Book Notification

Emma Kennedy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wilma Tenderfoot Books

The Case of the Frozen Hearts (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wilma Tenderfoot and the Case of the Putrid Poison (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wilma Tenderfoot and the Case of the Fatal Phantom (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wilma Tenderfoot and the Case of the Rascal's Revenge (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Shoes for Anthony (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Things We Left Unsaid (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Never-Ending Summer / The Trip of a Lifetime (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How To Bring Up Your Parents (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tent, the Bucket and Me (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Left My Tent in San Francisco (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Handbook (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Letters From Brenda (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Emma Kennedy is a historical and young adult fiction author that is best known for the “Wilma Tenderfoot” series of novels. Before Emma became an author she used to work as a lawyer until she had an epiphany.

She was on the tube heading to work and when she got to the office she walked into the Senior Partner’s office and told him she was handing in her notice as she intended to become an author. Her boss initially believed she was joking but thirty years later she is still going strong.

Before she got into fiction writing, she first did newspaper writing for the likes of the Guardian, doing things she had never done before. Even as a successful author, she believes her best job ever working for the newspapers has been when she worked at “Tatler” as Fun Editor.

She has also worked in radio and television writing on “Strange Hill High,” “Dangermouse,” and “CBeebies.”

Emma Kennedy published “The Case of the Frozen Hearts” the debut novel of the “Wilma Tenderfoot” series in 2009. The author now has at least half a dozen fiction novels to her name and several non-fiction works.

After resigning from her job as a solicitor, Emma Kennedy would go on to write for “Radio 4” for years. During much of that period, she had to deal with male producers telling her that she could not write.
She remembers how she used to struggle to get her to make producers accept her scripts only to have them immediately accepted when she sent them in with a male name.

She still remembers bumping into a high-powered executive who a decade ago had told her she was never going to be a successful author and that she should just pack it in.

Meeting the executive was a moment of serendipity she had since she had then with The Killing’s Sofie Grabol. The executive was interested in meeting Sofie who had taken Emma along as a guest to a do.
He was shocked to learn that she had just finished shooting her BBC1 sitcom as she expected that she would have dropped off from anything creative by that time.

Kennedy credits her success to the hard work she puts in. She had an incredible work ethic that she got from her parents when she was growing up.

She realized that if she wanted to achieve any success she needed to do it herself as she came from working-class stock. This drummed into her the fact that she needed to have a job and she held jobs ever since she was 14.

Given her upbringing, Emma Kennedy came to be a person that loved a challenge. This is what made it possible for her to study hard and be admitted to Oxford where she studied for a law degree.
It is also what would keep her going strong despite the many challenges she faced while she was trying to build a career as an author, scriptwriter, and actress.

Ema Kennedy has now made her name as one of the best scriptwriters and actresses with many movies and TV shows to her name. She has also won the 2012 Celebrity Masterchef competition, the Celebrity Mastermind and she also made the shortlist for the World Conker Championship.
Aside from that she organized the largest kazoo orchestra in the world which would get her in the Guinness Book of Records. Despite her many achievements, she has said her favorite thing in the world is writing fiction. Several of her novels have become Sunday Times bestselling titles.

Emma Kennedy’s work “The Case of the Frozen Hearts” is set somewhere between England and France where there is an undiscovered island. This is where a determined ten-year-old girl named Wilma Tenderfoot who dreams of becoming one of the best detectives in the world lives.
She believes it is destiny when she is sent away from her home at the Institute for Woeful Children to live next door to Theodore P. Goodman a genius detective. She is a determined ten-year-old girl who works with Pickle her beagle and soon after, with the world-famous detective making for the most likely crime-fighting team.

However, Wilma will never let the fact they seem unsuited partners put her off. It does seem that this is the beginning of a cheeky but charming, funny but feisty as Wilma Tenderfoot embarks on a quest to resolve a unique mystery using some interesting methodologies.
Witty and funny, this is a brilliant whodunit that introduces Wilma as a brilliant child who dreams of life as a detective outside the orphanage and works hard to get it.

Emma’s novel “The Case of the Putrid Poison” opens with Wilma Tenderfoot having achieved her dreams. She is now working for Theodore Goodman as an apprentice detective and is just one step from finding out the truth about her parents’ death.
Theodore is working on a new interesting case as several actors at the Valiant Vaudeville Theatre have been positioned with no end in sight and the criminal operating with impunity.

She may be a small girl but Wilma is determined to put all that she has learned to the test. But right in the midst of the investigation her mentor Theodore goes missing and leaves her on her own with only Pickle her loyal beagle.
For Wilma, her best bet is going undercover so that she can continue working on the case to unmask the criminal before he makes his next strike. She puts her thinking cap on and working with several of her friends, she may just be able to solve the intriguing case.

Emma Kennedy’s novel “The Case of the Fatal Phantom” sees Wilma Tenderfoot putting the skills she learned from Dr. Goodman in trying to uncover one of the biggest mysteries of her own life.

She still works for Dr. Goodman and is his assistant as he goes around Cooper Island to solve cases. In this work, Wilma and Pickle are conducting some investigations at Blackheart Mansion when they stumble upon a mummified body.

The mummy has the key to what is believed to be a hidden treasure but this treasure is under the guardianship of a Fatal Phantom. To make things worse Barbu D’Anvers who is Wima’s most bitter enemy and several members of the Blackheart family are interested in finding the treasure but for different motives.

It is a clever story reminiscent of “A Series of Unfortunate Events” by Lemony Snicket.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Emma Kennedy

Leave a Reply