Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Walt Longmire Books In Order

Publication Order of Walt Longmire Books

The Cold Dish (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Without Company (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kindness Goes Unpunished (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Another Man's Moccasins (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dark Horse (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Junkyard Dogs (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hell is Empty (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Divorce Horse (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
As the Crow Flies (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Messenger (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Serpent's Tooth (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Spirit of Steamboat (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Any Other Name (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dry Bones (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Obvious Fact (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Highwayman (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Western Star (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Highwayman (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Western Star (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Depth of Winter (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Walt Longmire Collections

Christmas in Absaroka County (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wait for Signs (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Walt Longmire Biography:

Walt Longmire is the main fictional character in a series of mystery crime novels written by Craig Johnson. In the books, Walt is the local sheriff of a rural fictional county of Absaroka in Wyoming, the same state where the author of the book series resides.

The author of the book series revealed in a press interview the brain behind the name of the fictional character; he describe it as “Walt — as in, he has long been mired in trouble” after reeling from mourning his wife’s death to solving mysterious cases.

Set in a local small county where everybody knows one another, the main plot of the books follows the life and career of sheriff Walt Longmire; his run-ins with combating crime, the in-house politics in the office and his relationship with residents in the county.

After his wife died in mysterious circumstances, Walt faced an hard time finding an energy and interest to continue as the county’s sheriff. With the help of his close friend, Henry, his daughter, Cady, and his loyal deputy, Ruby, Walt came out of his shell with a renewed vigor to continue his work as the county’s sheriff and solve various mysterious crimes.
During Walt’s period of depression after the death of his wife, he gained some weight and subsequently became overweight. This was especially used as a means of consistent insult by another deputy, Vic, towards the grieving sheriff.

In the first book of the series, The Cold Fish, Nick was entangled in a controversy concerning the conviction of three men accused of raping and assaulting a young girl. Although the three suspects were all convicted of the crimes, the conviction did little to appease the residents of Absaroka because the sentences were believed not to be enough justice for the crimes committed.
Later passages in the series revealed that Walt developed a romantic feeling for his close and loyal new deputy, Cady. Although Cady is married, she is unhappy and her marriage has become a mare formality. Walt’s affection for Cady however becomes complicated when he realizes he has a similar feeling for another woman.

Walt Longmire Book Series

The first book of the series, The Cold Dish, was published in December 2004. Since then, eleven more books have been published in the series. The last book in the Walt Longmire series is titled A Serpent’s Tooth, published in June this year.

Among the twelve books published in the series, nine of them are full novels while three are short stories. Another book based on the popular character, Spirit of Steamboat, is scheduled to be release later in the year in October.

The author of the series , Craig Johnson, has yet to hint that the forthcoming edition will be the last in the series. More books on the character is therefore very likely to be published next year.

All the books written so far in the series include The Cold Dish, Death Without Company, Kindness Goes Unpunished, Another Man’s Moccasins, The Dark Horse, Junkyard Dogs, Hell is Empty, Divorce Horse, As the Crow Flies, Christmas in Absaroka County, Messenger, and A Serpent’s Tooth.

The Cold Dish

The Cold Dish was published in 2004 and its plot follows the period after the death of Walt Longmire’s wife. He is depicted has heart-broken and grieving from the loss of his wife.

Set in the rural county of Absaroka, the plot revolves around the Walt and four men accused of raping and assaulting a woman. The victim, Mellisa Little Bird, is a young Indian girl suffering from fetal alcohol syndrome. The conviction of the suspects throws the small town into discord as the short sentences were considered too light.

The situation got worse when one of the suspect , believed to be the main culprit, was murdered. Soon after, another one of the three remaining rapists was also murdered.

In a bid to curb the lawless killings and prevent total chaos in the small town, sheriff Walt Longmire has to protect the two surviving rapists while not being sympathetic to the crimes they committed.

As the events unfolded, the uncle of the victim was suspected of the murders but Walt must abide by the law to bring those responsible to justice.

The Dark Horse

The Dark Horse is the fifth book in the LongMire series, published in 2009. The main plot of The Dark Horse centers around the murder of a man while Walt Longmire devise a means to root out the real killers.

Leaving his familiar terrain in Absaroka, sheriff Walt ventures into another town, Absalom, as an undercover to investigate the mysterious murder of Wade Barshad.
Although the wife of the victim confessed to his murder, Walt believes there is more to the story than the woman’s confession. According to the wife of the victim, she shot her husband six times in retaliation after he killed her horses in a fire he started.

Walt’s undercover investigation led him to a beautiful Guatemalan bartender and a dishonest rancher, both with a reasonable motive to murder Wade Barshad. As the victim’s dubious past was revealed in the daring undercover investigation, Walt begins to question the guilt and story of the victim’s wife and he will not stop until he sees an end to the saga.
Adaptation Into TV Series

The Walt Longmire book series has been adapted into a crime drama TV series called Longmire. The TV series started airing on June 3, 2012, on A&E.

Created by John Coveny and Hunt Baldwin, the series has garnered considerable viewership for the A&E television network and attracted millions of viewers during the premiere of its first episode. Longmire is in fact billed as the highest rated scripted drama on A&E.

Robert Taylor is cast as the main protagonist, Walt Longmire, and the plot follows almost the same one in the book series but there are still some considerable differences between the two.
Due to the commercial and critical success of the television series, the television network renewed Longmire for a second season which is already on air.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Walt Longmire