Book Notification

Ember Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Book of Ember Books

The City of Ember (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The People of Sparks (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prophet of Yonwood (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond of Darkhold (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ember Graphic Novels

Author Jeanne DuPrau began releasing “Ember” novels in the year 2003, when “The City of Ember” was released. The series ended after the fourth book, “The Diamond of Darkhold” was released in the year 2008. The series is from the genre of post apocalyptic science fiction.

The first book in the series was adapted into a film and was released in the year 2008. Rights for “The People of Sparks” were bought but due to the low box office numbers for “The City of Ember”, it is unlikely another movie will be made from this series.

Book one in the series, “The City of Ember”, won a Mark Twain award, Child Magazine’s Best Children’s Book, William Allen White Children’s Book Award, Kirkus Editor’s Choice, and was named a Notable Book by American Library Association.

The series is about a city that is always dark and relies on artificial light, just to light the town. There is no moon, no sun, or natural light. There is only light when the electricity is switched on. The electricity they have is starting to fail on them.

Three of the books in the series stars Lina Mayfleet (who has long dark hair) and Doon Harrow, who are both twelve years old. The third book stars a girl named Nickie, before the city of Ember is even finished. She is eleven years old.

“The City of Ember” is the first novel in the “Ember” series and was released in the year 2003. Many centuries ago, a city called Ember was made by Builders. The point of the city was that it would contain everything that humans would need for survival. Things were working, but store rooms are running dangerously low on food, the crops have been blighted, the lights are failing, and there is corruption running rampant in the city. Because of the darkness, there will soon be total darkness over Ember.

Lina and Doon (who are two kids) find parts of an old document and they begin thinking that there might be a way out of Ember. Will they be able to figure out the words from a long time ago and locate a brand new future for all the people in Ember? Are the people of Ember going to listen to what they have to say?

Fans cannot wait to get their hands on the next book of the series after they finished this one, they want to know what happens next that badly. Fans of the novel were glad that they finally picked this book up and read it, it is that good. Some found that this was tightly written with a good setting and strong mystery. Not to mention some vivid descriptions about character. The characters in this are not perfect, and things go the way they do because they make certain mistakes in the book.

“The People of Sparks” is the second novel in the “Ember” series and was released in the year 2004. Lina and Doon lead the city of Ember up from the underground and find there is a surface world full of life and color. People that live in Sparks, a small village, agree to help out the Emberites.

These villagers have not ever had to share their land before. The differences between the two escalate. It is up to Doon and Lina to figure out a way to avoid a war from breaking out.

So far, this series has started out with two totally different stories, but is still able to be thought provoking for the reader. Fans of the novel found this to be a thought provoking and insightful as the first book. Readers like that the main characters are still trying to work on themselves, and have some realistic struggles that they have to work on. The book has quite a few characters that honestly try to do some good.

“The Prophet of Yonwood” is the third novel in the “Ember” series and was released in the year 2006. This novel is set before books one and two in “Ember”. Nickie is going to grow up and be one of the first citizens of Ember. Right now, she is just an eleven year old female with a father that was sent away on some kind of secret government project.

The first shot at moving presents itself to her, and she jumps at it. The new town of Yonwood, North Carolina is not what she thought it would be though. It is full of mistrust and suspicion, a place where a single person’s acts of destruction and fire have pitted each of the citizens against one another.

Nickie takes in all the odd things that are around her. Like her great grandfather’s weird journals, an odd boy that is fascinated with snakes, and a recluse of a neighbor that studies the heavens. The whole time, she keeps an eye out for any way that she can help out the world. Or has it become too late to keep an awful war from happening?

Some found this novel to be engrossing, full of love and friendship, as well as dilemmas and oddities too. Readers feel that this is science fiction for those readers that do not tend to enjoy reading science fiction most of the time. Fans of the novel found themselves pumped up and excited to read the next book in the series after this one. Some found this to be a touching and enjoyable read, they thought that it was one of the strongest installments of the entire series.

“The Diamond of Darkhold” is the third novel in the “Ember” series and was released in the year 2006. Several months have gone by since Lina and Doon left the dying town of Ember before the entire town joined Sparks. They find an odd book while they struggle above ground during the tough winter.

It is torn to shreds and missing quite a bit of the pages, and talks of a puzzling device that originates from before the Disaster. They believe it is still in the abandoned city of Ember. Doon and Lina have to go back to the underground to get the lost object so they can bring light into a dark world.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ember

Leave a Reply