention her husband’s so that she can join The Widows Club. So that she can get her dearly beloved dead.

This was quite the page turner from start to finish for some readers. Fans of the novel find that they enjoyed this one just as much as the first book in the series. Some enjoyed the premise in this book, and they liked seeing the Flowers Detection Agency pop up in the book. They added something nice to the mix, as they were quite interesting to read about. With each book, it is like stopping by to see Ellie and Ben and anyone else that is stopping by, be they friends or family.

“Mum’s the Word” is the third novel in the “Ellie Haskell” series and was released in the year 1990. Ellie is gaining weight while pregnant, making her thin days numbered. It is time to put her feet up, let out her clothes, all so she can get ready to enjoy almost a year as a pampered wife.

The first pangs of morning sickness have just barely passed her by when Ben gets invited to compete for a exclusive membership. It will make him part of a very exclusive secret society of chefs. All of a sudden, Ellie is taken away to America. She goes to a place called Mud Creek, Illinois, and she sees a gothic mansion that comes right from a horror movie.

This was yet another book in this series that was hard for some to put down for very long. Fans of the novel found this had quite a startling conclusion, during the surprise attack that takes place. This was quite an enjoyable installment, and it taking place in America was a nice change of pace.

“Femmes Fatal” is the fourth novel in the “Ellie Haskell” series and was released in the year 1992. Ellie Haskell once lived a life right from a fairy tale. She was overweight, did not make much money as an interior decorator, and then falls in love with a handsome prince. Then she lives happily ever after. Four months after her twins are born, and the very thing she dreaded is now true. The prince is now a frog, and there is little joy in the bedroom.

Can a class, focused on the sensual arts (with love rub and nighties), spark the romance that her and Ben once had? It is an idea that takes Ellie right to a place called Fully Female.

Before her marriage gets its makeover, one of the fellow females becomes a zombie and sex crazed. Another one dies in a bubble bath. Yet another winds up dead, and Ellie realizes that it is something more than just some bad luck. Ellie has to catch this killer before love starts getting a bad name.

These are well written cozy mysteries with well drawn characters, who are flawed and human, not to mention very interesting to read about. Fans of the novel found this had a complicated story and was fast paced, something that kept the pages turning. It weaves humor and suspense to make the readers laugh while breaking up the tension after all the corpses turn up. These books are simply fun and entertaining reads that readers cannot seem to get enough of, no matter how many times they have read them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ellie Haskell

Leave a Reply