Book Notification

Emily Skrutskie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Abyss Books

The Abyss Surrounds Us (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Edge of the Abyss (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Abyss (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Bloodright Trilogy Books

Bonds of Brass (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oaths of Legacy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vows of Empire (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hullmetal Girls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Salvation Gambit (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

From a Certain Point of View(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emily Skrutskie is a renowned novelist from America, who has newly joined the world of publishing and is just two books old. She likes to write young adult and science fiction stories, and is particularly famous for writing The Abyss Surrounds Us book series. The two novels of this series have gained success in far and wide places and have helped author Skrutskie to get noticed for her excellent work. The books have not only managed to attract prominent critics and authors, but have also reached out to a large number of audiences from across the globe. Her tremendous success with her first couple of novels enabled author Skrutskie to try her hand at writing the book of her writing career. In fact, she has completed the writing and editing part of the 3rd book and is waiting for it to get published in the coming days of the year 2018. Author Skrutskie hopes that this book will also do good business all over the world and entertain her fans just like her previous 2 books did. Skrutskie also hopes that the number of her fans will increase at a faster rate with this book as she wishes to become a prominent author very soon. Over the last couple of years, she has managed to gain the trust of a considerable number of readers, who have interests in reading about science fiction & young adult stories, and she prays that this trend continues with all her future books as well. Author Skrutskie was born in Massachusetts and brought up in Virginia, United States. She is taller than an average woman with a height of six feet.

Author Skrustskie spent an ample amount of time growing in the mountains near Boulder, Colorado. She says that she was lucky to have lived in several places while growing up. This has given her the opportunity to get acquainted with the cultures, traditions, and diversities of all those places, which she was able to use in her stories. The experience of living in different cities also allowed Skrutskie to meet various types of people. This way, she could do the character sketch of the different roles in her novels on the basis of the various kinds of people she came across while changing her residences. Author Skrutskie studied at the Cornell University and obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in the subject of Performing & Media Arts. During her course period at the university, author Skrustskie was involved in a demanding and an outrageous combination of courses such as computer science, game design, and film. With her debut novel, Skrutskie managed to get a writing contract from HarperTeen. The publishing company has continued to show their trust in her writing abilities with a writing contract for writing several more books in future. Skrutskie is hopeful that she will find success in keeping up with the trust that the publishers have shown in her and come up with many interesting stories in the days to come. As of now, Skrutskie is giving all her focus to writing the 4th novel of her literary career. In her spare times, author Skrutskie likes to enjoy interesting activities like gardening, adventure trails, cooking, etc. She also spends a major portion of her free time in reading books of popular authors. She believes this gives her the much needed inspiration and motivation, and influences her to think of exciting ideas for her stories. Skrutskie is very much thankful to have found the career path of writing and hopes to make it big in the near future.

The debut book written by author Emily Skrutskie is entitled ‘The Abyss Surrounds Us’. This book was released in the year 2016 by the Flux publishers as a Trade Paperback edition. The lead characters mentioned in this young adult story include Cassandra Leung and Santa Elena. Among the other important characters of the novel, there are pirates, sea monsters, etc. Skrutskie has described the central themes of the plot as loyalty, lesbian romance, and individual choice. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Cassandra Leung or ‘Cas’, as she is often referred to as, always dreamed of becoming a military trainer and work for the giant monster in the sea known as Reckoners. She wants to do this by following the footsteps of her parents. After successfully joining the sea monsters as a trainer, Cassandra is sent on the first true mission, but it ends in a tragedy for her as the Reckoner she has lived with all her life gets killed in the mission. A notorious pirate named Santa Elena captures Cassandra Leung. While in the captivity, Cassandra tries to kill herself by consuming cyanide pills. But, another pirate called Swift prevents her from doing so and brings her to Santa Elena. Cassandra is given a young pup of a Reckoner by the queen pirate and ordered to train and raise it. As she doesn’t wish to carry out any of her orders, Cassandra attempts to subvert the manipulations of Santa Elena. However, she is outwitted by Elena because of her inexperience. Meanwhile, Cassandra develops a bond with Swift and begins to start a new relationship with him. This provides Santa Elena with another vulnerability of Cassandra to exploit.

A sequel novel to her first book was penned by author Skrutskie under the name of ‘The Edge of the Abyss’. It was also published by Flux publication in 2018. The central characters of this novel continue to be Santa Elena, Swift, and Cassandra Leung, with the addition of Bao, a Reckoner. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Cassandra Leung submits herself to the allegiance with the ruthless pirate queen, Santa Elena. This allows her to set free the sea monster named Bao that Cassandra was forced to raise and train. Being a pirate trainee, Cas feels her days are quite grueling and long. The physical pain is not the one that hurts her the most, but being made to work alongside Swift, who left her heartbroken. When Cas learns that many other Reckoners have managed to escape along with Bao, she becomes worried that they will cause a storm all across the NeoPacific. The escaped Reckoners start attacking any random ships, bringing about the ruining of the ecosystem of the ocean. Cassandra knows she can stop the Reckoners from causing any further damage as she herself is a Reckoner. But, she wonders how will she oppose the creatures that she cares about very much and cannot hurt? This puts her in a situation of a dilemma. Cas Leung knows she must take a decision soon or else she might also end up perishing in the NeoPacific’s dark waters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emily Skrutskie

Leave a Reply