Book Notification

Emily Giffin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Adventures of Darcy Books

Something Borrowed (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Blue (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Baby Proof (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love the One You're With (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of the Matter (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where We Belong (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The One & Only (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Comes Love (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
All We Ever Wanted (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lies That Bind (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Meant to Be (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer Pact (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Girls' Night Out(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emily Fisk Giffin is an American author born on 20th March of the year 1972 in Baltimore, Maryland. As a child, she was living in the suburbs of Chicago. She attended Naperville North High School, which is in Naperville in the state of Illinois. While she was in school, she was a creative writing club member and for the school’s newspaper she served as editor-in-chief. At Wake Forest University, she did her undergraduate course and earned a degree in it. She also did her double major in English and History from the same university and during that time she was serving as the basketball team’s manager. After graduating from Wake Forest University, she went to the University of Virginia to attend a law school. She moved to Manhattan in the year 1997 after graduating from the law school and started working in Winston & Strawn in the litigation department. Even when Emily was working, she never left her dream of writing. She was very serious to pursue her career as a writer. Author Emily Giffin began writing full-time from the year 2001, after moving to London. Her first novel was a young adult one and was titled ‘Lily Holding True.’ Since it was her first time eight publishers rejected her novel. Even after all these rejections, she was determined and never left hope and began writing a new novel. This novel was then titled Rolling the Dice, but was later changed to Something Borrowed before its publishing. Something Borrowed became the bestselling novel of its time. In the year 2002, Emily finally found an agent and soon the publishers at the St. Martin’s Press made a contract with her for two books.

Something Borrowed was released in the year 2004 and while she was revising this book, she thought to write a sequel of it. Soon she began writing the second novel after Something Borrowed that was titled Something Blue. This novel was released in the year 2005. Baby Proof was released by her in the year 2006 and the fourth one titled Love the One You’re With was released in the year 2007. The American author Emily Fisk Giffin has written seven novels till now and all of them have been in the list of international bestsellers. Out of seven, three have appeared in the Top 150 list of USA’s Today. A film was released starring Kate Hudson in the lead role in adapting Something Borrowed on 6th May of the year 2011, and its sequel book Something Blue is under production for a movie. More than eleven million copies of her books have been sold worldwide and the translation of her books was done in thirty-one languages. She has three young children now and lives along with her husband in Atlanta. First Comes Love is the 8th novel written by author Emily Giffin and it was released on 28th June of the year 2016.

The American author Emilly Giffin has written mostly standalone novels and a series with two books in it. The name of the series is ‘Darcy & Rachel’ and the first book that came out in this series was ‘Something Borrowed.’ This book was published by St. Martin’s Press on 1st June, 2004. The main characters in the books are Darcy and Rachel. The story of Rachel is narrated in the novel Something Borrowed. She lives and work in Manhattan as a young attorney. Rachel is living the life of a good girl and always keeps herself away from all the harm. This goes on until a birthday party is given by Rachel’s best friend Darcy on Rachel’s thirtieth birthday. In the event of partying Rachel couldn’t control herself and drinks too much that makes her end up sleeping with the fiancé of Darcy. When she wakes up, she knows that a big mistake has been made by her and she cannot undo it, but thinks that she will try to forget everything and move on with her life. Thinking it as a one-night fling, it ends up developing feelings within Rachel for Darcy’s fiancé. This guy is the one she should run away from, but she couldn’t stop herself. In the amidst all these things the wedding date in September comes close and she knows that whatever choice she has to make, she must do it quickly as the clock is ticking. During this time, she comes to know there is a very blurry line between right and wrong and real world doesn’t have a good ending. She knows that in order to get true happiness, risk has to be taken even if the outcome is not good. The debut novel of the American author Emily Griffin, Something Borrowed will make you laugh, cry and call the best friend of your life.

The second and the last book in the series Darcy & Rachel by the American author Emily Giffin is titled ‘Something Blue.’ It was also published by St. Martin’s Griffin on 21st March, 2006. After the big hit of the first novel Something Borrowed, the second novel brings betrayal along with forgiveness and redemption. Darcy Rhone knows that there are few things on which she can always rely on and those are: her charm and beauty, Dex, her fiancé, and on her best friend for life Rachel. Darcy was completely happy with her life and never wanted anything else. But life didn’t want the same for Darcy as Dex cancels the wedding that was like a dream come true for Darcy. Soon she finds out the reason behind this and it was because of her best friend Rachel. She feels betrayed and blames everyone in her life. She leaves the city and goes to London in an attempt to put all the pieces of her life together. In a new continent, she tries to live her glamorous life again, but fails to do so as her tricks and charm are no longer effective. After all these bad luck, she starts her journey on the path of forgiveness and redemption and again finds true love and hoping not to get betrayed this time. This novel is full of love and sorrow that will leave the reader with a good memory to cherish.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emily Giffin

Leave a Reply