Book Notification

Elliot Ackerman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Green on Blue (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark at the Crossing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waiting for Eden (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Dress in Black and White (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
2034 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halcyon (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
2054 (With: James Stavridis) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Istanbul Letters (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Places and Names (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fifth Act (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Why I Like This Story(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moms Don't Have Time To(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elliot Ackerman is a popular Turkish-American author, who is based in Istanbul as of now and is famous for writing fiction, contemporary, and historical fiction books. He has written a successful standalone books in his career. Ackerman is currently working on the next novel of his writing career, which he is expected to publish very soon. Besides being a successful author, Ackerman is also popular for being the son of the famous businessman named Peter Ackerman and an equally successful author named Joanne Leedom-Ackerman. His brother, Nate Ackerman, is a noteworthy wrestler and mathematician. It can be rightly said that each member of author Ackerman is famous in one or the other fields, including himself. Author Ackerman was born on April 12, 1980 in Los Angeles, United States. When he was 9 years old, his family shifted to London. But, they returned back to the American city of Washington, DC, when Ackerman had grown 15 years old. He studied history and literature at the Tufts University and graduated with a summa cum laude & Phi Beta Kappa in the year 2003. Author Ackerman pursued a special program that enabled him to earn both his bachelor’s & master’s degrees in a period of 5 years. Ackerman’s master earned his master’s degree in the subject of International Affairs from the Fletcher Law & Diplomacy School. Later, he also completed a number of training courses that comprised of many of the most difficult and challenging special operations of the US military. At the start of his career, author Ackerman spent around 8 years in the Marine Corps of the United States military as an officer of special operations and infantry. His military career made him serve multiple duty tours in the Southwest Asia and Middle East. Being the team leader of a Special Operations Marine Corps team, author Ackerman operated as a combat advisor for the 700-man commando battalion of Afghanistan that was responsible for operations of capturing against the senior leadership of the Taliban. Ackerman even lead a seventy five-man platoon in the aid & relief operations in the Katrina-affected areas of New Orleans.

For a short period of time, Ackerman was attached to the CIA’s Special Activity Division’s Ground Branch. Author Ackerman has also served as the COO of a political organization called Americans Elect, which was founded by his businessman father Peter Ackerman. He continues to serve on the Board of Advisors of the organization. This organization is responsible for its effort during the US Presidential Election of 2012. Author Ackerman was a part of an initiative called Afghan Scholars Initiative, and was the advisor to the scholarship fund called No Greater Sacrifice. Author Ackerman is so attached to Turkey that he has shifted to Istanbul permanently. Currently, he resides there along with his loving wife and 2 beautiful children. Ackerman spends most of his daytime writing about the Civil War in Syria. The fictional essays written by Ackerman have featured in The Atlantic, Ecotone, The New Yorker, The New Republic, The NY Times Magazine, and many others. Various journals have interviewed him, including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and The Washington Post. Author Ackerman’s novels have been praised positively by many critics. They are often described as powerful war stories. Being a decorated veteran, Ackerman has earned a Purple and a Silver Heart for playing an important role in the Second Fallujah Battle in 2004. He has also received a ‘Bronze Star’ for Valor. In addition to these, he earned the General Edwin Wheeler Award for his excellence in the infantry. In the field of literature, author Ackerman’s novel, Dark at the Crossing, has nominated for National Book Award.

The debut book written by author Elliot Ackerman is entitled ‘Green on Blue’. It was released by the Scribner publication in the year 2015. The central characters of the book include Ali and Aziz, and the plot takes place in eastern Afghanistan. The book’s story starts by showing that Aziz and Ali are brothers growing up in a small village located between endless mountains and pine forests in eastern Afghanistan. They learn to write and read from their mother due to the absence of a school in their village. The brothers go on a 2-day journey to the market once every month. In spite of being poor, the family seems to have love and stability in their lives. But, their world turns upside down when a military convoy arrives in the village. Somehow, the boys manage to survive and run away to a nearby small city. There, they join many other orphans and sleep with them. In order to earn their livelihood, the brothers start begging. Shortly after, they gain the trust of the local shop-owners. Ali saves money for sending Aziz to madrassa for his schooling. During a bomb explosion after the invasion of the US forces in the country, Ali gets badly injured. While visiting his brother at the hospital, Aziz comes across Afghan in American uniform. This makes him realize that he must join a militia funded by the US, called Special Lashkar, for saving his brother. Having not attained manhood yet, Aziz leaves to the join Special Lashkar. However, he gets trapped in a contrived and savage conflict. Aziz faces a lot of struggle and is unable to understand his priorities. At no point he is ready to put the lives of his dear brother and the woman he loves in jeopardy.

Another popular book that author Ackerman wrote is called ‘Dark at the Crossing’. This book was published by the Knopf publication in 2017. Author Ackerman has set this book’s story in Syria and Turkey, and has mentioned the primary characters as Haris Abadi, Amir, and Daphne. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Haris Abadi is an Arab-American having a conflicted past. He appears to be a man looking for a cause in his life. Being in Turkey, Haris Abadi makes an attempt to cross into the neighboring country of Syria. He wishes to join in the battle against the regime of Bashar al-Assad. However, before he can do so, Haris Abadi gets robbed and taken in by Daphne and Amir. Daphne is a beautiful woman haunted by a grief and Amir’s wife, while Amir is a former revolutionary and a charismatic refugee from Syria. Daphne makes it clear to Haris Abadi that she is too desperate to return back to Syria. The sudden change in events makes Haris wonder on whose side he really is? He also wonders whether he will be able to come out of the increasing helplessness and frustration? This book explores loss, second chances, and belief, and is told with deftness and compassion.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elliot Ackerman

Leave a Reply