Book Notification

Emma Harte Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Emma Harte Books

A Woman of Substance (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold the Dream (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Be the Best (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emma's Secret (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unexpected Blessings (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Rewards (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breaking the Rules (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Man of Honor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Man of Honor is a prequel to the series.

Having been a prolific writer since the end of the seventies ever since her first book was released in 1979, the British author and writer Barbara Taylor Bradford was been writing for some time now. With a strong interest in literature for all of her life, she’s managed to create a number of works that have received acclaim from both the public and critics alike. Not only writing books for adults, she has also produced many novels for children as well, thus giving her a very strong body of work from a diverse and ever varying field as she’s created a legacy that’s unsurpassed by many.

This particular series, for which she is arguably most well known for, follows the exploits of one Emma Harte and her place within the Harte Family, as she finds her place in the world. Many readers have gravitated towards her as a character over the years, as a strong relatable and independently minded central protagonist driving forwards most of the action. The Harte family themselves also take precedence within the main body of the series, as she moves between the many members, each with their own stories to tell, thus providing the overall narrative arc with even more substance.

A Woman Of Substance

Originally published in 1979 this was not only the first in the series of Emma Harte books, but it was also the first book that Barbara Taylor Bradford published as an author. Setting up the character of Emma Harte it introduces her for the first time giving the readers an idea of what to expect in the following books to come in the overall series. Creating the style and the tone as well, it manages to build upon the ambiance whilst bringing in the many supporting characters that inhabit this world both within and around the Harte family, each with their own arcs and stories to tell as the novels progress throughout.

The character of Emma Harte herself is one of a young woman working her way up in the world, as she is a strong and resourceful protagonist with a lot of ambition. That’s not to say that she isn’t without her flaws either as she has to deal with difficult decisions as she rises up through the ranks of society, something which really puts her to the test. Starting from when she’s very young it follows her throughout her life and her progress from very humble origins, thus giving her audience a deeper connection. Moving between Yorkshire in rural England to New York later on, it tells a transatlantic story of her progress over the many years taking in a variety of different places.

Set towards the beginning of the twentieth century around 1918, it tells of how Emma Harte works to create her much respected business empire, as she relates the story during her old age. Starting out as a servant in Fairley Hall in Yorkshire during her teenage years, she works her way up to become a greatly respected businesswoman with an empire all of her own. Fighting against the many prejudices of the day, she is able to champion the rights of those around her as people gravitate towards both her and her cause. Just how did she manage to succeed despite everything? Can she ever truly come to terms with what she’s created? What has become of her as she became a woman of substance?

Hold The Dream

Initially released in 1985 this was to be the follow up to the first book as it continued the story of Emma Harte as its central protagonist, relaying the story of what happened next to her. Keeping and maintaining the ambiance and atmosphere that made the first novel so popular with both the public and critics alike, this managed to retain both the style and the tone of the of the original. Bringing in new characters as well, it also managed to build upon what came before with its new cast and family members, whilst simultaneously developing the overall narrative arc as a whole.

Ambitious as ever, Emma Harte continues to win her readers over with her fiercely independent and strong-willed personality, as she’s keen to make a name for herself. Again she is tested though, something which recurs throughout the series of novels as a whole, as she must come to realize some difficult home-truths about herself and who she actually is. Continuing the story it manages to chart not only her own progress, but the progress of those around her as she makes her mark in the world. Set in a predominantly male dominated world, she’s able to make her way and fight for what she believes in along with creating a name for herself despite the many odds being stacked against her.

Looking to protect her inheritance from those who seek to take it from her, she aims to maintain the reputation of her legacy and all that she has built over the years. Her granddaughter Paula McGill Fairley hopes to follow in her grandmother’s footsteps, as Emma aims to leave her her entire empire and everything she’s worked for. Faced with personal troubles though, she finds that she is put to the ultimate test as she must overcome the many obstacles placed before her on her path to success. Will she be able to overcome and succeed? Who is the love that is entering her life and threatening to consume her whole? Can she ever truly hold the dream?

The Emma Harte Saga Series

Running over a course of seven books so far, all the way from the first in 1979 to as recently as 2009, this is a series which has managed to continue over a number of years proving it has a lot of life in yet. Critically acclaimed both nationally and internationally, there’s a worldwide audience that’s building day-by-day and will continue to do so in the many years to come. With a 1984 television adaptation of the series as well, there was a short-running miniseries of the books too, which was also well regarded during its run. Showing a lot more potential to expand upon the series in the years to come, there’s a lot of life left in these books yet, as she shows no signs of stopping anytime soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Emma Harte Saga

2 Responses to “Emma Harte Saga”

  1. Robyn M. Loiselle: 9 months ago

    I have not read any of Barbara Taylor Bradford books but am an avid reader and want to start with the Emma Harte Saga first

  2. Beverly Young: 1 year ago

    I really loved reading all of her books.
    Are any of them made for tv?


Leave a Reply