Book Notification

Emily Windsnap Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Emily Windsnap Books

The Tail of Emily Windsnap (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Land of the Midnight Sun (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Ship of Lost Souls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap and the Tides of Time (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Other Emily Windsnap Books

Emily Windsnap's Friendship Book (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap's Fin-tastic Friendship Book (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Four Sparkling Underwater Adventures (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Magical Mermaid Tales (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Windsnap (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily’s Big Discovery (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shona Finds Her Voice (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth About Aaron (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emily Windsnap is a collection of children’s fantasy books written by British author Liz Kessler and illustrated by Sarah Gibb. The series began in 2003 with the publication of The Tail of Emily Windsnap and its continuing as of 2019. The series traces its origin from a poem that Kessler wrote about a girl who lived on a boat but had a big secret. Kessler’s editor recommended that she turn the poem into a book. The main character in the series is Emily Windsnap, who’s a half mermaid.

The Tail of Emily Windsnap

The first book in Emily Windsnap introduces us to the main character Emily Windsnap who lives on a boat but has a big secret. She discovers the secret by accident during her seventh grade swim class- the first time she dived into the water. Her legs feel like they’ve bound together as soon as she gets into the pool, and then normal when she gets out of the water, and it scares her out. And it does: she sees her legs turn into a long green tail when in water and morph back to normal when out of water. But after she’s used to this transformation, she’s happy and starts swimming secretly in the ocean to test her newly discovered abilities. For a while, she is the only person who knows her secret, but then she meets another mermaid friend, Shona, who shows her a whole new world beneath the sea.

Emily starts to wonder; could this be the reason why her mother never allowed her in the water, even though her family lives on a boat? And then, the lighthouse keeper starts acting strangely towards her, and Emily begins getting suspicious. Why is the lighthouse keeper always around? And why does her mom seem to forget what she had told her after Mr. Beeston’s visits? With some help from Shona, Emily starts aligning the clues together and what they find out changes her life forever.

The Tail of Emily Windsnap is a great book to start a series. Liz Kessler published a poem in a local newspaper when she was only nine years old. She was born and raised in Southport, England, also lived in Manchester before relocating to Loughborough University in Leicestershire to study English. It was her editor who convinced her to turn the poem’s she published in the local newspaper into books and through this, Emily Windsnap series was born. There’s so much for everyone to learn in this series.

For librarians and teachers, The Tail of Emily Windsnap is an engaging and intriguing story and a perfect novel to create a reading unit around the fantasy genre. The book could also fit perfectly into a mystery genre, as Emily tries to uncover who she truly is, and why the light housekeeper is around so much, and what exactly happened to her mother that makes her not to remember her father. You can also add lifestyles- Emily and her mother live on a boat while Beeston lives in a lighthouse. Other people live in traditional houses.

What types of home do mermaids live in? A discussion on families and their differences and similarities could come into play here: Emily and her mother are a family. Some kids live with guardians, grandparents, two parents, uncles, or aunts. Etc. This is also a great story within the friendship framework- how do we meet our dear friends? What kind of things do friends do for each other? How do our friends make us feel? Besides, teachers could use this novel as a fun supplement to the ocean unit, comparing the fantasy ocean dwellers with the real ones. The possibilities are endless for teachers.

For parents and caregivers, this series debut book gives a meaningful focus on family in different forms. It illustrates a good friend relationship, an excellent way to please kids who are not so lovely with bits of feel-good justice, fun, and some good examples of working together to solve a common problem or achieve a common goal. Besides all the good stuff in the story, this is just a fantastic tale that your children will love.

For children: have you ever dreamed of discovering a magical side of you that never existed? Well, that’s what happens to a seventh-grader, Emily Windsnap in The Tail of Emily Windsnap. Emily has never been under the water, never immersed in water, and she wonders why since her family lives on a boat near the deep waters. So one day she decides to find out for herself and convinces her mother to let her take swimming lessons. On the first day, her legs fuse as soon as she gets into the water- she’s a mermaid. But she manages to hide from her secret from her classmates and then embarks on secret swimming adventures when no one is looking. It’s during one of these trips she meets with a mermaid friend named Shona who then introduces her to the bigger mermaid world under the ocean. Could there be a connection between Emily’s questions and the strange mermaid world down there? There’s only one way to find out, and that means you have to get this book to unravel the mystery.

For everyone else, this is an excellent book for kids. It is also a great escapism for adults along with a series of adventures down the memory lane. It’s a magical story you’ll love it. Overall, Emily Windsnap books are aimed at young children but also make a perfect read for middle-aged readers. If you grab a copy, you’ll find yourself hooked and eagerly turning pages to find out what happens next. It’s fast-paced, the characters are varied but beautifully crafted, and each book is complete in itself. There’s nothing in the books for the parents of young children to object to their children reading about. There isn’t mention of any violence or sexual activity. Liz Kessler has woven an imaginative and lively underwater world populated by both friends and adversaries and mermaids of course.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Emily Windsnap

Leave a Reply