Book Notification

Emily James Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cat and Mouse Whodunits Books

A Tail of Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Mice and Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barking Up the Wrong Tree (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catastrophe (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rash Decision (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cupcake Truck Mysteries Books

Sugar and Vice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Velvet Cake (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gum Drop Dead (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sampling of Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poison-Spiced Cupcakes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maple Syrup Mysteries Books

Author Emily James grew up watching murder mystery television series such as “Murder, She Wrote”, “Monk”, and “Matlock”. Later on, she started watching “Murdock Mysteries”. She is a budding artist and a lover of animals. She enjoys cooking, painting and coffee, as well as drinking coffee while painting.

She writes quirky characters with some romance, but there is no sex, swear words, and not too much violence. Her goal is that her novels are things that you could share with either your mom or your teenager.

Now she and her husband share their home with a budgie (who is the loudest and the smallest creature in their home), their blue Great Dane, and six rescue kitty cats.

Her “Maple Syrup Mystery” series began publication in the year 2016 with the release of “A Sticky Inheritance”. It stars Nicole Fitzhenry-Dawes.

“A Sticky Inheritance” is the first novel in the “Maple Syrup Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Nicole she comes from a high achieving family, while she is the only failure. The last serious boyfriend she had was married, and the career she has working as an attorney defending criminals is in ruins.

Her uncle dies and she inherits the maple syrup farm he had in the northern part of Michigan (in a town called Fair Haven). She believes it is time for her to change her career. It will hopefully provide her the opportunity to be as far away as she can get from liars and killers as possible. It works, but only for about half of a day.

Her uncle at first appeared to have killed himself, but it starts looking like that is not the case. The local police, however, is hesitant to investigate it and wreck the nice little tourist trap of a town’s nice little reputation. A murder would be bad for business. She has to investigate all on her own, but gets some help from the county’s medical examiner, who is handsome. Not to mention her type and just all kinds of wrong for her.

She gets close to solving the case, and starts wondering how the truth could ever be any worse than a lie could possibly be. Nicole also is close to being the killer’s next victim.

The book is a great way to start off a series, and readers hope future books in the series are as good as this one was. Fans of the novel found the book left out sex scenes with too much description and swear words. The book brilliantly written, and the characters were likable and developed. Some cannot wait to read more books of this great mystery series. It left some readers with a new author for them to follow.

“Bushwhacked” is the second novel in the “Maple Syrup Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Nicole seems to be trailed by trouble everywhere she goes. While heading into town during a snowstorm, she thinks she hits a deer. It is actually the local animal shelter’s manager, and the collision is not what actually caused their death.

She feels guilty anyway, and is able to convince the interim chief of police to allow her to help investigate. Even though Nicole still has to settle in as the new owner of Sugarwood and try to make sense of her odd friendship with the county’s medical examiner.

Will she be able to find the necessary evidence in time before the killer gets her?

This was just as good as the first novel in the series. The novel keep you interested the entire time while you try to piece together just who exactly the killer is. Fans of the novel found that the story made details about the maple syrup business interesting and enjoyable. The book is another page turner that you never really want to put down. The mystery keeps you guessing the entire time. Everything is believable and things never get boring.

“Almost Sleighed” is the third novel in the “Maple Syrup Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Nicole has finally made a home for herself in Fair Haven. But Nicole’s very first season making maple syrup is not running all nice and smooth, like she would have liked it to. Sap lines constantly spring leaks, and, to make things worse, Noah (who is groom mechanic) was apparently trampled in a horse stall.

Interim chief of police is about to declare his death an accident, but Nicole thinks otherwise. Noah is in a coma, and Nicole sets out to find out who tried to kill him. All before the perpetrator comes back and finishes the job.

Whoever tried killing Noah has other things in mind and is going to do what it takes to make sure Nicole does not find out the truth. Even if it means destroying Sugarwood, and killing the guy that Nicole loves.

Fans of the novel found that they are hooked on these books. The main character keeps getting smarter and is getting to know more of the town. The series has had delightful, surprising, and twisting mysteries in them. This is another well written book with a setting, recipes, and dogs that readers cannot get enough of. Readers finish one book and are off to the races on the next one.

“Murder on Tap” is the fourth novel in the “Maple Syrup Mystery” series and was released in the year 2017. Nicole has grown tired of murder cases and does not want to work on another. She would rather just make maple syrup until she dies. Until a photographer she hired dies on a tour that she leads, and her buddy’s niece Holly is the prime suspect.

Holly goes missing, too, and Nicole is looking at an apparent locked room mystery. It had to have been one of the people on the tour, although not a single one of them would have been able to.

Nicole is on the hunt once again so that she can keep an innocent person out of prison. This is a killer that knows right where she lives.

Fans of the novel found that they end up reading these books so quickly and then have to wait a while until the next one comes out. The author is able to surprise you at the end of each of these books. Not to mention delivering her readers with a well written book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emily James

Leave a Reply